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BD# 18 Rahn Smith 
VUL N/S ♠ A 7 5 
DLR East ♥ K T 6 4 2 

♦ J 3  

 

♣ J 8 7 
Gary Blauth Herbert Rogall 

♠ Q 9 3 ♠ J T 4 2 
♥ Q 8 7 3 ♥ A 
♦ T 4 2 ♦ K 7 6 5 
♣ K 9 4  

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ A Q T 5 
Sharon Meng-Horton 

♠ K 8 6 
♥ J 9 5 
♦ A Q 9 8 
♣ 6 3 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 1NT by West 

  1♣ Pass Opening Lead ♥4 
1♥ Pass 1♠ Pass Table Result Down 1, E/W - 50 

1NT Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 1NT W down 2, E/W -100 
    

 

Committee Ruling 1NT W down 4, E/W -200 
 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand was concluded. 
There was an established revoke by declarer from the closed hand (West) at trick 6. The 
final unadjusted result was down one. Per Law 64A2. one trick was transferred to N/S 
resulting in E/W down two minus 100. N/S felt that this was not equitable and asked that 
this be reviewed in accordance with Law 64C since the one trick rectification did not 
sufficiently compensate N/S 



 
The play (leads to a trick underlined) 
 
Trick  North  East  South  West 
1.  ♥4  ♥A  ♥9  ♥3 
2.  ♠5  ♠2  ♠8  ♠Q 
3.  ♠7  ♠4  ♠K  ♠9 
4.  ♥2  ♦5  ♥J  ♥7 
5.  ♥T  ♦6  ♥5  ♥8 
6.  ♥K  ♠T  ♣6  ♠3 (Revoke) 
7.  ♠A  ♠J  ♠6  ♦2 
8.  ♥6  ♣5  ♣2  ♥Q 
9.  ♣7  ♣A  ♣3  ♣4 
10.  ♣8  ♣Q  ♦8  ♣9 
11.  ♣J  ♣7  ♦9  ♣K 
12.  ♦J  ♦7  ♦Q  ♦4 
13.  ♦3  ♦K  ♦A  ♦T 
 
The position prior to North’s leading the spade ace was: 

BD# 18 Rahn Smith 
VUL N/S ♠ A  
DLR East ♥ 6  

♦ J 3  

 

♣ J 8 7 
Gary Blauth Herbert Rogall 

♠   ♠ J   
♥ Q   ♥  
♦ T 4 2 ♦ K 7  
♣ K 9 4  

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ A Q T 5 
Sharon Meng-Horton 

♠ 6 
♥  
♦ A Q 9 8 
♣ 3 2 

 
 
The Ruling: In order for N/S to score any additional diamond tricks, declarer must pitch 
a diamond from Txx opposite Kx, when a much more rational discard (the club four) 
exists. Therefore, the one trick rectification is sufficient compensation. The result is 
adjusted to 1NT by West down two, E/W minus 100. 
 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. Only South attended the hearing. She 
said she thought the director summed up the case well. 



 
The Decision: Law 64C, Director Responsible for Equity, reads, 
“When, after any established revoke, including those not subject to rectification, the 
Director deems that the non-offending side is insufficiently compensated by this law 
{Law 64A and B} for the damage caused, he shall assign an adjusted score.” 
 
In order to determine whether N/S were damaged we have to judge whether they would 
have been likely to get a better result absent the irregularity.  
In this case, as usual, it’s impossible to tell what would have happened absent the revoke, 
but since West discarded a diamond on the spade ace, we judged it likely that had he 
followed suit to the heart king, he would have discarded a diamond on the last heart or he 
would have discarded a spade on the last heart, and then a diamond on the spade ace, and 
N/S would have taken ten tricks. The revoke prevented that, so N/S get the result they 
likely would have received absent the revoke.  
It’s important to note that the non-offending side was not getting a great result because of 
the revoke; it did not help them at all. They were in the process of getting a great result 
when the revoke happened. 
If the revoke was what caused their good result, then they already had equity and no more 
is to be granted. That is not what happened here. Hence, the committee judged to award 
N/S an adjusted score in accordance with Law 12. Since ten tricks for N/S were likely 
and eleven were not at all probable, reciprocal 200s were awarded. The one trick revoke 
rectification (penalty) is not awarded when an adjusted score is given. 
Was North’s play of the 12th heart so bad that it severed the connection between the 
revoke and the damage? No. Thinking a card is a winner when everyone has shown out is 
not a serious error. How was North to know that West would find the ♥Q at that exact 
moment? 
 
The Committee: Jeff Goldsmith (Chair), Jeff Aker, Michael Huston, Brian Platnick and 
Danny Sprung. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith This case is actually quite clear; it's a ruling of law, not of judgment.  The 

confusing issue is whether, as often happens, the revoke itself led to the 
non-offending side's good result. If so, no additional adjustment is needed.  
Here, the revoke interfered with the non-offending side's getting its good 
result, so Law 12C is used as normal. 

 
Polisner I concur with the committee=s analysis. 
 
Rigal Excellent committee ruling to cover the weak director decision. The obiter 

dicta about the quality of the defense and the N/S score are also very much 
in point. A fine decision that was well written. 



 
Smith I think N/S were sufficiently compensated for the damage caused by 

receiving a one trick rectification.  I'm not sure I agree that N/S's equity 
extends to West making an inexplicably bad play in a scenario that never 
happened.  My sense is that their equity is more what would have 
happened to them against a rational opponent in the absence of a revoke.  
But I can't say with certainty that according to current law the committee 
did the wrong thing here.  Maybe this is a good issue for the ACBL  Laws 
Commission to decide. 

 
Wildavsky Nice work by the committee. Trying to cash the 12th heart cannot be 

considered a serious error, since everyone had shown out on the previous 
round. 

 
Wolff In this case the play of the 12th heart is a grievous error.  I think N/S 

should be plus 100 and E/W minus 200. 
  
 


