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Dear Bridge Friend,  

Welcome to Bridgehands eMag Newsletter, Issue 10. Recall in our last 
newsletter, we established the foundation for Notrump basics, covering hand 
shape, strength, and hand evaluation criteria. In this issue we will conclude our 
discussion on Notrump bidding and responses with additional bidding 
scenarios.  

Counting up the numbers, our next stop is the Rule of 8 in our the "Rules of . 
. ." The Rule of 8 offers a handy guide to help us find the best line of play 
finessing when holding AKJxx in one hand opposite xxx in the other hand.  

Note: Viewing the hands below requires your EMAIL reader to use "fixed fonts" 
(not proportional). If you have problems reading this document, please view 
our online web-based copy or Adobe Acrobat PDF file suitable for printing.  

If a friend forwarded you this BridgeHands newsletter, you can sign up here for 
your own free subscription. 
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More Notrump Gymnastics - Bidding and Responses  

Before we continue our quest for sound Notrump bidding, let's have a quick 
review of Notrump strength requirements:  

Points - the 1 Notrump opening range is a cornerstone of the partnership's 
system, influencing other 1 level bids and rebids. Here are some common 
point ranges to open 1 Notrump:  

15-17 This is the modern treatment today, offering a good compromise 
between its frequency of occurrence and the safety of an achievable contract 
when partner has a poor hand.  

16-18 This was popular in yesteryear, certainly a solid range with a greater 
safety range. However, since more points are required, the player has fewer 
opportunities to open 1 Notrump.  

Opening 1 Notrump with 13-15 is common with Precision players since they 
open 1 Club with almost all 16+ HCP hands (an artificial conventional bid). 
Common systems such as Standard American have a huge range when 
opening a hand in a suit contract at the 1 level, with as few as 12 points and 
as many as 21 points. While the Precision system requires much memory 
work associated with artificial bids, an argument can be made for the 
advantages of bids expressing a narrower point range. At any rate, all Bridge 
systems wisely use a narrow point range to evaluate an opening Notrump 
call.  

Did you know that "on the other side of the pond" (from the perspective of 
those in the United States) there is another popular system to open 1 
Notrump with 12-14 points? It's the Acol system, originally created at North 
London Bridge Club located on Acol Street, England. Playing Acol, players get 
to open 1 Notrump far more often than the 15-17 point players or those 
playing the 13-15 point Precision system. When an opponent opens 1 
Notrump with weaker values, it becomes a bit of a hindrance - the opponents 
are no longer able to bid at the 1 level since the Notrump bid is the highest 
ranking denomination at a given level. So the Acol 1 Notrump bid is a bit of a 
preemptive bid, opening the bidding with a balanced hand and minimal 
values. Opening 1 Notrump with 12-14 points is also the standard for the 
Kaplan-Sheinwold system, formerly a popular system for aspiring Bridge 
players until the Precision system emerged.  

 

 



As if those were not enough variations, a few creative players open 1 
Notrump with 14-16 points. Some play an even weaker notrump opener when 
non-vulnerable and this 14-16 HCP range when vulnerable. Players who like 
split notrump ranges call it "variable notrump" bidding - opponents who hate 
it call it "chicken notrump" - get it? The players bid a higher range when 
vulnerable to avoid getting whacked by the opponents with a penalty double.  

That leaves the favorite for those who fear no evil, opening 1 Notrump with 
10-12 points! Talk about a preemptive range with no concern of painful 
penalties, this is it. Enter the "Kamikaze" notrump. Oh, by the way, a minority 
of frisky Bridge players use (misuse?) methods that permits them to open 1 
Notrump with less than 10 points; in some jurisdictions like North America, 
the Laws state prohibit the responder from using any conventional responses 
like Stayman and Jacoby Transfers when partner opens 1 Notrump with less 
than 10 points.  

