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BD# 20 Muffie Gur 
VUL Both ♠ 6 3 2 
DLR West ♥ K 9 6 2 

♦ J 5 2  

 

♣ 8 6 5 
Todd Zimnoch Michael Abramson 

♠ A J ♠ K Q T 8 5 
♥ T 5 ♥ Q 7 3 
♦ Q T 6 4 ♦ A K 9 8 
♣ A J 7 4 2 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ K 
Helen Raleigh 

♠ 9 7 4 
♥ A J 8 4 
♦ 7 3 
♣ Q T 9 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♦ by West 

1♦ Pass 1♠ Pass Opening Lead ♦2 
2♣ Pass 2♥1 Pass Table Result Made 6, E/W + 1370 

2NT Pass 6♦ Pass Director Ruling 6♦ W made 6, E/W + 1370 
Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling N/S Avg +; E/W Avg-  
 
(1) Agreement is 4th suit forcing to game. Not Alerted but explained by East before the 

opening lead. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand. South stated that she might 
have doubled 2♥ had there had an Alert. 
 
The Ruling: South did not protect herself according to the ACBL’s Alert Procedures. 
Therefore, the table result of 6♦ by West making six, E/W plus 1370 was allowed to 
stand for both pairs. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. Only North and South attended the 
hearing. The director stated that no bias should be attached to E/W’s failure to appear 
because they needed to catch a train. 
South reiterated what she had stated to the director previously, and that she was worried 
about asking questions at the time of the 2♥ bid. She was not sure what percentage of 
pairs played 4th-suit forcing and wasn’t sure when she should call the director. 
This was the second time N/S had played together, and each had almost 3,000 
masterpoints. They had both previously played a few times in nationally-rated events. 
They seemed sincere in their desire for information regarding when to call the director. 
The committee discovered that West possessed approximately 500 masterpoints and that 
East had about 1,600 masterpoints. Unfortunately E/W were unavailable to shed further 
light on their understandings and auction. 
 
The Decision: The committee realized that the N/S pair had called the director too late to 
fully protect their rights. The director should have been called immediately when the 
irregularity was discovered after the end of the auction. N/S’s statements regarding the 
4th-suit forcing auction had to be given less weight since they came after the full hand had 
been revealed. The committee agreed that South was in a difficult position when the 2♥ 
was not Alerted. It also believed that a double of a properly Alerted 4th-suit forcing 2♥ 
was extremely unlikely due to the flimsy heart suit. For both reasons, no adjustment was 
deemed appropriate based on the failure to Alert. 
However, the committee was disturbed by East’s jump to 6♦ when the normal 4th-suit 
forcing continuation was 3♦. West’s failure to alert combined with his 2NT rebid with 
only ten doubleton of hearts was deemed prima facie evidence that West either forgot 
they were playing the convention or that he did not fully understand it. East’s leap to 6♦ 
seems likely to have been based on UI from West’s failure to Alert the 2♥ bid.  
Since unauthorized information was present the committee applied Law 16. East had UI 
that demonstrably suggested the bid he chose over a logical alternative, 3♦, which might 
well have been less successful. Thus, an adjustment was warranted under Law 12C. 
The committee then tried to assess the likely and at all probable outcomes after a 3♦ call.  
Although two committee members argued for an adjustment to 3♦ making six, the 
committee majority deemed it impossible to predict the likelihood of any contract, in 
large part because E/W were not present for the hearing and the issue had not been 
addressed when the case was screened. Thus, N/S was awarded Average plus and E/W 
average minus based on Law 12C1(d): “If the possibilities are numerous or not obvious, 
the director may award an artificial adjusted score.” 
 
The Committee: Mark Bartusek (Chair), Darwin Afdahl, Ed Lazarus, Chris Moll and 
Jeff Roman. 



