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BD# 16 53,356 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ T 8 
DLR West ♥ A Q 8 

♦ K Q J 6 3  

 

♣ K Q 7 
1,074 Masterpoints 1,061 Masterpoint 
♠ 6 3 2 ♠ K Q J 
♥ 9 5 2 ♥ K J 6 4 3 
♦ 8 7 4 ♦ A 2 
♣ T 8 6 5 
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Washington D.C. 

♣ J 9 4 
1,570 Masterpoints 

♠ A 9 7 5 4 
♥ T 7 
♦ T 9 5 
♣ A 3 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3NT by North 
Pass 1NT Pass 2♥1 Opening Lead ♣4 
Pass 2♠ Pass 2NT Table Result Made 3, N/S + 400 
Pass 3NT Pass Pass Director Ruling 3NT N made 3, N/S + 400 
Pass2    

 

Panel Ruling 3NT N made 3, N/S + 400 
 
(1) Transfer to spades. 
(2) 8-10 second hesitation. 
 



 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand was completed. The 
hesitation by West was agreed. North claimed that the hesitation caused him to go wrong 
at trick 11. 
The play had been club to the queen. Declarer played the diamond king to the ace. The 
club nine was returned to dummy’s ace. Declarer cashed the diamond ten and nine and 
passed the heart ten to East’s jack, East returned the spade king to the ace in dummy. 
Declarer played the club 3 to his king and cashed the diamond king and queen, which left 
the following position: 
 
    ♠ T 
    ♥ A Q 
♠ 6 3       ♠ J 
♥ 9       ♥ K 6 
 
    ♠ 9 7 
    ♥ 7 
 
At this point, North cashed the heart ace and led the spade ten. 
 
The Ruling: According to Law 73D1, any inferences from an opponent's hesitation may 
be taken by a player at his own risk.  Additionally, declarer had all relevant information 
after trick 10. Therefore, the table result of 3NT by North making three was allowed to 
stand for both sides. 
 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing. 
North said that West hesitated 10 seconds before the final pass (8-10 seconds was 
agreed). West said he was reviewing the auction.  
Because of West's hesitation, North elected to play him for the spade jack and one heart 
(he had discarded the 13th club and a heart). 
Four players were asked if they thought West's hesitation suggested a lead to East.  Three 
felt it had no bearing; the other said it suggested leading a minor suit. 
  
The Decision: Based on the consultants’ opinions, the panel judged that there was no 
connection between the hesitation before the last pass and the lead. Also, there was no 
connection between the play at trick 11 and the hesitation. 
Therefore, the table result of 3NT by North making three, N/S plus 400 for both sides 
was the correct decision. 
The appeal was determined to have merit. 
 
The Panel: Tom Marsh (Reviewer), Jay Albright and Bill Michael. 



 
Commentary: 
 

Polisner What about Law 73F2 which requires that the director award an adjusted 
score if he or she determines that West could have known that such a 
hesitation could work to his benefit?  Certainly it could as it runs no risk 
of fooling partner who will know that West holds a Yarborough.  
However, I would have still ruled against N/S as it was obvious at trick 11 
that West could not have had anything to think about.  

 
Rigal Zero, zero, ZERO merit. Absolutely ludicrous behavior by North even to 

call the director. I think we can work out who it is from the MP total but I 
choose not to. (Maybe a recorder form issue – but I think even that would 
be excessive.) 

 
Smith This one is hard to understand.  Was the issue really just that West 

hesitated before passing out 3NT?  And somehow this led a North with a 
world of experience to decide that such a hesitation showed the spade 
jack, the heart king and no other high cards?  And then N/S does not get 
an appeal without merit warning (AWMW)?  North didn't even seem to be 
arguing that the opening lead was the issue, or that another hesitation 
occurred later in the play by West.  Something must be missing, but I can't 
begin to understand what it is.  On the facts as stated the directors and 
panel were clearly correct, but I have a strong suspicion that more was 
going on here than the writeup tells us. 

 
Wildavsky  This is the flimsiest appeal I've ever seen. Was North seriously contending 

that because of West's hesitation he played him for a Yarborough with a 
Jack rather than a Yarborough with a Ten? Did he suppose West was 
considering doubling, or must West have been considering a save? Not a 
shred of merit. 

 
Wolff From the sublime to the ridiculous.  The declarer was claiming that 

because of West's hesitation before his final pass he was more likely to 
have a Yarborough with one jack than one without it.  N/S should not only 
receive an AWMW, but also a punitive penalty for idiocy.  When nothing 
punitive is done, N/S will continue to want something for nothing. 

 


