APPEAL NABC+ NINE
Subject Unauthorized Information (Ul) - Tempo
DIC Harry Falk
Event Wernher Open Pairs
Session First Qualifying
Date July 28, 2009
BD# 27 Peter Clark
VUL | None o |A814
DLR | South vy |AT952
¢ (94
& T84
Mike McNamara Marius Agica
o |JT7652 L
v KJ Summer 2009 v /187643
¢ |8 Washington D.C. ¢ |T6
& KJ32 & AQ9765
Mariko Kakimoto
o KQO93
vy IQ
¢ AKQJ7532
&
West | North | East | South Final Contract 6NT by North

1o Opening Lead v8
2¢ | Dbl | Pass | 3¢ Table Result Made 7, N/S + 1020
Pass | 3NT | Pass | 6NT Director Ruling 3¢ S made 6, N/S +170
Pass | Pass | Pass Committee Ruling 3¢ S made 6, N/S +170

| (1) | Alleged hesitation.

The Facts: The director was called at the end of the round, but he was not able to speak
to N/S until just before the start of the second session.
E/W alleged that South broke tempo before bidding 34. South said there was no break in
tempo (BIT). North at first said there was a short break, then, after being told of the score
change, said there really was no BIT. He said he bid to show his spade card.

The Ruling: The director judged that there was a BIT (Law 16). 3¢ was not forward
going. The BIT demonstrably suggested bidding and pass was a logical alternative.
Therefore, the result for both sides was adjusted to 3¢ by South making six, N/S plus 170.




The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing.
In screening, E/W said the hesitation was 20-25 seconds. N/S said there was no
hesitation.

N/S said that North waited an appropriate amount of time over 24 and that South bid 3¢
in normal tempo. North said he thought he would likely make a 3NT bid over a normal
3¢ bid.

E/W said that South hesitated for 20-25 seconds before her 34 call.

The Decision: The committee noted that North had initially said there was a BIT when
talking to the table director. The committee believed that South’s hand required too much
thought for there not to be a BIT. Therefore, the committee found it overwhelmingly
likely that there had been a BIT. N/S are a new partnership. North has over 6,000
masterpoints and South over 5,000.

North said he had not seen South bid conservatively earlier in the session. South admitted
she could have a lot less for her 34 call.

The committee determined that there was a BIT, that it demonstrably suggested bidding,
and that pass was a logical alternative. A diamond contract will result in 12 tricks on the
likely spade lead. The committee determined that, per Law 12C1b, East’s failure to lead a
club against 6NT was not an error serious enough to deny them redress. Therefore, the
score for both sides was adjusted to 3¢ by South making six, N/S plus 170.

Throughout the hearing, South vehemently denied hesitating. Because of that and the
timing of the director call and the fact that the director had to wait until the second
session to question N/S, it appeared there was a genuine factual issue that gave the appeal
substantial merit.

The Committee: Richard Popper (Chair), Darwin Afdahl, Mark Bartusek, Ed Lazarus
and Jeff Roman.

Commentary:

Goldsmith It is obvious that South broke tempo; her hand screams that she did, and
her partner's does, too. The basic ruling is a slam-dunk.
The only question is the appeal without merit warning (AWMW). That
N/S was not informed about the case until long after the session is a
reasonable argument against giving a clearly-deserved AWMW, because
N/S might have wanted to consult friends before deciding whether to
appeal. Two players with 5000 masterpoints, however, ought to know
better. I'd give them an AWMW despite the mild reason not to.
Regardless of the AWMW, a procedural penalty for blatant misuse of Ul
ought to have been automatic.

Polisner Under the facts as given, where North admitted to a “short break.” My
concern is whether the UI demonstrably suggested that North bid 3NT.
Could’t South be thinking about passing for penalties or bidding 3% with a
3154 with say good diamonds and weak clubs? I don’t think the BIT
demonstrably suggested that North bid 3NT and would have reinstated the
table result.



Rigal

Smith

Wildavsky

Wolff

If the hesitation was established (and let’s say it was) I’d like to have seen
the question addressed of whether anyone would really have passed 34
here. Alas, a split score is not possible here — if passing is a logical
alternative we rule under that principle and can’t look at more or less
favorable results. I’d have needed persuading that it is not 100% automatic
to bid 3NT here. But on balance I’d like to see ‘offenders’ punished so I’1l
live with this.

The committee's reason for not issuing an AWMW in this case is not
nearly convincing enough for me. AWMW's don't really have much teeth,
but if they succeed in discouraging a few appeals like this they might be
worth it. Why are committees so often reluctant to issue them where we
would be astonished to see the ruling overturned?

South claimed that with an 8-4 hand with two losers she rebid 34 in tempo
after her partner showed values. Words fail me. I’'m glad that East did not
find the club lead, otherwise we’d never have had a chance to see this
case.

And the beat goes on with "he said that she said...."
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