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♣ K 9 7 3 
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♣ A Q 6 
730 Masterpoints 

♠ A 7 6 3 
♥ 6 
♦ 7 4 
♣ J T 8 5 4 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♥ by West 
Pass 1♦ 1NT Pass Opening Lead ♣3 
2♣ Pass 2♦ Pass Table Result Made 6, E/W + 1430 
3♥1 Pass 4♠ Pass Director Ruling 6♥ W made 6, E/W + 1430 

4NT2 Pass 5♥3 Pass Panel Ruling 6♥ W made 6, E/W + 1430 
¼ bd penalty against E/W 

6♥ Pass Pass  Pass 

 

 
 
(1) By agreement shows 5 spades and 4 hearts – Alerted by East. 
(2) Roman Keycard Blackwood. 
(3) Two controls, no spade queen. 
 
The Facts: The director was called before the opening lead and again after the hand was 
played. West said that he did not forget his agreements, but wanted to find out about 
spades before bidding 6♥. There was no mention of a break in tempo (BIT). 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that there was no infraction of law. Therefore, the Table 
Result of 6♥ by West making six, E/W plus 1430 was allowed to stand for both sides. 
 



The Appeal: N/S appealed and all players except North attended the hearing. 
N/S maintained that the tempo slowed after 4NT and mannerisms (sighs) were present 
during the auction. 
East felt that West decided on the contract and accepted partner’s choice of contracts. 
E/W were non-specific about the possible presence of mannerisms during the auction. 
 
The Decision: The reviewer polled five players. One answer was not in line with a 
rational approach to this hand and was discarded. Two players felt that 6♥ fixed the 
contract and passed. One suggested that 6♥ showed that the wheels were off this auction 
and also passed. One thought they should correct and bid 6♠. 
The panel determined that there was sufficient authorized information available to allow 
East to pass 6♥.  Therefore, the table result of 6♥by West making six E/W plus 1430 was 
allowed to stand for both pairs. 
West stated that 3♥ was intended as Smolen. Subsequent actions in the auction suggest 
that this was not so. Therefore, it is probable that there were improper mannerisms at the 
table. Players in the 1,700 masterpoint range should control those reactions; so, the panel 
assessed a ¼ board procedural penalty against E/W. 
 
The Panel: William Michael (Reviewer), Bernie Gorkin and Ken Van Cleve. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner I=m confused.  N/S called the director.  What was it about the auction 

which caused the call?  The only thing that the director determined was 
that there was not a contention of a BIT.  There apparently was not any 
mention of other UI (gesture, etc.) during the time the director was at the 
table.  Such contentions, which were denied by E/W, were first raised at 
the hearing.  I cannot see giving a procedural penalty for this without more 
conclusive evidence; however, I might do so for West blatantly lying 
about his intention in bidding 3♥. 

 
Rigal I do not like anything about this ruling, but I do not know what I’d do, so 

maybe I can’t be too critical. The UI issues are complex – and yes of 
course West forgot Smolen. I think N/S came out of this without any 
redress but I’m still not sure if they were hard done-by or not. 



 
Smith It seems from the writeup that the table director was not told of any UI by 

N/S.  And to the reviewer they apparently were not too specific about 
when the alleged UI infractions occurred.  It would seem that they 
originally called the director because of East's surprise pass of 6♥.  So I 
am not inclined to put too much stock in the contention that UI assisted 
E/W, especially since the final bid by West was such an alarm bell to East.  
But maybe you just had to be there to know for sure.  I am again troubled 
by the panel's conclusion regarding a logical alternative based on the 
polling.  25% among peers constitutes a logical alternative according to 
Law 16.  Maybe the passer was an aberration, but if so only more polling 
would have revealed that.  It's one thing to say that the UI didn't exist or 
that it didn't suggest the action taken or even that the UI was outweighed 
by authorized information (the auction itself), but quite another based on 
the polling to say that no logical alternative to pass existed. 

 
Wildavsky I'd love to know how declarer took 12 tricks, but it doesn't seem relevant 

to the case. West's explanation is not credible. If he wanted to find out 
about the ♠Q then why did he bid slam after learning that his side was off 
two key cards and the ♠Q? I think N/S were due redress. 

 
Wolff By the way, how did 6♥ make?  By West going up with the king of spades 

(catching the queen) or by South rising with the ace when a spade is led 
from dummy?  I'll bet on the latter way and if so for them to want an 
adjusted score should also accrue extra discipline against them. 

 


