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BD# 17 345 Masterpoints 
VUL None ♠ J 7 2 
DLR North ♥ K 

♦ J 7 2  

 

♣ K Q T 8 5 3 
3,791 Masterpoints 3,221 Masterpoints 
♠ A 8 ♠ K 6  
♥ T 9 3 ♥ A J 8 6 5 4 
♦ Q 9 8 6 ♦ A K T 
♣ A 7 6 2 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ J 4 
207 Masterpoints 

♠ Q T 9 5 4 3 
♥ Q 7 2 
♦ 5 4 3 
♣ 9 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♥ by East 

 3♣1 3♥ Pass Opening Lead ♣9 
Pass Pass   Table Result 3♥ made 6, E/W + 230 

    Director Ruling 3♥ made 6, E/W + 230 
4♥ made 6, N/S   - 480 

    

 

Panel Ruling 3♥ made 6, E/W + 230 
4♥ made 6, N/S   - 480 

 
(1) Alerted and explained as clubs and 16-18 HCP. 
 
The Facts: The director was first called after the auction and returned after the play was 
completed. N/S have the agreement that an opening 3♥ or 3♠ bid shows 16-18 HCP and 
the suit bid. However, 3♣ and 3♦ openings are weak with the suit bid.  
 
The Ruling: Law 40 C applies but deemed that E/W were sufficiently experienced so 
that the damage came from egregious judgment rather than the MI. The result for N/S 
was changed to 4♥ by East making six, N/S minus 480. E/W kept the result obtained at 
the table. 



 
The Appeal: E/W maintain that East, at matchpoints, would have overcalled 3♥ with 
“only a heart suit,” i.e AKQJx, KQJxxx or KQJxx and an outside card. West stated that 
since the partnership couldn’t have more than 24 points between them, they couldn’t have 
a game. When she was told that a large number of players were polled and all bid 4♥ with 
her hand, she became very upset and wanted to leave saying, “If everyone wants to laugh 
at my bidding, I don’t need to be here.” 
The N/S pair chose not to attend the hearing.  
 
The Decision: In spite of the large number of masterpoints (see above), E/W didn’t 
appear to understand methods of hand evaluation other than HCP. West kept saying, “We 
had at most 24 HCP if North had 16-18, so we couldn’t have a game.” 
Because of the overwhelming number of players (all 15-20 polled) who bid 4♥ with the 
West hand even when they thought North had 16-18 HCP, the panel decided the MI was 
not the cause of the poor E/W score. Their score of plus 230 was allowed to stand. N/S 
did not appeal their adjustment to minus 480 – that adjustment was allowed to stand.  
Even though the appeal was found to be without merit, the committee felt E/W had been 
punished enough by their poor score (they would have won the event if the appeal had 
been resolved in their favor). There was a discussion about whether to issue an appeal 
without merit warning (AWMW). A decision was made not to impose an AWMW even 
though E/W were apprised of the result of the poll and still pursued the appeal..  
 
The Panel: Jean Molnar (Reviewer), Candy Kuschner and Peter Marcus. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner It is interesting that many players believe that if they are given MI, it will 

automatically result in an adjusted score if they don’t achieve the optimum 
result.  Here, the failure of West to bid 4♥ is poor enough bridge as to 
deny them an adjustment.  An AWMW should have been given. 

 
Rigal For non-experts I really don’t think the appeal was close to being without 

merit. If you pose the question “Were E/W less likely to bid 4♥ after the 
mistaken explanation?” I think you’ll see that they WERE damaged, and 
I’d have no problem in adjusting the score to 4♥ making six for both sides. 
Well done the panel/tournament director on giving N/S their minus 480. 

 



 
Smith If E/W were apprised of the poll results prior to their appeal, and they 

continued to pursue it, then they should have been given an AWMW.  
Surely that information must mean something even to the most obstinate 
of appellants.  I am also a bit uncomfortable about adjusting the N/S score 
to minus 480.  Law 40C tells the director to adjust for MI when it results 
in damage to the other side.  The ruling in itself seems to say that the 
damage was a result of West's quirky judgment, not the MI.  Would we 
have adjusted at all if West's ♥3 were exchanged with North's ♥K and 
West had passed 3♥?  I doubt it very much.  Surely there comes a point 
where the only reasonable conclusion in deciding what caused the damage 
is that it was caused overwhelmingly by a player's poor judgment.  I think 
this case falls into that category and the table result should have stood for 
both sides. 

 
Wildavsky A good application of Kaplan's distinction between damage that is 

subsequent to an infraction and damage that is consequent to it. I believe 
this is embodied in Law 72B1. It would be nice if the TD and panel were 
to cite the laws under which they adjusted the score. 
The decision not to award an AWMW was misguided. 

 
Wolff Another excellent appeals result except for the inconsistency of the 

AWMW.  There need to be precedents set and adhered to in the awarding 
of AWMWs.  If A to G would represent what constitutes an AWMW this 
case would be as high as a B.  On another issue it shows how convention 
disruption (CD), particularly from home brew conventions, can absolutely 
devastate certain players.  Since E/W were evidently point counters West 
decided that East probably was pushing with his 3♥ bid.  The CD reached 
out and bit E/W, although it was somewhat naive of West to make his 
judgment.  Again this appeal had the same three “Masters” satisfied as 
non-NABC+ case one. 

 