 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith The committee used Law 12C1(d) to award average plus/average minus.  I 

think they misjudged. That law reads "if the possibilities are numerous or 
not obvious...."  The possibilities are not numerous.  Either West would 
pass 3♦ or he would bid something.  Is passing a likely result?  Why 
shouldn't it be?  So what if you or I think 3♦ is forcing; there is no reason 
to believe that West would.  I'd rule reciprocal 170s.  There are other 
possibilities, but I think 3♦ is likely to be the final contract and a worse 
result for E/W is not at all probable, so we can stop there. 
It is also automatic to give E/W a 1/4 board procedural penalty for blatant 
misuse of UI. 
Good job by the committee noting that this was both a UI and MI case, 
not just an MI case. 

 
Polisner East=s jump to 6♦ is an egregious use of UI and should have been dealt 

with severely.  South was put in a no win situation and could not inquire 
about 2♥ for fear of giving UI to North if it turned out to be natural and 
then did not double.  Assuming that South did double (possible - but not 
likely in my opinion) the possible results would be 3NT by East plus 600, 
4♠ by East plus 650, 5♦ by West plus 600.  I would have awarded E/W 
plus 600 and penalized them 1/4 board for the flagrant use of UI. 

 
Rigal I’m not convinced I agree with the committee decision about the UI from 

the 2♥ call not being Alerted but I respect their right to do so. I think I 
would have held over the decision till I had talked to E/W but if that were 
not possible the cop-out followed here is understandable. This is truly a 
difficult case, by the way, on all counts, so I cannot imagine a ruling that 
would make everyone happy. I do agree that the infraction of the failure to 
alert 2♥ still did not make the double a possible action for South. 



 
Smith Good for the committee for picking up on the UI issue due to the failure to 

Alert.  In misinformation cases there is almost always a UI component, 
and the directors should have noticed it and addressed it.  I don't disagree 
with the committee's decision on that basis, even though some would 
quarrel with the fact that an actual score was not assigned.  But the 
committee's rationale for making its ruling is perfectly legal according to 
the law it cited. 
On the issue of misinformation, I agree with the committee that the heart 
holding of the South player rendered a double of 2♥ unlikely.  But I am a 
bit uncomfortable with the committee's sympathy for South's apparent 
dilemma in not asking about a potential missed alert of the 2♥ bid.  The 
directors based their ruling on this issue but there is no direct mention of 
the regulation that led to it: “Players who, by experience or expertise, 
recognize that their opponents have neglected to Alert a special agreement 
will be expected to protect themselves.”  That means when an opponent 
makes a bid that sounds as if it should have been alerted you should be 
able to ask or look at the convention card without prejudice.  Yes, I 
understand that this may seem to create UI issues, especially if in fact no 
Alert is due.  But some Alertable bids are just so common that we all 
know that an Alert has probably been missed.  I would include in that 
category such things as transfers over a 1NT opening bid, fourth suit 
forcing, and new minor forcing (among others),  and especially so in an 
NABC+ event.  Directors are bound by that regulation, so it must mean 
something or it should be eliminated.  Until or if that happens, I think it 
means you cannot cry foul later when you don't hear an Alert of such bids 
and you do not do something to protect yourself.  To be fair, directors 
must be careful to rule that no UI has been transmitted when a player asks 
a question in those situations.  Otherwise we will play into the hands of 
bridge lawyers who will not ask a question, hope the opponents have an 
accident, and when they do not have the hoped for accident call the 
director for a second bite at the apple claiming that they did not ask earlier 
for fear of transmitting UI.  Surely we don't want to encourage that kind of 
behavior.  So I know that the occasional ethical player may disadvantage 
themselves in these situations, but no solution is perfect.  There will 
always be an inevitable conflict between a player's right to ask a question 
at his turn to call and the possibility that such a question may transmit 
unauthorized information.  The best we can hope for is an Alert Procedure 
that accurately reflects current practice, but even that will not solve all of 
the problems. 

 
Wildavsky I agree with the committee minority. 3♦ plus 170 seems likely enough to 

me to award it to both sides. I also would have liked to see a procedural 
penalty assessed to E/W. That said, the committee did well to identify the 
UI issue that the director missed. 

 
Wolff Awful ruling!  South would not have doubled 2♥ and East did explain 

before the opening lead.  N/S fully deserve minus 1370 with E/W plus 
1370 minus a small procedural penalty for a technicality. 

  
 


