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BD# 7 Yi Zhong 
VUL Both ♠ K J 
DLR South ♥ 8 5 3 2  

♦ A J 8 6  

 

♣ J T 7 
Karl Gohl Neil Kimelman 

♠ T 4 3 ♠ A Q 9 8 6 2 
♥ K 9 ♥ J T 7 6 4 
♦ K 7 3 ♦  
♣ Q 9 4 3 2 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ 8 5 
Hailong Ao 

♠ 7 5 
♥ A Q 
♦ Q T 9 5 4 2 
♣ A K 6 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ doubled by East 

   1NT1 Opening Lead ♣A 
Pass 3NT 4♣2 Dbl Table Result 4♠ dbld E made 4, E/W +790
Pass Pass 4♠ Pass Director Ruling 4♣ dbld E down 3, E/W -800
Pass Dbl Pass Pass Committee Ruling 4♦ S made 4, N/S +130 
Pass     

 

 
 
(1) 15-17 HCP. 
(2) Actual agreement is majors, one longer than the other. Not Alerted. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the 4♠ bid and again after the play of the hand. 
South asked the meaning of 4♣ at his turn and was told, “clubs.” He told the director 
away from the table that he would have bid 4♦ if he had been told the actual agreement. 
E/W play that after 4♣ that 4♦ asks for the longer major – there were no other 
agreements. E/W play “Hello” versus a strong 1NT opening. 
 
The Ruling: Six players were polled on East’s action: three passed the double with the 
E/W agreements; two bid 4♠ and one was unsure between 4♠ and pass. 
The UI demonstrably suggested action over a pass and pass was deemed to be a logical 
alternative (LA). 
In accordance with laws 16 and 12, the result was adjusted to 4♣ doubled down three, 
N/S plus 800. The MI was deemed to be moot. 



 
The Appeal: It was unreasonable to pass 4♣ even though there was definitely UI from 
partner’s explanation.  
N/S agreed with the facts as presented. 
 
The Decision: If South had been given proper information, he stated he would have bid 
4♦ over 4♣. This seems eminently reasonable and would, probably, have ended the 
auction. West would, if aware of the meaning of 4♣, have most likely led the ♥K. If still 
unaware of the meaning, he would likely have led a club. Both leads result in 4♦ making 
four. The table result of E/W plus 790 was in part because MI stopped South from taking 
his most likely action. The adjudicated result of 4♣ doubled down three, E/W minus 800 
was deemed unrealistic by the committee. The result of 4♦ by South making four, N/S 
plus 130 gives the most favorable result that was likely to N/S – if proper information had 
been proffered at the correct time.  
 
The Committee: Dick Budd (Chair and Scribe), Abby Heitner, Jeff Meckstroth, Chris 
Moll and Eddie Wold. 



Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Did the appeals committee (AC) really deliberate in as ad hoc a manner as 

the write-up suggested?  Given their vast experience, probably not, but the 
write-up makes it sound as if they did. They came to a reasonable answer, 
but if they'd followed precise procedure, maybe they would have found a 
better one, or at least have been more convincing about their choice.   

  Let's start with the UI case.  Is passing 4♣ doubled a LA?  It depends on 
what West's pass means.  If it's to play 4♣, then passing is easy.  If it 
means, "bid your longer major," then passing is silly.  If E/W have no 
agreement, East will never take the deep view to pass.  Since they appear 
not to have an agreement, passing is not a LA, despite the poll, so East is 
allowed to bid 4♠. Good job by the AC to reject the poll.  
Were N/S damaged by the MI?  Yes. South's 4♦ will definitely lead to a 
better result for N/S than his double did.  So we must adjust and use 
L12C2.  What are the at all probable results? 4♦ +130, 4♦ -100, 4♠ 
doubled -790, 5♦ -200, 5♦ -100, 5♠ doubled +200, all scored from the N/S 
perspective.  I reject 4♣ -300, as South felt very sure he'd bid 4♦.  Which 
are likely?  Probably any except N/S's taking only 9 tricks at diamonds or 
4♣'s getting passed out.  In particular, is 5♠ doubled likely?  If South bids 
4♦, North is likely to bid 5♦; the conditions are vulnerable at IMPs. Why 
can't partner have Axx/xx/KQxxxx/AK?  Once East has heard the 
opponents bid to game in his void, he might well bid five over five; he 
has, after all, already committed to the four-level, and the AI strongly 
suggests that bidding is much more likely to be successful than it was the 
previous round.  All in all, this is a tough one---judging which of those six 
results are likely and which are at all probable is difficult.  My choice is 
that N/S +200 is likely, so I rule reciprocal 200s. My second choice, if 5♠ 
isn't likely, is E/W -200, and N/S -100. I don't think it is likely that the 
auction will end in 4♦, and while it is certainly at all probable, there is a 
worse at all probable result for the offending side.  
What about MI in the UI context?  Can we rule that West would have bid 
5♣ over 4♦, since South gets the right information, but West doesn't?  
That'd lead to N/S +1100.  No, N/S only get redress from damage from the 
MI, not the opportunity to continue the auction as it was with the right 
information. 

 
Polisner I am surprised that the director did not consider the fact that South would 

have bid 4♦ with the correct explanation of 4♣ and ruled +130 for N/S.  If 
I considered East’s action of bidding 4♠ egregious enough being in 
possession of UI, I would have awarded E/W minus 800.  I think it is 
close. 

 
Rigal What a bizarre decision to award minus 800. No bridge player would 

consider passing 4♣ here; the pass of 4♣ says nothing about wanting to 
play that contract. I like the idea of the auction ending in 4♦ (whether 
North or East would actually pass here is another matter!) Reasonable 
decision in a complex position. 



  
Smith I disagree strongly with the committee on this one.  There existed on this 

hand both UI and MI.  N/S were not damaged by MI.  Doubling rather 
than bidding 4♦ did not damage them, and law 40C tells directors and 
committees to adjust due to MI only when damage results.  The damage to 
N/S occurred from UI.  They were scheduled to and entitled to plus 800 if 
not for the 4♠ bid by East.  Since the polling by the director seems clearly 
to establish pass as a logical alternative, then that should have been the 
adjustment. 

 
Wildavsky For starters the AC ruling is incomplete. They needed to specify the most 

unfavorable result that was at all probable for the offenders. They director 
supervising the appeal should not accept such a decision from the AC. 
There were two infractions, MI and UI. As in case nine, with two 
infractions by the same side, the TD and AC should chose to adjust based 
on the infraction that gives the offenders the worst score. 
That's what the TD did. The TD's ruling was better than the AC's, and I 
see no merit to the appeal. 

 
Wolff Typical happening of a committee wallowing around trying to determine a 

score adjustment because of convention disruption.  Impossible and not 
even fun to do. 

 
Zeiger Curious.  East wouldn't have had the opportunity to act on the UI if South 

didn't have MI.  I like the committee's style, but I don't think the reasoning 
is correct.  In real life, N/S were not damaged by the MI.  They were 
damaged by use of UI.  Since the 4♠ bid is actually what caused the 
damage to N/S, the fact that South would have bid 4♦ with correct 
information is irrelevant.  The TD ruling was correct.   

 