Okay, having taken a tour of how some Bridge players get creative with their 
1 Notrump opening range, let's get back to our 15-17 point 1 Notrump 
opener. We will begin by considering balanced hands that are above or below 
this point range, those with 12-14 points and those with 18-21 points (above 
22 points, many systems open strongly at the 2 level).  

We typically bid a suit at the 1 level and rebid 1 Notrump with 1-3 points 
below our Notrump opening range. Thus, a 1 Notrump rebid normally shows a 
hand with 12-14 points (or a shapely 15 pointer). 

1 minor - 1 major; 
1 Notrump 
 
1 Notrump rebids usually show the same shape as the Notrump opener. This 
is somewhat controversial depending on partnership agreements, which may 
also involve agreements on reverses and other conventions. How about this 
scenario?  
 
 1 minor - 1 Spade; 
 

Since the responder may hold a four card major, the opener often does not 
hold four cards in the major suit. Lacking four card support, the opener's 
options are limited to rebidding Notrump or a minor suit. Incidentally, after a 
1 Spade response, rebidding 1 Notrump should truly show a balanced hand 
with 2-3 Spades. Holding a short Spade suit, we should bid a minor. Here are 
some common scenarios:  
 



1C - 1S          
1N                
 
Rebid 1 Notrump with a balanced shape, as:   
3=2=4=4, 2=3=4=4, 2=4=3=4 
(legend: Spades=Hearts=Diamonds=Clubs) 
 
1C - 1S 
2C                 
 
Rebid 2 Clubs with an imbalanced hand lacking 
stoppers in a short suit, as: 
2=3=2=6, 1=3=4=5, 3=1=4=5 
 
Recall our prior lesson on captaincy. When a player makes the cheapest 
Notrump bid or rebids a prior suit at the lowest level, these bids show a 
minimum hand and are intended to be signoff bids. Of course, with an 
invitational 10-12 point hand or a 13+ point game-going hand, the responder 
is not obligated to pass.  

Today most Bridge players open 2 Notrump with 20-21 points and a balanced 
hand. Thus, rebidding 2 Notrump shows opener's range is above the 15-17 
point range associated with the 1 Notrump opener and below the 20-21 point 
2 Notrump opening bids. So opener's 2 Notrump rebid promises exactly 18-19 
points.  

   S  K 2   
   H  K 2 
   D  Q 10 2   
   C  A K Q 4 3 2  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
   S  Q 4 3 
   H  Q J 4 3 
   D  K 3 2 
   C  10 6 5  
 
How many points is North's hand worth? We count 17 High Card Points and 
add 2 extra points for the running Club suit with great honors. So perhaps 1 
Club is the best opening bid. If responder bids at the 1 level (probably a 
major suit), opener can rebid 2 Notrump showing a hand worth 18-19 points. 
Notice South's flat hand - what should South bid if North opened 1 Notrump? 



With the 4-3-3-3 shape lackluster honors and 8 points, South should pass a 1 
Notrump opening bid. But in our scenario where opener began with 1 Club, 
responder would bid 1 Heart with 6+ points and opener can rebid 2 Notrump. 
North is showing a hand worth 18-19 points - now South can comfortably 
rebid 3 Notrump and the partnership finds a comfortable game.  

As we have seen, the responder generally passes with flat shape and less 
than invitational values necessary to discover game. With invitational values, 
responder dutifully makes a trial bid.  

After the Takeout Double, the most popular convention in Bridge is the 
Stayman convention. After opener begins 1 Notrump, the responder bids 2 
Clubs "Stayman" with invitational or above values and 1 or 2 four card 
majors. Stayman is an artificial convention, forcing opener to either bid a 4 
card major or 2 Diamonds lacking support. On the lucky day when 1 Notrump 
opener holds two 4 card majors, opener rebids "up the line" bidding 2 Hearts 
(modern treatment). So after responder's 2 Club Stayman ask, opener's rebid 
of 2 Hearts does not deny a four card Spade suit. Conversely, opener's rebid 
of 2 Spades indeed denies a 4 card Heart suit. Here's an example of bidding 
that resolves the quandary when opener has four cards in both majors suits.  

