
APPEAL NABC+ TWENTY  
Subject Illegal Convention 
DIC Candace Kuschner 
Event NABC+ Open Swiss Teams 
Session First Final 
Date August 2, 2009 
 

BD# 22 Michael Kamil 
VUL E/W ♠ 9 2 
DLR East ♥ K Q T 

♦ 3  

 

♣ A K J 6 5 3 2 
Ralph Katz Nikolay Demirev 

♠ 8 6 5 4 3 ♠ A K Q J T 
♥ A ♥ 9 8 5 3 2 
♦ K Q T 9 5 4 ♦ 7 2 
♣ 4 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ 8 
Marty Fleisher 

♠ 7 
♥ J 7 6 4 
♦ A J 8 6 
♣ Q T 9 7 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 7♣ doubled by North 

  2♦1 Pass Opening Lead ♥9 
4♠ 5♣ 5♠ 6♣ Table Result Down 3, N/S -500 
6♠ Pass Pass 7♣ Director Ruling 7♣ dbld N down 3, N/S - 500 
Dbl Pass Pass Pass 

 

Committee Ruling A+ (3 IMPs)  N/S and A (0 IMPs) E/W 
 
(1) 3-11 HCP, 5+♥, 4+♠ – This convention is not permitted in events governed by the 

Mid-Chart. 
 
Note: This hand and the one following were heard by the same committee and the 
decision on each hand was the same. Therefore, the two hands have been presented 
as one appeal each with the same facts, etc.



 
 

BD# 28 Michael Kamil 
VUL N/S ♠ T 9 
DLR West ♥ K 5 4 

♦ A 5  

 

♣ A K Q 7 3 2 
Ralph Katz Nikolay Demirev 

♠ K J 7 4 ♠ 5 2 
♥ Q J T 8 3 ♥ A 9 2 
♦ Q 8 ♦ K 9 4 3 2 
♣ J 9 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ T 6 4 
Marty Fleisher 

♠ A Q 8 6 3 
♥ 7 6 
♦ J T 7 6 
♣ 8 5 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 5♣ by North 
2♦1 3♣ 3♥ Pass Opening Lead ♠5 
Pass 3NT Pass 4♦ Table Result Down 2, N/S - 200 
Pass 5♣ Pass Pass Director Ruling 5♣ N down 2, N/S -200 
Pass    

 

Committee Ruling A+ (3 IMPs)  N/S and A (0 IMPs) E/W 
 
(1) 3-11 HCP, 5+♥, 4+♠ – This convention is not permitted in events governed by the 

Mid-Chart. 
 
The Facts: The Director was called after the teams compared at the end of the match. 
The 2♦ opening was pre-alerted by E/W and explained as showing 5 or more hearts, 4 or 
more spades, and less than an opening bid. This convention is not permitted in Mid-Chart 
events, but at the time the players were unaware of this. E/W offered their hand-written 
suggested defense to N/S. N/S chose to use a pre-printed defense they had devised 
themselves, which they happened to have with them.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that there was no damage resulting from the use of the 
unauthorized convention. Therefore, the table result on each hand was allowed to stand 
for each team – Board 22 = 7♣ doubled by North down three, N/S minus 500 and 
Board 28 = 5♣ by North down two, N/S minus 200. 



The Appeal: N/S appealed the Director’s ruling. East, West, and South attended the 
hearing. Chip Martel, one of South’s teammates, also attended. South felt that damage 
had resulted from the use of the illegal convention, as his teammates holding the E/W 
hands would not have access to such a precise bid. The convention created difficult 
situations for N/S on these two boards which probably would not have arisen without the 
use of the convention. 
 
West plays this particular convention in other partnerships, and has asked directors in the 
past whether it is permitted and had been told it was. While he did not ask before this 
event, he had asked as recently as the previous Fall NABC which was since the last 
update of the Mid-Chart convention list. East plays this convention with other partners 
and was told by his partner in Houston that a director had said it was legal in a pair event. 
Neither East nor West could name the director he had spoken to. Several members of the 
committee have had personal experiences with this situation, including one member who 
received an unclear answer from a tournament director about a 2♦ opening showing a 
weak hand with both majors during this event. West was adamant that he had not 
intended to use an illegal convention and would not have used the convention had a 
director told him that it was illegal in Mid-Chart events. 
 
