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BD# 18 Yvonne Hernandez 
VUL N/S ♠ A Q 5 3 
DLR East ♥ 4 2 

♦ K J 6 5 4  

 

♣ J 3 
Arlene Levy Faye Parsons 

♠ J 4 2 ♠ 9 
♥ K 9 5 3 ♥ A J 8  
♦ Q 7 3 ♦ A T 8 
♣ Q 7 4 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ A K 9 8 5 2 
Lu Kohuhtiak 

♠ K T 8 7 6 
♥ Q T 7 6 
♦ 9 2 
♣ T 6 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♣by East 

  1♣ Pass Opening Lead ♦9 
1♥ 1NT1 2♣ 2♠ Table Result Made 4, E/W +130 

Pass Pass 3♣ 3♠ Director Ruling 3♠ S down 1, N/S -100 
Pass2 Pass 4♣ Pass Committee Ruling 4♣ E made 4, E/W +130 
Pass Pass   

 

 
 
(1) Spades and diamonds (Sandwich NT). 
(2) Alleged break in tempo (BIT). 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand. North thought the BIT was 
7-10 seconds, South 7 seconds, West 2 seconds, and East did not notice one. Both pairs 
vehemently held to their opinions.  
 
The Ruling: The director determined that there was a BIT because after bidding clubs 
three times it would have been difficult to bid clubs yet again in the absence of a BIT. 
The BIT demonstrably suggested bidding again and pass was judged to be a logical 
alternative. The result was adjusted to 3♠ by South down one, N/S minus 100 for both 
sides. Laws 16 and 12C1(e). 



 
The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing.  
In screening, West was firm in her statement that she did not hesitate. East felt her hand 
was inappropriate to defend 3♠ and thought she would be down one in 4♣ -- a better 
result than 3♠ making. The committee asked these players for their masterpoint holdings. 
West has about 3,000 and East slightly more. They play infrequently (less than once a 
month) and this is their first NABC+ event. 
N/S stated that the first two calls by West were made instantly but the pause over 3♠ was 
7 seconds. 
 
The Decision: The committee needed to determine whether or not a hesitation occurred. 
While it is true that the 4♣ call by East was unusual in this auction, there were other 
factors in the hand which suggested that a BIT had not occurred. The timing of the 
director call was unusual. N/S made no statement at the time of the alleged infraction 
such as, “Do you agree there was a BIT?” N/S did not call when 4♣ was bid. N/S did not 
call when dummy hit (revealing a fit with little spade wastage), but waited until 
completion of the hand when 4♣ made. Also, N/S’s suggestion that the other two calls by 
West were instantaneous compared to the third call made it seem likely that the actual 
duration was about 2-3 seconds, seeming longer in contrast. The committee felt that this 
did not rise to the level of “an unmistakable hesitation” as required by law. Therefore, the 
table result of 4♣ by East making four, E/W +130, was restored for both sides. 
 
The Committee: Mark Itabashi (Chair), Tom Carmichael and Chris Moll. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Looks like there was a BIT to me.  West has a surprise fit and zero 

defense, and East has no semblance of a 4♣ bid.   
Again, the director got it right.   
Why are we seeing so many obvious BITs denied?  Has someone told 
players that if they claim there was no BIT that committees might believe 
them?  Folks, if this is going to happen, you need to call the director 
immediately after a possible infraction. Here, N/S needs to call the 
director the moment a 4♣ bid occurs.   

 
Polisner Without an unmistakable BIT - no adjustment. 
 
Rigal I think the committee got too involved in fine-tuning what might have 

happened. The simple statement would have been that in an unclear case 
the complete failure by N/S to call the director at the appropriate moment) 
means that they should get the worst of the residual doubt; as here. (If my 
memory serves me right N/S are not strangers to appeals committees so 
should know the drill by now.) 

 
Smith The committee's rationale seems tenuous, but I will credit it for making a 

reasoned decision after having the advantage of interviewing all four 
players.  That should count for something. 

 



Wildavsky I like the committee decision. I understand the director’s ruling, but his 
reasoning troubles me. When the players do not agree on the facts, the 
standard way to judge whether a BIT was likely is to examine the hand 
held by the player alleged to have hesitated. East’s club bid may look 
unusual, but if West passes in tempo then East may do as she pleases. 

 
Wolff Since West should have bid 4♣ but didn't, there probably was a BIT.  3♠ 

N/S minus 100 and E/W plus 100 is my ruling. 
  
 


