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BD# 8 Lloyd Arvedon 
VUL None ♠ A Q J 7 3 
DLR West ♥ K 4 

♦ J 9  

 

♣ 9 6 4 3 
John Fout Jeff Roman 

♠ 4 ♠ K T 6 
♥ Q J 9 5 ♥ A T  
♦ A K 2 ♦ Q T 7 6 5 4 
♣ K Q T 7 5 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ J 8 
John McLaughlin 

♠ 9 8 5 2 
♥ 8 7 6 3 2 
♦ 8 3 
♣ A 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ doubled by North 
1♣1 1♠ 2♣2 3♠ Opening Lead ♣J 
4♣ 4♠ Dbl Pass Table Result 4♠ N dbld down 4, E/W +800

Pass Pass   Director Ruling 5♣ W made 5, E/W +400  
    

 

Committee Ruling 5♣ W made 5, E/W +400 
 
(1) Alerted as 15-20 HCP balanced or 15+ HCP unbalanced with clubs 
(2) Disagreement by E/W, East meant it as transfer to diamonds, West explained it as 

non-forcing with a club suit 
 
The Facts:  There was disagreement as to the meaning of 2♣ in this auction.  East 
thought their agreement was that it was a transfer to diamonds.  West contended that 2♣ 
should be a natural and non-forcing call. 
 
North stated that part of his reason for bidding 4♠ was the expectation of a club void in 
partner’s hand. North asked the meaning of the 2♣ and 4♣ calls before bidding 4♠ and 
was told that both were natural. 



 
The Ruling:  Per the footnotes to Law 75, Partnership Agreements, since E/W were 
unable to produce evidence as to what their agreement is in this situation, it is assumed to 
be a mistaken explanation. It is doubtful that North would bid 4♠ with a different 
explanation, so per Law 84.D., the result was changed to 5♣ by West making 5, E/W 
+400, the most favorable likely result for N/S. 
 
The Appeal:  East stated that he had system notes in his room that showed that their 
agreement was that 2♣ in this sequence was natural, but since this was a recent change, 
the addendum to their notes were handwritten, not typed.  He stated that he didn’t want to 
insult the committee by presenting notes with handwritten changes.  
 
East also stated that he was appealing the director’s decision because he thought this 
North would always bid 4♠ on this sequence and because this was really a case of a 
misbid, not misinformation.  North was the victim of bad luck, finding both the ♠K and 
♥A offside. 
 
North stated that he would not have bid 4♠ with the correct information. 
 
The Decision:  The committee agreed with North that 4♠ was a very unlikely bid (one 
member said it was insane) if correct information had been given.  If 4♣ was clubs in an 
unbalanced hand and 2♣ also showed clubs, North’s assumption that South would be 
void was valid. 
 
Since West showed 15+ HCP and East had 10 HCP it is logical that game would be bid 
with the E/W cards.  Thus, the director’s ruling of 5♣ making 5, E/W +400 was upheld. 
 
The committee then discussed the merit of the appeal.  The committee felt that East 
should have brought his notes to the committee, even with handwritten changes, to 
support his contention that 2♣ was a misbid, and not a misexplanation.  The committee 
also felt that a player of his caliber should know that his appeal did not have merit, thus 
an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) was issued. 
 
The Committee:  Barry Rigal (Chair), Ellen Kent, Chris Moll, Mike Passell, Tom Peters 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith AWMW appropriate.  The write-up was concise and complete, as was the 

director's ruling.  Well done all around. 
 
Polisner Wait a second here.  Why should it be assumed that E/W would bid 5♣?  

Effectively, East has a working seven-count and a doubleton club.  My 
ruling would be +150 for E/W in 4♣.  Here again, a poll of peers about 
what to bid over 4♣-Pass should have been taken.  Apparently, 4♣ was not 
forcing (although not stated) based on the appeals committee’s comments.  
A poor write-up. 

 



Rigal This partnership has been suffering in appeals recently, but, as Chairman 
of the appeal committee, I felt very unhappy that two good players would 
expect us to rely on their oral testimony when they had written testimony 
available (particularly in the context of their use of highly complex 
methods with many unusual transfers). 

 
Smith Well done all around.  E/W could not seriously have expected the 

committee to rule that West's explanation of 2♣ was correct given the 
wording of the footnote to Law 75 (“. . . the Director is to presume 
Mistaken Explanation, rather than Mistaken Bid, in the absence of 
evidence to the contrary.”).  They should also have realized that North's 
argument was reasonable and that they were in danger of being assessed 
an AWMW. 

 
Wildavsky I agree with the TD and appeals committee rulings, and with the AWMW. 

E/W can't have been surprised that this decision went against them. 
I do not fault E/W for failing to bring their hand-written addendum. 

 
Wolff A reasonable ruling on the surface, but not really.  Since convention 

disruption (CD) was the reason why the committee allowed N/S out of 
their minus 800 result, why should E/W be assumed to get to a difficult 
minor suit game when they couldn't even remember their system?  It does 
seem that 3NT would make more (thanks to the fortunate lie of the heart 
suit), but even so the ruling might be fairer to allow  plus 400 E/W but to 
penalize them for not knowing their home brew system and wreaking 
havoc on the opponents.   
The beat goes on and on, and in spite of it, we do very little to prevent it 
from happening in the future. 

 
Zeiger  This was solid reasoning.  A lucid write-up. 
 


