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West North East  South Final Contract 5♣ by South 

  Pass 1♣ Opening Lead ♠A 
1♠ 2♠ Pass 3NT Table Result 5♣ S down 2, E/W +100 
4♦ Pass Pass  Dbl1 Director Ruling 5♣ S down 2, E/W +100 

Pass 5♣ Pass Pass Committee Ruling 5♣ S down 2, E/W +100 
Pass     

 

 
 
(1) Hesitation before doubling. 
 
The Facts: All players at the table agreed that South's double of 4♦ was out of tempo.  
Three Flight A players were polled and all would have bid 4NT or 5♣ over the double.  
2♠ was a limit or better raise of clubs.  The partnership did not have a firm agreement 
about whether a pass of 4♦ by North would be forcing.  
 
The Ruling: While there was an unmistakable hesitation that suggested pulling the 
double, there was no logical alternative (LA) to North's pulling. Therefore, the table 
result of 5♣ by South down 2, E/W plus 100 was allowed to stand.  
 
The Appeal: The only issue before the committee was whether there was a LA to 
bidding over the double.  South told the committee that he is fairly random about which 
minor he opens when they are 3-3, but that he tends to open diamonds when they are 4-4.  
North said that she erred in not bidding directly over 4♦.  



 
 
The Decision: The committee reasoned that with E/W vulnerable, West was very likely 
to have a highly distributional hand. North's holding in spades suggested that East would 
likely hold at most a singleton spade, making ruffs of the suit a way to garner tricks and 
set up the suit.  North's authorized information strongly suggests that South does not have 
four diamonds and might have as few as two.  Furthermore, if there is a finesse to be 
taken in spades, it is through South, who is pretty well known to hold the stopper(s) in the 
suit.  The committee decided that the authorized information available to North made 
passing illogical. 
Since North is free to bid, North's choice of bids is unconstrained since the hesitation did 
not suggest one bid over another.  Also, the fact that the double may have intimidated 
E/W from bidding their 5D contract is irrelevant since there is no violation on which to 
base an adjustment. 
Accordingly, the committee upheld the director's ruling that the table score stands, E/W 
plus 100.   
 
The Committee: Barry Rigal (Chair), Ken Barbour, Michael Huston, Jeff Meckstroth 
and Chris Moll.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I don't agree that passing is not a LA for this North. Once she had chosen 

to pass 4♦, either she was thinking that the pass was forcing and was 
planning a pass and pull slam try, which she obviously was not, or she was 
planning to abide by her partner's decision to pass (if her pass was non-
forcing) or double 4♦.  The poll isn't useful, because the directors didn't 
consult players who would have passed 4♦.  So to bid 5♣ is inconsistent.  
The appeals committee (AC) members  all think that passing 4♦ doubled is 
impossible, but none of them would have passed 4♦ in the first place, so it 
is in fact impossible.  Passing 4♦ doubled is only possible for a player who 
would have passed 4♦ undoubled.  North, prima facie, is such a player, so 
for her, passing 4♦ doubled must be a LA, and thus is imposed upon her.  
4♦ doubled making five for both sides.  This is a basic "transfer of 
intelligence" case. 

 
Polisner I am uncomfortable with only three players polled - but that is better than 

not even taking a poll.  Based on the poll, the result seems fair. 
 
Rigal Once in a while the UI of a slow double can be overridden by the fact that 

passing is not a logical alternative. The unanimous view of the committee 
and sampled experts made North’s action acceptable – if very lucky.  



 
Smith The poll and the opinions and reasoning of the committee convince me, 

but I am still troubled by North's pass over 4♦.  It is always hard to decide 
what is a LA to a player who takes a strange action before getting UI and 
then to try to judge what is logical to that player later.  Polling in this kind 
of case only helps if you find players who would match the earlier action, 
and I suspect in this case that would have been very difficult. 

 
Wildavsky The committee reasoned that West must be highly distributional, but they 

labored under the handicap of knowing the West was 6-6. A player who 
should have acted on the previous round should normally be deemed to 
have left the decision to partner. Holding ♦s QJx and ♣s xxx South would 
have doubled in tempo. I think the TD and the AC got this wrong, in spite 
of the poll. It seems to me that under current ACBL Laws Commission 
guidelines, a poll of three players cannot suffice to rule that there were no 
LAs to an action. In addition, as Jeff Goldsmith points out, North's peers 
are those who would have passed 4♦, so if enough of them can be found 
they are the ones who should be polled. 

 
Wolff A very poor decision.  First, when a pair gets doubled for penalties in 4♦ it 

is usually very difficult to then later bid 5♦.  After all the 4♦ bidders do not 
know the tendencies of their opponents and that is a significant 
disadvantage. 
Second, a slow double of 4♦ is much worse than the directors and 
committees can imagine, because, if  South in this case doubles in 
relatively fast (but not necessarily noticeable) tempo, can we take them to 
committee if partner stands for it?  Of course not!  Hesitation disruption 
was very present here and could always have been avoided if North would 
have bid her hand immediately over 4♦ and just bid 5♣.  This way worked 
much better for her and for all the wrong reasons.  Why are we aiding and 
abetting this form of unethical behavior? 

 
Zeiger This one, at least, is interesting.  After hopelessly passing 4♦, I'm not sure 

North should be allowed to make the intelligent 5♣ call.  Maybe passing 
the double wasn't a LA, but neither was passing 4♦.  I would submit that 
any player who passed 4♦ might have thought of passing an in tempo 
double.  I suspect I may be alone in disallowing the pull, but I've been 
alone before.  E/W plus 910. 

 