 
The Decision: The committee spent several minutes poring over the ACBL Convention 
Charts to determine the legality of the convention used by E/W. It was determined that 
the convention is legal for events governed by the SuperChart but not under the Mid-
Chart.  
The committee considered whether N/S had contributed to its own damage by a serious 
error (unrelated to the infraction) or by a wild or gambling action, per Law 12C1b. On 
Board 22, the Committee determined that 7♣ was not a serious error. In fact 6♠ may well 
be makeable, e.g., if the ♦2 and the ♣4 are switched in the E/W hands. On Board 28 the 
committee found that N/S’s actions were also reasonable. 
The committee decided that the use of the illegal convention certainly contributed to the 
difficult positions in which N/S were placed in these auctions resulting in damage to N/S. 
In effect the playing field was not level, since the convention was not permitted at the 
other table of the match, or indeed at any other table in the event. The subsequent N/S 
actions were reasonable, and therefore did not sever the connection between the 
infraction and the damage. The table results on the boards were cancelled and N/S was 
awarded average-plus (3 IMPs) on each board. 
The committee found that the lack of clarity from the directing staff on the legality of this 
convention was a major contributing factor to the situation that arose. While the table 
results could not be allowed to stand, it was determined that E/W should receive average 
(0 IMPs) on each board rather than the usual -3 IMPs per board. 
The committee expressed a strong wish for directors to refer to the Convention Charts 
when asked about the legality of any convention and reminded all of the players that 
Mid-Chart conventions (other than those listed in items 1-5 of the Mid-Chart) absolutely 
must be accompanied by printed, ACBL-approved defenses. A copy of the ACBL 
convention chart can be found at http://www.acbl.org/assets/documents/play/Convention-
Chart.pdf 
 
The Committee: Chris Moll (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Doug Doub, Steve Robinson, 
Blair Seidler and Jennifer Broekman (Scribe - non-voting). 
 
 



Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith It's nice that E/W didn't intend to violate ACBL regulations, but so what?  

If they could supply the director who told them 2♦ was legal, and if that 
director agreed, then there's no alternative to using 82C, Director's Error.   
In that case, E/W get to keep their result and N/S get an adjusted score. 
But E/W didn't produce such a director.  In fact, East just claimed that 
someone told him that a director once said..., which is nowhere near 
sufficient to absolve them of blame.  Therefore, they get the worst result at 
all probable and the other side gets the best result likely.  What those are 
may not be obvious, so Average plus/Average minus is reasonable 
assuming nothing significant occurred at the other table, but I think we can 
come up with real results. 
For example, 5♣ making by N/S is surely a likely result. (Yes, it appears 
that I'm too lazy to figure out the likely and at all probable results, which 
suggests Average plus/Average minus is OK, but imagine that there was a 
1700 at the other table.  Average plus/Average minus is just not acceptable 
then.) 
Again, I'm glad to hear that E/W had no intention of using an illegal 
convention, but that's not relevant to the score adjustment.  Players don't 
intend to revoke, and the penalties are not lessened because the error was 
inadvertent. 
All the time, I hear players claim that a director told them something false.  
I have never once had that director identified. Not once.  I'm sure everyone 
who makes that claim remembers that they were told something, but, if 
they can't identify the specific director and date, their claim just has to be 
disregarded.  Maybe they misheard or misremember.  Maybe the director 
erred.  How can we know?  What we do know is that they violated the 
regulations, so they have to pay the penalty. 
The committee's strong wish is reasonable, but it implies that they feel 
confident that a director erred.  I think that confidence is overstated.  
Furthermore, I suggest instead that when an experienced player asks if a 
convention fits into one chart or another, that the director doesn't judge at 
all but prints out the appropriate charts and gives copies to the player who 
asked.  It's very hard for a director to interpret systems and conventions in 
a vacuum.  Far better is for the players who know all the details of their 
methods to figure it out themselves.  If a player still isn't sure, he can write 
the ACBL and get an official ruling.  If he doesn't know in time for the 
current event, that's too bad.  He can plan ahead next time. 



