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BD# 21 Marty Nelson 
VUL N/S ♠ 9 3 
DLR North ♥ T 

♦ A Q 5 2  

 

♣ A J 9 6 5 4 
Nikolay Demirev Joshua Dunn 

♠ Q 7 6 5 4 ♠ 2 
♥ 7 ♥ Q 9 8 6 5 2 
♦ K T 8 ♦ J 9 6 4 3 
♣ Q 8 7 2 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ K 
Gil Cohen 

♠ A K J T 8 
♥ A K J 4 3 
♦ 7 
♣ T 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ doubled by South 

 1♣ 2NT 3♥1 Opening Lead ♥7 
Pass1 4♣ Pass 4♠ Table Result Made 4, N/S + 790 
Dbl Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 4♠ dbld S made 4, E/W +790

    

 

Committee Ruling 4♠ dbld S made 4, E/W +790
 
(1) Originally South bid 3♦ and West doubled. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after West doubled 3♦ in the original auction. South 
explained that West’s prior explanation of 2NT was unclear. South said he thought it was 
for minors as West said the “two lowest.” After West’s double of 3♦, North asked for a 
second explanation of 2NT and was told the “two lower unbid suits.” 
 
The Ruling: The director determined that there was misinformation. In accordance with 
Law 21B2 the director backed up the auction to South’s turn over 2NT cancelling South’s 
3♦ bid and West’s double. The subsequent table result of 4♠ doubled by South making 
four, E/W +790 was allowed to stand for both sides. 
 
The Appeal: At the end of the evening session, E/W appealed the director’s decision. 
East and West were the only players who attended the hearing. 
E/W thought the first explanation had been clear enough. East thought his partner had 
actually used the word “unbid,” but believed N/S did not hear him.  



 
The Decision: The statement by South that he misunderstood the explanation was 
credible to the director and was supported by his subsequent actions. 
When he thought 2NT showed minors, he bid 3♦ showing spades. When he understood 
that 2NT showed the red suits, he changed his call to 3♥ also showing spades. 
The committee felt it was not required to assess the calls taken after the director’s 
decision to cancel South’s call based upon misinformation (and West’s call). Therefore, 
the committee upheld the table result of 4♠ doubled by South making four, E/W +790 for 
both sides. 
An appeal without merit warning was seriously considered by the committee, but rejected 
because the current, in our opinion, foolish wording of the convention card is “minors” or 
“2 lowest” rather than the former wording of “ lower unbid.” 
It was explained to the appellants that following the principles of the Alert regulations 
and full disclosure guidelines, they should be specific and just explain the bid as “hearts 
and diamonds” or whatever the two suits shown. Then there should never be a problem. 
 
The Committee: Tom Carmichael (Chair), Barry Harper (Scribe) and Mike Kovacich. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith The write-up is pretty unclear.  What appears to have happened was that 

South asked what 2NT meant.  He thought the answer was minors, so he 
made the bid that showed a good hand with spades.  North obviously 
wasn't 100% on the explanation, as he re-asked.  Now South said 
something like, "I'm sorry, I thought you said minors last time.  If he has 
the reds, my bid is 3♥, not 3♦."   
Assuming that is correct, it seems unreasonable for E/W to appeal or even 
call the director, so something important must be missing from the write-
up. 

 
Polisner If this is not an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) case, there is not 

any case which would warrant one. 
 
Rigal Messy case but justice seems to have been done. I would not be happy 

bringing a case where my sole grounds for doing so would be that my 
unclear explanation had succeeded in confusing my opponents. 



 
Smith The relevant law is actually 21B1(a).  It states in part: “Until the end of the 

auction period and provided that his partner has not subsequently called, a 
player may change a call without other rectification for his side when the 
Director judges that the decision to make the call could well have been 
influenced by misinformation given to the player by an opponent.”  So, 
although directors routinely give back a call at the table in this type of 
case, it is entirely appropriate for the director and the committee to later 
decide if the change of call “could well have been influenced by 
misinformation” and, if it is judged not, to adjust the score.  And 
according to 21B2, the director and the committee should ensure that the 
non-offending side is not damaged by information transmitted by any 
withdrawn call(s).  Since the non-offending side was plus 790 on this 
hand, that part wasn't relevant.  But the director and the committee each 
have the authority to revisit and examine the actions of both sides after 
21B1(a) has been applied in spite of what the writeup seems to indicate.  
Having said all that, I strongly agree with the directors' ruling and the 
committee decision.  Did E/W really think that South in the heat of battle 
came up with a neat legal excuse to change a bid he realized to be an error 
according to his system?  Or did they just think that N/S should be solely 
responsible for a misunderstanding based on an incomplete explanation 
West had given?  Isn't it much more reasonable to accept that South 
honestly and understandably misunderstood what he was told?  I think so, 
and so did the committee.  For that reason I think E/W should have been 
given an AWMW. 

 
Wildavsky Good work all around. I could see the ruling going the other way, though. 

South might have considered why West would say “two lowest” if what he 
meant was “minors”, which is both more explicit and easier to say. 

 
Wolff  Correct ruling. 
 


