
APPEAL Non-NABC+ TWO
Subject Tempo in Play 
DIC Tom Whitesides 
Event Side Game 
Session Tuesday Morning 
Date March 13, 2007 
 

BD# 7 467 Masterpoints 
VUL Both ♠ Q 8 6 3 
DLR South ♥ A 9 7 5 

♦ T 4  

 

♣ J 4 2 
440 Masterpoints 218 Masterpoints 

♠ 7 5 4 ♠ A K J 9 2 
♥ K 6 4 ♥ Q 3 
♦ A K Q ♦ J 9 7 2 
♣ Q 9 7 3 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ A 5 
78.5 Masterpoints 

♠ T 
♥ J T 8 2 
♦ 8 6 5 3  
♣ K T 8 6  

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ by East 

   Pass Opening Lead ♥J 
1♦ Pass 1♠ Pass Table Result 4♠ made 4, E/W + 620 

1NT Pass 2♦1 Pass Director Ruling 4♠ made 4, E/W + 620 
4♠ Pass Pass Pass 

 

Panel Ruling 4♠ made 4, E/W + 620 
4♠ made 5, N/S  - 650 

 
(1) Check back forcing to game, 2♣ would have been forcing one round. 
 
The Facts: Declarer won the opening lead, which was ducked to his queen. Declarer 
played the ♠A at trick two. South hesitated before playing the ten at trick two with no 
explanatory remarks about having no problem. East thought the hesitation was 20 
seconds – South thought it was less, but agreed that he was thinking about the defense. 
East thought the only reason for a hesitation was if South held the queen-ten doubleton.   
 
The Ruling: It was judged that South could not have known at the time of his hesitation 
that the hesitation could benefit his side. Therefore, in accordance with law 73 D 1 and  
F 2, no adjustment was appropriate. The table result stands for both sides. 



 
The Appeal: South said he was thinking about the auction and overall defense and was 
not aware he had to play trick two straight away. He felt East was “looking for 
something” he couldn’t get from the play. South has only 75 masterpoints, but East, 
declarer, has only 200. South was told no one was alleging improper behavior or cheating 
but it would have been better to play his singleton spade in tempo, then to think as 
appropriate. He picked an unfortunate time to think.  
East felt he had gone wrong because of the slow play of the ♠T. He finally decided it had 
to be queen-ten doubleton. However, he understood that there was no holding possible to 
hesitate and then play the ten.   
 
The Decision: The panel decided that East was not directly affected by the slow play of 
the ♠T but by independent bad bridge (East misplayed the trump suit). However, South 
should not be permitted to benefit from a situation he helped cause (playing out of tempo) 
even if the procedural irregularity was not 100% responsible for East’s bad decision. The 
panel ruled that the result for N/S was 4♠ making five, N/S minus 650 and the result for 
E/W was 4♠ making four, E/W plus 620.   
 
The Panel: Peter Marcus (Reviewer), Candy Kuschner and Jean Molnar. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner I don’t believe that the panel should have awarded a split score and the 

table result should have been 420 for both sides.  If the panel believed that 
the hesitation was a coffee house, then a procedural penalty could have 
been issued. 

 
Rigal Grossly inappropriate ruling by the panel, and I would also suggest that 

the initial ruling was also incomplete. If the panel wanted to punish N/S, 
and in my opinion in a non-NABC event this is questionable, then the 
right procedure is to give them a procedural penalty (non-reciprocal) for 
the difference in MP between minus 620 and minus 650. To give E/W 
something for nothing is not only absurd but will encourage more 
groundless appeals. The directors might well have considered the 
procedural penalty – or at least commented that they had considered it and 
rejected it. 

 
Smith Since there is no holding South could have where hesitating with the ten 

for 20 seconds makes any sense, then any conclusions East drew were at 
his own risk.  He ceased to be “an innocent player” (law 73F2) when he 
went to such extremes to try to take advantage of the hesitation, so I agree 
with the panel that he should not get the benefit of a score adjustment.  I 
think that same law means that N/S should not have their score adjusted.  I 
would much prefer a procedural penalty (if anything) for what happened 
here. 

 
 
 



Wildavsky East is claiming that he thought South was trying to decide whether to 
play the queen or the ten? What would the queen have been, count? 
I do not understand the panel's adjustment. Under what law did they rule? 
I could buy this only if the panel cited a law or laws as the basis for its 
decision. If the panel thought South had committed a procedural 
irregularity they ought to have awarded a procedural penalty. 
I prefer the TD's ruling to the panel's. 

 
Wolff Excellent ruling that covered the bases. The rhetoric could also be a 

precedent. 
 


