APPEAL Non-NABC+ TWELVE
Subject Insufficient Bid — Director’s Error
DIC Millard Nachtwey
Event Board a Match Side Game
Session Wednesday Evening — Only
Date July 29, 2009
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West | North | East | South Final Contract 7+ dbld by East
14 3% Opening Lead *K
3v | Pass | 44 | Pass Table Result Down 3, E/W - 500
ANT' | Pass | 56 | Pass Director Ruling 6¥ W made 6, E/W + 1430
5NT | Pass | 5% Panel Ruling 6¥ W made 6, E/W + 1430
7¢* | Dbl
Pass | Pass | Pass

(1) | Roman Keycard Blackwood in last bid suit.

(2) | 0-3 Controls.

(3) | Asks for specific kings.

(4) | Intent was to show the heart king — after the director’s incorrect ruling changed to

7.

The Facts: The director was called immediately after the insufficient bid of 5¥. The
director ruled in accordance with the 1997 Laws of Duplicate Contract Bridge, which
treated the insufficient bid as conventional and barred West from the auction.

Upon discovery of the error, another director went back to the pairs to correct the
previous director’s error. East was attempting to show the king of hearts.




The Ruling: Upon review, the director determined that had the correct Law [27B1(b)]
been applied, East would have been able to show the king of hearts by bidding 6%
without barring his partner. West would have passed. Therefore, the result was adjusted
to 6¥ by West making six, E/W plus 1430 for both sides.

The Appeal: N/S appealed the final director ruling and were the only players to attend
the hearing.

N/S said that they felt that there was a possibility that E/'W would bid 7.

West had stated to the director that he asked for kings because he would play 6% if
partner had the king of hearts. He knew they were off one keycard.

The Decision: The panel judged that there was no chance that E/W would settle in any
contract other than 6%. Therefore, the director’s adjustment to 6% by West making six,
E/W plus 1430 for both sides was upheld.

While the appeal was not thought to have merit, the problem was caused by the director’s
error and an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) would not be appropriate.

The Panel: Bill Michael (Reviewer) and Jay Albright.
Commentary:

Polisner It is very sad that ACBL employs directors who apparently are incapable
of giving what I consider to be a routine ruling properly. Good job by the
second director and the panel — including consideration of an AWMW.

Rigal I agree about the merit issue. Looking at West’s hand for the bidding I’d
like to punish them (or lock them up) but can’t see how. Someone else
will show me how.

Smith The insufficient bid law underwent a major change in the 2007 version of
the Laws. As mentioned in the writeup, in the old laws a potentially
conventional insufficient bid barred partner. In the new laws, 27B1(b)
states: “if . . . the insufficient bid is corrected with a legal call that in the
Director's opinion has the same meaning*as or a more precise meaning*
than the insufficient bid . . . , the auction proceeds without further
rectification, but see D below.” Part D allows the director to decide at the
end of the hand that the non-offending side may have been damaged by
the very fact of the insufficient bid and, if so, to adjust the score. I assume
that the 5% bid wasn't just a slip of the hand (in which case it would be a
free change according to Law 25), so this seems to me to be a good case
for the director to allow a Law 27B1(b) change without rectification that
would not have been permitted under the old laws. So I agree with
corrected directors' ruling. Given that West apparently knew his side was
off a key card, the final disposition of this case by the directors and panel
seems right. But I do have a nagging feeling caused by not knowing why
West asked for specific kings when he was off a key card. It would have
been nice to know what he was thinking.



Wildavsky

Wolff

I see no merit in the appeal. The initial ruling was irrelevant, since it was
made using an obsolete law. N/S ought to be able to understand that, and
from the arguments it seems they did understand it.

Reason prevailed, but N/S should be penalized or disciplined for bringing
this action. Also, the tournament director who ruled the wrong way needs
to be educated on when and when not to follow a possible interpretation of
the law.



