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BD# 22 Andy Kaufman 
VUL E/W ♠ A 9 8 6 3 
DLR East ♥ J T 

♦ Q T 7 4 3  

 

♣ J 
Jeffrey Smith David Sabourin 

♠ K Q ♠ 5 
♥ 8 6 4 3 2 ♥ Q 9 
♦ A J 9 ♦ K 8 6 5 
♣ K 9 7 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ A Q T 8 6 3 
Mike Cassel 

♠ J T 7 4 2 
♥ A K 7 5 
♦ 2 
♣ 5 4 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♠ doubled by S 

  1♣1 Pass Opening Lead ♠K 
1♥ 1NT2 Pass 3♠3 Table Result Made 3, N/S + 530 
Dbl Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling At table 3NT W, made 3, E/W + 600 

On screening 3♠ dbld S, made 3, N/S +530 
    

 

Comm. Ruling 3♠ dbld S, made 3, N/S +530 
 
(1) 2+ clubs. 
(2) Strong. 
(3) After a 1NT opening or a direct 1NT overcall, Minor-Suit Stayman. 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction. Before he doubled 3♠ West 
asked South the meaning of 1NT and received the response that it was strong. He asked 
North what 3♠ was and got the response “no agreement.”  
The partnership had an agreement that 3♠ was Minor Suit Stayman and a strong game 
force over a 1NT opening and also (perhaps) over 1NT in direct seat but had not 
discussed this auction.  
East stated that he would have bid 2♣ over 1NT if he had known that the 1NT was for 
takeout. 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that there was misinformation and per Laws 21B1(a) 
and 12 adjusted the result to 3NT by West making three, E/W plus 600. 



 
The Appeal: "In screening N/S produced their convention cards. These had been printed 
by a computer, but each was different. Each partner had filled in his own using a 
convention card editing program. Each card showed that a 1NT overcall in the sandwich 
position was natural by an UPH." Therefore, the screening director changed the ruling 
back to the table result. E/W appealed that decision. 
E/W felt that their opponent’s accident had robbed them of the chance for a normal result. 
They did not understand why South would bid 3♠ over 1NT when over a strong 1NT 
opening that call would be both minors and forcing. 
South meant 3♠ as invitational – he did not think that it could be minor-suit Stayman after 
clubs have been bid.  
N/S is an occasional partnership. They had not discussed this sequence in their pre-
session discussion. North had simply forgotten their agreement. In most partnerships 
North plays 1NT in this sequence as unusual. 
The committee discovered that North and South had prepared their convention cards 
separately but both of them had correctly completed the section regarding “Sandwich” 
notrump. 
South did not believe they were playing “system on” over a “Sandwich” notrump as 
opposed to a direct 1NT overcall.  
 
The Decision: Where there is a potential conflict between a mistaken bid and a mistaken 
explanation, the laws instruct the director and committee to assume misinformation 
unless there is clear evidence to the contrary. Here there was such evidence. The 
partnership had clearly completed their convention cards in identical fashion. 
The committee had the option of assuming that despite their identical cards that they were 
not playing 1NT as strong but that seemed unreasonable. 
The next question to address was whether South’s 3♠ bid (which appeared odd in the 
context of the partnership’s methods) when coupled with the 1NT bid suggested that 
South might have been expecting partner to have a two-suiter. It decided that South’s 
rationale for bidding 3♠ to show an invitational hand, as expressed to the committee, 
made sense. The committee might not agree with South’s valuation but they could 
understand his thought process. 
Since the committee could find no reason to adjust the score, it next looked at the 
question of procedural penalties. It addressed the regulations in force at this event. There 
were no special conditions for this event. 
While each partnership is expected to know its own methods, the committee concluded 
that N/S had a bidding accident and got lucky, but had committed no infraction. 
The committee sympathized with E/W, but it could see no reason to adjust the score or 
assess a procedural penalty. The committee ruled as the screening director had, allowing 
the table result of 3♠ doubled by South making three, N/S plus 530, to stand for both 
pairs. 
The appeal was considered to have merit. 
 
The Committee: Aaron Silverstein (Chair), Eugene Kales, Ed Lazarus, Abby Reich and 
Barry Rigal. 
 
 
 



Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith E/W were not damaged by MI.  They were damaged by North's misbid.  If 

E/W had bid 3NT, N/S would have gone on to 4♠.  That can't be beaten, so 
E/W would end up minus 590, which is worse than they actually scored. 
No appeal without merit warning (AWMW) when a ruling is changed by 
the screening director; players must be allowed adequate time to judge 
whether to appeal the new ruling, and that time is not available. 

 
Polisner I agree with the committee decision restoring the table result, but would 

have voted to issue an AWMW in that the basis for the appeal (AE/W felt 
they were robbed from a chance for a normal result@) is not a valid ground 
for an appeal. 

 
Rigal Correct tournament director ruling to leave it up to N/S to prove their 

methods. As far as the committee was concerned a completed identical 
convention card was proof positive of the methods used. Some people 
would mutter darkly about coincidence between the two actions here; but 
if we impose harsh conditions about MI/Misbid and a pair meets those 
conditions we cannot then make up new reasons to find a reason to 
overturn those rules. 
See my closing comments. 

 
Smith Clearly correct, and well explained by the committee.  The screening 

director did well to change the ruling.  If the convention cards were 
available to the table director the original ruling should have been 
different, and if E/W had then appealed the committee should have 
considered an AWMW against them.  As it is, I can understand why no 
AWMW was given. 

 
Wildavsky I like the screening director and AC rulings. 
 
Wolff An editorial, since "dead is dead," we need to change the rule since 

misexplanation and or misbid regarding convention disruption (CD) tends 
to produce the same terrible chaos, so we should treat those two uninvited 
interlopers the same. 

  
 


