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BD# 3 Lance Shull 
VUL E/W ♠ 9 2 
DLR South ♥ Q 6 4 3 

♦ T 7 3  

 

♣ J 9 6 4 
Ethan Stein Halina Jamner 

♠ J 8 7 6 ♠ A Q 5 4 3 
♥ A J T 5 ♥ K 8 7 
♦ K 2 ♦ A 9 
♣ A K 8 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ Q T 7 
Audrey Ventura 

♠ K T 
♥ 9 2 
♦ Q J 8 6 5 4 
♣ 5 3 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♠ by West 

   Pass Opening Lead ♦3 
1NT Pass 2♥ Pass Table Result 6♠ making 6, E/W +1430 
3♠1 Pass 4♦ Dbl Director Ruling 4♠ by W making 6, E/W +680
Pass Pass 4♠2 Pass Committee Ruling 4♠ by W making 6, E/W +680
4NT Pass 5♠3 Pass 
6♠ Pass Pass Pass 

 

 

 
(1) Shows four spades and maximum. 
(2) Agreed hesitation of at least 20 seconds. 
(3) Shows two controls with the queen of spades. 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction to ascertain the fact of the 
hesitation. The director ascertained that there was agreement on a break in tempo (BIT). 
He told the players to call after conclusion of play if there was the possibility that, in their 
opinion, the call taken was demonstrably suggested by the UI and there was a logical 
alternative (LA) and there was damage. The players called the director after the 
conclusion of the play.   



 
The Ruling: The director concluded that the BIT suggested further action over 4♠ and 
that pass was a LA. In accordance with laws 12, 16 and 73 F 1, the score was adjusted to 
4♠ by West, making six, E/W plus 680. 
 
The Appeal: West stated to the committee that he never intended to allow his partner to 
sign off in 4♠. He passed the double of 4♦ to allow his partner a free bid. She did not 
redouble or bid 4♥ but bid 4♠ after a long hesitation.  
The appellant argued that he could construct numerous minimum hands that partner 
might have where he would be safe at the five-level.  
 
The Decision: The committee disagreed. It concluded that, after the 4♠ bid, pass was a 
clear LA and that action was demonstrably suggested by the UI. The committee upheld 
the director’s decision and adjustment.  
The committee had agreed to assess an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) only if 
all members of the committee agreed. Since only two members thought the appeal lacked 
substantial merit, no AWMW was assessed. 
 
The Committee: Mike Kovacich (Chair and Scribe), Ed Lazarus and Bob White. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Right, except that an AWMW is appropriate. The appeals committee (AC) 

could agree only to give AWMWs on alternate Thursdays, but that doesn't 
make their agreement valid. Here I don't think a procedural penalty (PP) 
for abuse of UI is appropriate.  West thought he was taking the normal 
action, and while it was illegal, generally a PP ought not be given in such 
a case. 

 
Polisner This is the kind of case where the directors should poll players of the 

caliber of West to see if, in fact, there is a logical alternative after all.  East 
(who might not be an expert) did make a slam try and West is rich with 
controls.  My guess is that 8 or 9 out of 10 would bid on.  

 
Rigal The awkwardness in this case comes from the fact that I suspect East is a 

client and West a pro. While West might believe his hand is worth a move, 
facing a client (whose slow 4♠ call is very revealing) I think he has to suck 
it up and pass 4♠. 
5♠ is likely to be excellent I agree; but there are clearly hands where East 
has short diamonds, where 5♠ is very poor. (AQxxx/KQx/Q/xxx) 

 
Smith Another somewhat disturbing appeal.  Maybe AWMWs need to handed 

out more readily or they need to have more teeth to prevent these kinds of 
appeals. 



Wildavsky I'd have bid again with the West hand absent the UI. After partner's 4♦ 
call, if I had to choose between 4♠ and 6♠ I'd choose 6♠. That said, West 
has already shown a maximum with four trumps and then shown slam 
interest. While he argued that he was safe at the five-level opposite many 
minimums a more relevant question is whether he was in danger at the 
five-level. Clearly he was -- partner might hold something like 
Qxxxx/KQ/AQJxx/x, where 5♠ is a favorite but not a lock. I'm not sure 
what West's comment about partner's not bidding 4♥ implied - did he plan 
to bid 4♠ over 4♥? Signing off over a second try seems way too 
conservative to me. 
I do think the appeal had merit. The appeals committee (AC) was asked to 
make a bridge judgment; whether bidding over 4♠ was so clear-cut that 
passing would have been illogical. It would be unreasonable for the AC to 
find such an appeal without merit any time they believe the action chosen 
was not clear. Then the appellants would face only two possible outcomes, 
winning their case or receiving an AWMW. 

 
Wolff Probably a proper ruling.  East, likely a client, could have saved the day 

by redoubling (showing first round control) and the auction would 
probably get to 6♠  East, no doubt, had not gotten that far in her learning 
so did what she thought best. I believe that West was honest in saying he 
intended to go further, but the hesitation disruption (HD) made it easier.  
This case is further complicated by the necessity for the declarer to guess 
the hearts right.  South, in a sense made an error when she doubled 4♦ 
with only the QJ.  It probably influenced the expert declarer to play her 
partner for the ♥Q.  So South's possible costly double, instead of causing 
an adverse slam result, rather led directly to her getting to rule the contract 
back to game.  Because of that I would either keep N/S at minus 1430 or 
at most, rule N/S up to average minus.  I think it is fair to rule E/W back to 
plus 680 because of the HD.  Sometimes we forget that the section(s) in a 
pair game are always interested parties to appeals and should be protected 
– protect the field (PTF). 

 
Zeiger West is a far better bridge player than I'll ever be, but I don't understand 

his failure to cuebid 4♥, or redouble 4♦ to show second round control.  His 
explanation to the Committee was inadequate, at best.  If he always 
intended to Blackwood, why wait?  Was he trying for a grand?  Was 
refusal to make a forward going call himself going to help find a grand?  
Broken record time - no merit. 

 