 
Polisner Board 22: I would have allowed the table result of 7♣ doubled to stand as 

the use of the illegal convention was not relevant as at the other table the 
likely auction would have started 1♠- P - 4♠ and the rest of the bidding 
would have been the same. I would then have penalized E/W 3 IMPs for 
use of an illegal convention as it is up to the players to make sure that an 
unusual convention is authorized for the particular event. The self serving 
statements about what they allegedly were told or heard or what a former 
partner had been told is insufficient. 
Board 28: Here the use of the illegal convention did not cause damage as 
after the likely 1NT opening by North 2♥ by South. Now even if West 
doubles 2♥, it is likely that North would bid 3NT (which would make after 
a heart lead). The only difference is here the auction gave South the 
opportunity to lose his mind and bid 4♦ erroneously thinking that North 
was showing long clubs and a shorter diamond suit. Even so, I would have 
protected N/S from their own disaster as they should not have been put in 
that position. I would have awarded average+/average- and again imposed 
a 3 IMP penalty. Perhaps harsh, but appropriate. 

 
Rigal Excellent, if unfortunate ruling by the committee covering the entirely 

deficient ruling by the TD – deficient in common sense, that is. Of course 
N/S departed from double-dummy, but not culpably so – and the opening 
bid was the sole reason they were confronted with the problems. If the bid 
is illegal, so be it; give N/S their 6 IMPs and move on – nothing to see 
here. 

 
Smith This case reminds me of the Pine Tar Incident.  Too bad Lee MacPhail 

wasn't on this committee. 
Do we all realize a couple of things here?  First, there is absolutely no 
requirement in law or regulation that a pair playing against an illegal 
convention automatically gets average plus.  Secondly, do we all realize 
that the hands held for both 2♦ bids happened to have 10 high card points?  
Ironically, it is legal in General Chart events (let alone Mid-Chart events 
like this one) to have an agreement where an opening two-level bid 
promises at least 5-4 in two known suits and 10 HCP.  That is why 
Flannery is legal and common even at club games.  Don't we expect that 
national champions should be able to deal with Flannery?  Now I know 
that since the range of the bid they encountered was 3-11 the Flannery 
analogy is not completely fair, but how far off can it be?  If the E/W pair 
had simply had an agreement that 2♦ showed 10+ HCP how sure are we 
that the outcome would have been much different on these hands?  On the 
first, let's not overlook the fact that N/S arrived at the seven level off two 
aces (nice defense, by the way).  And on the second hand, what was 4♦ by 
South?  It looks as if N/S had an accident of their own even while 
consulting their own defense during the auction! 
So let's say that we find it understandable that N/S accepted EW's “ruling” 
that this bid was legal instead of calling a director to find out.  And let's 
say that we find it understandable that they weren't surprised to be 
presented with a handwritten defense rather than an approved typed 
downloaded one from the ACBL database as they should have expected.   
 



Smith (continued) 
 

After all, they may not have even noticed that since they had their own 
printed defense ready for an illegal convention.  Accepting all that as 
reasonable simply does not lead to the ruling made by the committee.  The 
committee got the law wrong. 
While it is not legally incorrect to assign A+/A- in a case like this, the 
decision to do so was based on a faulty premise.  The committee seemed 
to base the decision to award A+ solely on the determination that N/S had 
not contributed to its own damage by “a serious error (unrelated to the 
infraction) or by a wild or gambling action” [Law 12C1(b)].  The 
committee seems to have completely ignored the first step in the process 
of looking at Law 12C1(e) i and ii, which are actually the laws that are  
used to adjust scores in the ACBL after a hand has been played and an 
irregularity needs to be redressed.  Part i states: “The score assigned in 
place of the actual score for a non-offending side is the most favorable 
result that was likely had the irregularity not occurred”.  Part ii states: “For 
an offending side the score assigned is the most unfavorable result that 
was at all probable had the irregularity not occurred.”  Leaving out the 
offenders for the moment (due to the complication of what they might 
have been told by a director), the committee's job was to project a series of 
possible auctions and results and select from among them the most 
favorable one that reached the threshold of  “likely” and assign that score 
to the non-offenders.  Only if the non-offenders committed a serious error 
after the infraction do we deny them the benefit of such a score 
adjustment. 
So, on the first board without the illegal 2♦ bid I think we could 
reasonably expect a start of 1♠ followed by lots of bidding.  Given what 
this N/S pair did against a method that they were actually familiar with, I 
don't see any result rising to the level of “likely” that would be nearly as 
good as the A+ the committee actually gave (of course I don't know what 
actually happened at the other table, so I am guessing a bit).  I must 
confess that I have a hard time getting past the fact that in real life they bid 
to a grand slam off two aces.  I mention that not as an argument that they 
committed a serious error, but instead as evidence of how this pair might 
have handled this hand without the illegal convention but against vigorous 
preemption.  So even if you don't like the directors' ruling of score stands, 
how about something like 6♣ not doubled down one? 
As for the second hand, unless I am missing something N/S had some sort 
of serious misunderstanding even while consulting their own defense 
during the auction.  It looks as if South thought 3NT was some kind of an 
unusual no trump, but who knows?  Shouldn't they be held partially 
responsible for their bad board due to that?  I think they should lose at 
least some portion of any favorable adjustment due to that error according 
to 12C1(b).  But some assigned score is necessary, unless the committee 
wanted to (legally) resort to 12C1(d), which states: “If the possibilities are 
numerous or not obvious, the Director may award an artificial adjusted 
score.”  But that law was not cited as the committee's reason for the ruling. 
 
