Only summaries are included below -
see book for details
Fourth Best — What
Declarer Passes the
Partner Leads Fourth Best — What Next?
The Rule of 11 to determine your play:
fourth-best lead is made, subtract the card led from
11. The difference represents the number of higher
cards held by the other three players (excluding the
not lose sleep figuring out why this is true; just accept it.
The following is also worth knowing about The Rule of 11:
It does not apply when an honor card is led.
Contrary to popular opinion, The Rule of 11 does apply
in suit contracts, provided the lead is fourth-best.
The higher the card led, the easier it is for third hand to
learn more about declarer’s holding by applying The Rule of
Declarer Passes the Test
a fourth-best lead is made, declarer's first thought should be
to apply The Rule of 11. This is easier to focus on in notrump,
where spot-card leads are always fourth-best. In a suit
contract, The Rule of 11 will still be meaningful after a
fourth-best lead. However, declarer must proceed with caution;
against suit contracts, the opening lead will often be made
from a shorter suit.
CHAPTER 12 -
DON'T BE STUMPED
WHEN PLAYING NOTRUMP