    S  A Q 3 2 
    H  K 9 8 7 
    D  A K 2 
    C  4 3  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
    S  J 6 5 4 
    H  4 3 2 
    D  4 3 
    C  A K Q 2  
 
1N - 2C; 
2H - 3N; 
4S - Pass; 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Fearless North doesn't worry about the worthless Club doubleton (a believer 
of our Rule of Anticipation) and opens 1 Notrump. South responds with 2 
Clubs (Stayman). Next, opener rebids the lower 4 card major, 2 Hearts. Not 
having found a fit in responder's Spade major, responder assumes opener 
does not have 4 Spades and attempts to signoff in a 3 Notrump game with a 
nice 10 HCP hand. But wait a second - opener North can infer that since 
partner bid Stayman and did not have a 4 card Heart suit, responder must 
have 4 Spades. Otherwise, responder would not bid Stayman and simply 
invite game by bidding 2 Notrump. Thus, opener corrects 3 Notrump to 4 
Spades and the partnership still finds their 4-4 major suit fit. Long live "up 
the line" major suit bidding after Stayman. So here's a word of caution to all 
the busy bidders who love to try new gadgets - avoid bidding Stayman 
without a four card major, since opener may correct a 3 Notrump signoff to 4 
Spades!  

Good responders have other methods to show signoff, invitational, and 
forcing bids with long major suits that are otherwise difficult to bid. While we 
will not explore Jacoby Transfers in this lesson, let's look at a few more 
Stayman-related methods.  

When responder has less than 6 points, a shortage in Clubs without a suit 
stopper (Ace or King) and no 5 card major, we imagine partner will have a 
difficult contract if we pass opener's 1 Notrump bid. With this holding, the 
Garbage Stayman bid is an excellent treatment to win more tricks than simply 
passing partner's 1 Notrump opening bid. By the way, the Garbage Stayman 
does not require a partnership agreement - the responder is prepared to pass 
any 2 level suit rebid made by opener. Here's an illustrative holding:  

1N - 2C; 
2x - PASS! 
 
Of course, since the opponents own at least one half of the points in the deck, 
they may enter the bidding. Perhaps it's their auction anyway - certainly we 
do not wish to compete when we can clearly see the opponents have most of 
the points. Here's an example of our Garbage Stayman:  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



      S  A 4 3 2 
      H  K 9 8 7 
      D  A K 2 
      C  Q 3  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
      S  7 6 5 
      H  Q 6 5 4 
      D  Q 6 5 4 3 
      C  2  
 
On the above hand, playing in a 1 Notrump contract could be quite costly. The 
opponents are likely to take 5 or 6 Club tricks and certainly the Heart Ace. But 
playing in a 2 level suit gives the opener a good chance to make the contract. 
Now let's rearrange South's hand slightly, giving responder's hand a primary 
honor in the singleton Club suit.  
 
     S  A Q 3 2 
     H  K 9 8 7 
     D  A K 2 
     C  Q 3  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
    S  7 6 5 
    H  Q 6 5 4 
    D  Q 6 5 4 3 
    C  K  
 
These hands are identical to the above hands except for the C2 becoming a 
CK. With a stiff Club Ace or King and no 5 card major suit, the responder 
usually passes with a minimal hand. Sometimes you will miss a 4-4 fit, other 
times the Rule of Anticipation prevails and opener had a 5 (or even 6) card 
Club suit and all is well - but not this time. Unfortunately, there are few 
guarantees in Bridge - your mileage may vary!  

Incidentally, when opponents have a long suit like the Clubs here, they will 
often enter the auction. If East had a few of West's honors along with the long 
Club suit, most East players would be eager to enter the auction. This type of 
bidding may actually save the broke responder as we have witnessed above 
on South's holdings.  



