
APPEAL NABC+ ELEVEN 
Subject Unauthorized Information (UI) - Tempo 
DIC Tom Marsh 
Event Truscott Senior Swiss Teams 
Session First Final 
Date July 28, 2009 
 

BD# 24 Larry Mori 
VUL None ♠ 2 
DLR West ♥ K 4 

♦ T 9 8 7 6 4  

 

♣ T 5 4 2 
Nancy Turner Susan Jackowitz 

♠ T 9 6 3 ♠ A K 8 7 5 
♥ 7 6 ♥ T 8 2 
♦ A K J 5 2 ♦ 3 
♣ A 3 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ Q 9 8 6 
Zeke Jabbour 

♠ Q J 4 
♥ A Q J 9 5 3 
♦ Q 
♣ K J 7 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♥ by South 

1♦ Pass 1♠ 2♥ Opening Lead ♦A 
2♠ Pass Pass 3♥ Table Result Made 4, N/S +420 

Pass Pass 3♠ Pass1 Director Ruling 3♠ E made 3, E/W +140 
Pass 4♥ Pass Pass Committee Ruling 4♥ S made 4, N/S +420 
Pass    

 

 
 
(1) Disputed break in tempo (BIT). 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the auction and again after the play of the hand. 
South said all calls were in the same slow tempo. E/W said South’s calls were made after 
a 5-second pause except for the pass over 3♠ where the pause was 10 seconds. 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that there was a BIT that demonstrably suggested action 
over pass, which was judged to be a logical alternative. Per Laws 16B1 and 12C1(e) the 
result was adjusted for both pairs to 3♠ by East making three, E/W plus 140. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing. 
East claimed that despite South’s affliction, which slows all his bids, his pass over 3♠ was 
slower than his usual tempo. Based on that she felt North’s action was too borderline to 
be acceptable. 
North South did not agree that there had been a break in tempo. North said that he bid 4♥ 
because it was a two-way action. Based partner’s bidding 3♥ voluntarily, he felt he had 
enough strength (king of hearts and singleton spade) to make down one likely, with the 
possibility of making if the hands meshed well. 
South has Parkinson’s disease. As a consequence he makes all of his calls more slowly  
than most players. 
 
The Decision: The committee found that there was no unmistakable break in tempo. 
While South may have taken more time for his third call than his first two the committee 
judged that the time taken was well within the normal range for South to make a call, 
given his medical condition. The South hand bears this out – there is no indication that 
South was contemplating any action other than pass. 
 
Since the committee found there was no irregularity the table result of 4♥ making four, 
N/S plus 420 was reinstated for both pairs. 
 
The Committee: Gail Greenberg (Chair), Chris Moll and Bob White. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith This is a very tough call.  There is conflicting evidence as to the BIT, so it 

is reasonable for the committee to rule as it did.  It is also reasonable for 
the director to believe that there was a BIT.  Put me down as unwilling to 
decide. 

 
Polisner I find it difficult to comprehend the basis upon which the committee found 

no BIT especially when they concluded that the call in question may have 
taken more time than the player’s first two calls.  Also, South=s first two 
actions were bids whereas the call in question was a pass - which carries 
more information than a bid when it is out-of-tempo. 

 
Rigal I’m unhappy with a trend that emerges from these cases, which my 

recollection tells me goes against past established practice. Although I 
agree that South’s hand is a clear indication that he was not contemplating 
action – how could he be? – are we as committee members, or is the 
tournament director supposed to be looking at the hand in question to form 
or corroborate that judgment? I thought not, but here and in earlier cases 
we’ve seen that approach. As I say, I agree with both the director and 
committee ruling. 



 
Smith I sympathize with the directors' ruling here, but I think the committee got 

it right.  In a dispute between the two sides I don't think an “unmistakable 
hesitation” occurred based on South's affliction and perhaps even more 
importantly based on a hand that doesn't look like a hesitation to me. 

 
Wildavsky I like the committee decision. 
 
Wolff 4♥ should be down two tricks; therefore, E/W should have to deal with 

minus 420.  If there was no hesitation then no penalty, but, if so, E/W 
minus 420 and N/S plus 420 with a 3 IMP penalty. 

  
 