 
 



Smith (continued) 
 

So, with apologies for going on so long, I get back to the Pine Tar 
reference.  This committee took a far too narrow view and gave away the 
farm to N/S at the expense of the field.  I can only imagine how many 
IMPs and VPs swung on the committee decision regarding these boards.  I 
don't know but it had to be huge.  Legally it was not necessary and for the 
reasons I state it was not correct either.  I'm not sure what was correct for 
the offenders, but if the committee believed that they had been advised 
incorrectly by a director then some sort of modified ruling for them seems 
appropriate.  Otherwise, it should be routine if not necessarily aytomatic to 
penalize pairs who use illegal methods regardless if a score adjustment is 
made. But wouldn't it have been nice if they could have named the 
director so that we knew if what they said was accurate or just mis-
remembered or misunderstood?  This committee seemed pretty quick to 
assume that a director had made an error without actually having any 
evidence that it occurred. 

 
Wildavsky Illegal convention cases are nothing new. Edgar Kaplan gave an example 

of how to handle them in 1973 -- the principles involved have not changed 
since then:   http://www.blakjak.org/lws_lan0.htm 
 
Kudos to the committee for correcting an injustice. This case seems a 
good advertisement for player committees. 
Doug Doub gave me an analogy I like. Suppose we ran a tournament 
where opening three level bids were banned. A player who opened 3♠ with 
seven spades to the KQJT and out would have an advantage, even though 
his opponents were familiar with this treatment and in fact used it 
themselves on other occasions. 
E/W got off easy here. I’ve been playing in the ACBL for 30 years. Many 
times an opponent has told me that the director had approved his 
convention. When I’ve checked I’ve seldom found that the convention 
was legal. I would not have accepted E/W’s contention unless they could 
name a director to confirm that they'd been told they could use their 
gadget. I don’t think it should be possible to rule “TD error” unless we can 
identify the director who made the error. 



 
Wolff Now to deal with what is symptomatic of a major problem in our whole 

process.   
During the course of this match (NABC+ Open Swiss Teams) we have an 
example of four very good players and at least one experienced 
partnership (N/S) committing the following errors: 
 
1.  E/W playing an illegal convention according to our rules.  Sure 
whoever told E/W that this convention was legal is all speculation.  The 
fact is only that they were playing an illegal convention. 
 
2.  N/S (very likable fellows and usually a total credit to the game) 
committed terrible (childish) judgment in continuing to bid up to 7♣  
(Board 22).  Whatever the reason, it was unacceptable bridge judgment.  
Then (Board 28) N/S misinterpreted partner's 3NT bid for clubs and 
diamonds instead of to play 3NT.  This error likely caused them to go 
down 200 instead of probably making 3NT with a low heart lead.  Another 
poor bridge judgment. 

  
For this unseemly combination of errors and illegality this committee 
decided to penalize the field by giving these two pairs a combined average 
and an extra 3 IMP bonus for N/S.  To make matters worse it was made by 
ostensibly a better than average committee.  For our group to ever be party 
to such a thing is off the charts impossible, but, at least to me, it seems that 
this committee wanted to make love to at least the N/S pair and also be 
kind to the pair who were (possibly) wantonly playing this illegal 
convention. 
Until our group has enough leadership to call this aberration to everyone's 
attention and boil in oil a future guilty committee we have no chance to 
succeed.   

 
 
 