When responder has a 4=5=x=x shape and 0-7 HCP, the Crawling Stayman is 
a nice treatment. Holding four Spades and five Hearts, responder generally 
does not expect partner to hold a four card major. In the usual situation 
where opener rebids 2 Diamonds to deny a four card major, the responder 
initiates the Crawling Stayman treatment by bidding 2 Hearts. Certainly this 
bid isn't part of the normal Stayman sequence of rebids and is a conventional 
treatment. So please do not spring it on your unsuspecting partner without 
first discussing the meaning of the Crawling Stayman! Playing Crawling 
Stayman, responder's bidding sequence is 2 Clubs, followed by 2 Hearts (after 
opener rebids 2 Diamonds). This shows four Spades, five Hearts, and no 
game interest. Here's the scenario:  

1N - 2C;  
2D - 2H  
 

Opener Passes with 3 Hearts or corrects to 2 Spades when holding three 
Spades. Let's see an example with illustrative hands:  
 
      S  A 2 
      H  A Q 2 
      D  A K 3 2 
      C  5 4 3 2  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
      S  K 6 5 4 
      H  K 9 8 7 6 
      D  5 4 
      C  7 6  
 
Our Crawling Stayman bidding would go:  
 
 1N - 2C;  
 2D - 2H;  
 Pass 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



When opener holds three Spades and an implied eight card fit, opener rebids 
2 Spades:  
 
      S  A Q 2 
      H  A 2 
      D  A K 3 2 
      C  5 4 3 2  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
      S  K 6 5 4 
      H  K 9 8 7 6 
      D  5 4 
      C  7 6  
 
Of course, on a good day opener will bid a 4 card major and responder 
generally passes. One exception would be where opener bids 2 Hearts - with 
a 9 card trump fit and a shapely hand, responder should consider an 
invitational 3 Heart bid such as this holding:  
 
      S  A Q 2 
      H  A 2 
      D  A K 3 2 
      C  5 4 3 2  
 
[xxx]           [xxx] 
 
      S  K 6 5 4 
      H  K 9 8 7 6 
      D  6 5 4 
      C  6  
 
Okay, here's one more Stayman-like bid before we wrap-up the discussion on 
Notrump bidding. This one is a nameless adjunct to the Stayman convention, 
used to show an invitational hand with 8-9 total points, 5 Spades and 4 
Hearts.  

On the Crawling Stayman, after opener denied a four card major by bidding 2 
Diamonds, responder bids 2 Hearts to begin a signoff sequence. But what 
would it mean if instead responder rebid 2 Spades instead of 2 Hearts?  

 



1N - 2C: 
2D - 2S; 
 

Clearly something different is going on here. This bid shows 5 Spades, 4 
Hearts, with 8 or 9 points (actually 7-8 HCP, with 1 extra point for the fifth 
Spade). Opener should pass with a minimum and no fit. With a major suit fit 
and extras, opener places the contract in game. With a fit yet an adversity to 
making a poor choice with questionable values, the opener may be tempted 
to rebid 3 Spades (3 Hearts is signoff, simply correcting to the best fit); 
rebidding 3 Spades certainly passes the buck back to the responder, albeit a 
torturous auction!  

Let's conclude our Notrump lesson recapping opener's bidding criteria when 
holding a five card major. Do you ever open 1 Notrump with a five card suit? 
If so, when do you count an extra distribution point for the 5 card suit? 
Inquiring minds must know!  

      S  Q 3 2 
      H  K 3 2 
      D  A 3 
      C  A Q J 3 2     
 
The Club suit may generate 5 tricks (16HCP + 1 distribution point). With the 
auction: 1N - 2N, opener happily accepts an invitational game.  
 
      S  A K 
      H  Q J 2 
      D  J 5 4 3 2 
      C  Q J 2 
 
We have several defects here. Do not count extra for 5 Diamonds with a poor 
suit. The Queen-Jack honors are not desirable in short suits and the Ace-King 
doubleton is yet another defect. Open 1 Diamond.  
 
