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| (1) \ Break in Tempo (BIT) but agreed by all.

The Facts: The director was called after the 44 bid and again after the play of the hand.
All players agreed to a BIT. West said it was 8 seconds, East 6-8 seconds and both North
and South said 10 seconds. North and South felt that pass was a logical alternative.

The Ruling: The director determined that there was a BIT and that it demonstrably
suggested bidding rather than passing, which was considered to be a logical alternative.
Therefore the result was changed to 4¥ doubled by North down three, N/S minus 500, for
both sides.

The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s decision and all players were present for the
hearing. West said her BIT was because she was thinking of bidding 4NT for the minors,
but decided her diamond length was not sufficient. She then doubled to show her partner
that she had “a card.”



The Decision:
and one with 2

Ten players were polled (9 with between 2,750 and 7,400 masterpoints
1,000). 8 of the 10 players took action over the double — two passed. Most

of the players polled thought that when South bid 4%, his hand became an open book with
long hearts and no values; therefore, pass was not considered by the panel to be a logical
alternative. Therefore, the table result of 44 by East making five, E/W plus 650 was
restored for both pairs.

The Panel: Tom Marsh (Reviewer), Candace Kushner and Jean Molnar.

Commentary:

Polisner

Rigal

Smith

It is still unclear (at least to me) what percentage of the players polled and
take the minority view constitute a logical alternative. In the old days, it
was deemed that if the action taken was one which at least 75% of the
peers would take, then there would be no logical alternative. In spite of
that, I would have gone along with the director’s ruling.

Excellent decision; people who psych (me included) can’t then blame their
opponents for taking a second or two longer than normal. Boy, I must be
getting old. (Initial director ruling was fine too, by the way.)

I happen to think that every latitude possible on tempo should be given to
a player who is presented with this kind of problem after an opponent
psychs. It is not a normal situation to be in, and taking a reasonable
amount of time to solve the problem should be allowed. In fact, I find it a
bit distasteful that a player would deliberately create a problem for an
opponent by psyching and then call for the director after a brief hesitation
as aresult. So I think I would have been satisfied if the panel restored the
table result for that reason. But the panel's reason for doing so is clearly
counter to the law. If two out of ten consulted players passed the double,
then pass is a logical alternative. Law 16B1(b): “A logical alternative
action is one that, among the class of players in question and using the
methods of the partnership, would be given serious consideration by a
significant proportion of such players, of whom it is judged some might
select it.” So, the panel could have said that there was no unmistakable
hesitation under the circumstances of this auction, or it could have said
that the hesitation did not demonstrably suggest one action over another.
But given the poll taken it was illegal to say that pass was not a logical
alternative.



Wildavsky

Wolff

Two players out of ten passed. That makes pass a logical alternative
according to the standards promulgated by the ACBL Laws Commission.
On the face of it pass is certainly logical -- it would be right quite often. It
seems to me that the panel overturned a perfectly good director ruling. I
cannot fathom their reasoning.

E/W should definitely be allowed to play 4#. If possible normal playing
luck (NPL) should insist that real results count unless the evidence proves
otherwise. For a pair to psych (allowed) and then claim hesitation
disruption (HD) is beyond my belief. That is symptomatic of a narcissistic
complex, which can be very troublesome to be unleashed in the bridge
world. It is important to honor the game, wherein once a pair psychs they
should realize that some disruption is to be expected and to be prepared to
get the worst of possible ethics violations because of the fallout. To want
more than one is entitled to always hurts our game by setting an awful
example.



