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BD# 20 Eldad Ginowsar 
VUL Both ♠ K 7 4 
DLR West ♥ A T 

♦ Q T 9 5  

 

♣ J 7 5 4  
Nick Bykov Srikanth Kodayam 

♠ J ♠ 9 8 6 
♥ K Q J 9 8 4 ♥ 5 3  
♦ K J 7 3 ♦ A 8 6 4 2 
♣ A Q 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ T 8 2 
Melih Ozdil 

♠ A Q T 5 3 2 
♥ 7 6 2 
♦  
♣ K 9 6 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ dbld, made 4, N/S +790 
1♥ Pass 1NT1 2♠ Opening Lead ♥K 
3♦ Dbl2 Pass 3♠ Table Result 4♠ dbld, made 4, N/S +790 
4♥ 4♠ Pass Pass Director Ruling 3♦ dbled, made 3, N/S -670 
Dbl Pass Pass Pass 

 

Committee Ruling 3♦ dbled, made 3, N/S -670 
 
(1) Announced as forcing 
(2) Agreed hesitation 
 
The Facts:  The director was called after the 3♠ bid and again after the hand was 
completed.  All the players agreed that North took some time before doubling 3♦. 
 
The Ruling:  The director considered pass to be a logical alternative to bidding 3♠, 
which was demonstrably suggested by the hesitation. In accordance with laws 16 and 12, 
the result was adjusted to3♦ doubled by East, making three, E/W plus 670. 



 
The Appeal:  South stated that he had a good playing hand and very little defense.  E/W 
should have 8 or 9 diamonds between them, and North probably has some spade support. 
North admitted that his double of 3♦ was a bad call.   
West asked North, while South was away from the table discussing his hand with the 
director, whether his double of 3♦ was strictly penalty and was told that it was.  West also 
pointed out that North could easily have both a diamond and heart stack, which would 
have kept him out of the auction on the first round.    
 
The Decision:  The committee all agreed that the double of 3♦ was a bad bid. The 
committee questioned South’s contention that North should have spade support and 
commented that South had 1½ tricks of his own in defense. The issue, though, was 
whether pass was a logical alternative to bidding 3♠ by South.  The answer was yes, and 
the director’s ruling, 3♦ doubled, making 3, plus E/W 670, was upheld. 
The committee then discussed whether an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) 
should be issued.  Since South was a foreign player who was unfamiliar with the 
consequences of lodging an appeal without merit, one was not issued.  N/S were apprised 
that future appeals would be expected to have merit or a formal warning would be given. 
 
The Committee:  Richard Budd (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Mike Kovacich, Ed Lazarus 
and Jeff Meckstroth. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Good ruling, but bad reason not to give an AWMW. Foreign players are 

unlikely to get multiple AWMWs unless they are regulars at ACBL 
NABCs.  If they are regulars, then they should be playing by the same 
rules as everyone else.  If they are not, then an AWMW is irrelevant to 
them, and there's no reason not to issue one. 

 
Polisner Routine case of UI. 
 
Rigal South is an accomplished international player. This partnership reached 

the semi-finals of the last World Championships in Verona for heaven’s 
sake. ‘Ignorantia facti non se excusit’ Ignorance of the law is no excuse. 
N/S have played enough ACBL NABCs to know their way around; give 
them an AWMW.  

 
Smith An AWMW just a warning, and this was an NABC+ event after all.  

Players who appeal a ruling and take up the time and energy of a number 
of people should not take the step lightly.  If they are unsure of the merit 
of their case they should consider it before appealing and learn the 
possible consequences of making a bad appeal.  The form they sign even 
warns them of the consequences.  They should not be exempt from getting 
an AWMW because they plead unfamiliarity with our procedures. 

  
 
 



Wildavsky The committee's apology for not issuing an AWMW is absurd. First of all 
South is an experienced internationalist -- every jurisdiction I know of 
penalizes appeals without merit. Second the appellants signed a form, 
which specified the consequences of an appeal without merit. Third any 
pair experienced enough to file an appeal must be considered experienced 
enough to bear the consequences. Fourth the AWMW is just that, a 
warning. The AWMW should be a judgment about the merits of the case, 
not the appellants. 

 
Wolff When North was asked "Was his double of 3♦ strictly penalty", he 

answered yes.  It was even more than that, it was quantified.  It said, 
"Partner, I think I have a penalty double, but you may pull it if your hand 
suggests that".  He could have gone on to say, "If I didn't need you to help, 
I would have doubled immediately".  Hesitation disruption in all its 
GORY! 

 
Zeiger A warning is not a jail sentence.  It is a warning.  In a NABC+ event, 

committees have no excuses for finding no merit, and not issuing an 
AWMW.  Surely, this NABC has set a new record for highest percentage 
of utterly meritless appeals. 

  
 
 