      S  K 2 
      H  4 3 2 
      D  A 3 2 
      C  A K Q J 2 
 
We normally open 1 Notrump with 15-17 HCP, but this hand is worth 18 
points with the lovely 5 card Club suit. Open 1 Club with plans to rebid 2 
Notrump after partner's response (showing 18-19 points).  
 



      S  K 2 
      H  A Q J 3 2 
      D  Q J 2 
      C  K 3 2   
 
If we open 1 Heart and partner bids 1 Spade, what would we bid next? 
Rebidding 1 Notrump shows 12- 15 points; rebidding 2 Notrump would show 
18-19 points. Neither bid describes our hand - our partner will likely pass 
without 10+ points, missing game. So when we have Notrump opening values 
and a 5 card Heart suit, consider opening 1 Notrump.  
 
      S  A Q J 3 2 
      H  K 2 
      D  Q J 2 
      C  K 3 2 
 

Exchanging majors from the above hand, we open 1 Spade with no rebid 
problems. So with 16 HCP and an extra distribution point for the nice 
promotable Spade suit, if responder bids 1 Notrump we plan to invite by 
bidding 2 Notrump with a hand worth 17 points and nice distribution.  
  

  

The Rule of 8 - How to finesse when holding eight to the 
Bullet, Cowboy, and Valet  

Okay, first the rule and then the explanation why the Rule of 8 is an odds-on 
winner. Holding an 8 card suit including the A K J with an 8 card fit, it's 
usually best to cash the Ace before finessing the Jack. However, holding the K 
Q 10, we should finesse opponents' Jack to our 10.  

Imagine the chips are down - you need to win a finesse in a suit to make a 
critical contract. Assuming you can re-enter South's hand if necessary, what 
is your best play to win at least three tricks?  

A K J 3 2 
 
6 5 4 
 
If you played a low card from South's hand to the Jack, please read on. 
 
 
 
 

 



 
 What happens when East holds a singleton Queen? If you initially played to 
the Jack, East wins the critical trick. But if you first played the Ace to test the 
suit before attempting to finesse the Queen by West, you would be well 
rewarded seeing the Queen crash with your Ace. You then win the King and 
the Jack to take your three critical tricks. Okay, now let's consider a different 
situation - you play the Ace, East plays the 10 and West plays a low card. 
Hmm, the five outstanding cards are the Q, 10, 9, 8, 7. So what inferences 
might we make, noting East played the 10 instead of a lower card? East's 
cards are likely one of these combinations when playing the 10:  
 
1.  Q 10 
2.  10 9 [x . . .] 
3.  10  
 

Now might be a good time for the declarer to pause and review the bidding, 
opening lead, and plays by the defenders. Considering the Rule of Restricted 
Choice, it's certainly possible that East is holding the Q-10 combination and 
was "restricted" to play the 10. Also consider the distribution of other suits. 
Does either the declarer's hand or dummy contain a singleton or void? If so, 
it's possible the 10 may be singleton. Its decisions like this that add to the 
charm of Bridge. May the Bridge forces be with you!   

  

BridgeHands Back Issues  

If you missed a back issue of a BridgeHands Newcomer-Novice eMag 
newletters, here are the links:  

Issue 0 - Finesses 
Issue 1 - Promotions 
Issue 2 - Notrump Leads 
Issue 3 - Leads Against Suit Contract 
Issue 4 - Trump Power 
Issue 5 - Trumps are wild - Part 1 
Issue 6 - Trumps are wild - Part 2 
Issue 7 - Captaincy  
Issue 8 – Orchestrating Notrump Contracts 
Issue 9 – Notrump Bidding – Part 1

Regular subscribers receive our eMag Newsletters two months before they are 
indexed and linked on the BridgeHands website, so encourage your friends 
to join our "no strings" subscription by signing up here for your own free 
subscription.  
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We hope you are enjoying the BridgeHands website and eMag Newsletters. As 
always, we look forward to hearing from you with your comments and 
suggestions. 

Best wishes, 

 
BridgeHands  

 
email: support@bridgehands.com  
phone: 707-769-4499  
web: http://www.bridgehands.com  
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