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BD# 22 1,200 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ K Q 2 
DLR East ♥ K Q 4 3 2 

♦ K 5 4  

 

♣ K 2 
700 Masterpoints  400 Masterpoints 

♠ 8 7  ♠ J T 9 4 3 
♥ J T 9 7 5 ♥ A 8 
♦ Q ♦ A T 9 7 
♣ A Q T 8 6 
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♣ J 5 
1,000 Masterpoints 

♠ A 6 5 
♥ 6  
♦ J 8 6 3 2 
♣ 9 7 4 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 2♠ by East 

  Pass Pass Opening Lead ♠5 
1♥ Pass 1♠ Pass Table Result 2♠ E, made 2, E/W +110 
2♣ Pass 2♦ Pass Director Ruling 2♥ W dbld down 1,E/W -200
2♥ Dbl Pass1 Pass Panel Ruling 2♠ E, made 2, E/W +110 
2♠ Pass Pass Pass 

 

 
 
(1) Unmistakable break in tempo (BIT) – agreed at the table. 
 
The Facts: The unmistakable BIT was agreed to at the table. 2♦ by a passed hand was 
not Alerted and was natural.  
 
The Ruling: The UI demonstrably suggested bidding 2♠ and pass is considered a logical 
alternative (LA). In accordance with laws 16 A2 and 12 C2, the result was adjusted to 2♥ 
by West, doubled down one, E/W minus 200.  



 
The Appeal: All players were in agreement that there was a BIT over the double. 
West stated that after North’s double, as he had bid twice on a bad heart suit, he knew 
that he was likely to be in trouble. Since partner’s bidding implied five spades, he 
preferred to play in a known 5-2 fit rather than in what might be a substantially worse 
heart fit. Clearly partner could not have three hearts on the auction and might have one or 
none.  
N/S thought that the BIT might suggest that there was a better place to play the hand than 
in 2♥ doubled. 
 
The Decision: Three expert players and nine peer group players were polled. All of the 
experts stated that they would bid 2♠. All but two of the peers chose to pull the double – 
some bid 2♠ and some bid 3♣. Only two peers passed the double. When asked what a 
BIT over the double might suggest, some players thought it might suggest a problem and 
that it might make pulling the double more attractive. Others thought that it might make 
pulling less attractive, thinking that partner might be thinking about redoubling. 
On this basis, the panel determined that pass was not a LA to the action taken. The table 
result of 2♠ by East making two, E/W plus 110 was restored. 
 
Players Consulted: Jerry Clerkin, Bjorn Fallenius and Linda Perlman. 
 
The Panel: Harry Falk (Reviewer), Su Doe and Candy Kuschner. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner This is the most troubling of the group of cases as 2 out of 9 of the peers 

polled passed.  We do not have a percentage formula (I like the 75% we 
used previously), but I think that 2 out of 9 qualifies to make pass a LA.  It 
is likely that many of the peers who passed would likely have bid 2♠ at the 
previous turn and were now merely doing what they thought they should 
have done previously.  However, this particular West apparently did not 
think that way. I would have upheld the director’s ruling.   

 
Rigal   This is a very tough ruling; the panel of experts vote made the panel’s job 

very hard, and the case itself is really challenging. There is some 
authorized information (AI) from the auction, some UI from the tempo, 
and the argument that East might have been considering a redouble is a 
fair one (Maybe he was!) though I’m not sure I believe or accept that 
argument. I guess 2♥ would go one down; not on a diamond lead though! 



 
Wildavsky The ACBL Laws Commission has defined LA as "an action that a 

significant number of the player's peers would seriously consider, and 
some would actually take, in the absence of the UI." 
Given the definition I see no point in polling anyone except the players' 
peers. 
Two of the nine peers would have passed. That's the "some would 
actually take." At least those two, and likely more, must have seriously 
considered it.  
The poll showed that pass was a LA. I cannot fathom why the panel ruled 
as it did. The TD ruling was better. 

 
Wolff A well decided case, since East could be (and was) thinking of redoubling.  

Since this is a hard case to adjudicate, both from the standpoint of why 
East was thinking and exactly how many tricks West would take in 2♥ 
doubled, the final decision of allowing 2♠, E/W plus 110, is entirely 
acceptable.  Compare this case with some of the previous ones and you 
will understand when I think someone should flat out be called unethical.  
Here it is very different since West, after rebidding that mangy looking 
heart suit, had real cause to run and would have, IMO, even without the 
hesitation. 

  
 


