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BD# 6 Dan Gerstman 
VUL E/W ♠ A J 6 
DLR East ♥ Q T 2 

♦ K 5 3 2  

 

♣ 6 4 2 
Ed White Marty Hirschman 

♠ Q 9 7 3 ♠ K 5 
♥ 7 6 4 ♥ A 8 3 
♦ A Q J ♦ 9 8 7 6 4 
♣ T 7 3 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ J 9 5 
Joel Wooldridge 

♠ T 8 4 2 
♥ K J 9 5 
♦ T 
♣ A K Q 8 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 1NT by North 

  Pass 1♣ Opening Lead ♦9 
Pass 1NT Pass  Pass Table Result 1NT making 3, N/S +150 
Pass    Director Ruling 1NT making 2, N/S +120 

    

 

Committee Ruling 1NT making 2, N/S +120 
 
Play:  
Trick 1: ♦9 ♦T ♦A ♦2 
Trick 2: ♦Q ♦K ♦4 ♠2 
Trick 3: ♥Q ♥A ♥5 ♥4 
Trick 4: ♦8 ♠4 ♦J ♦3 
Trick 5: ♠3 ♠A ♠5 ♠8 
Trick 6: ♥T ♥3 ♥K ♥6 
Trick 7: ♥9 ♥7 ♣2 ♥8 
 
The Facts: The director was called after trick seven. After following to the ♥9 with the 
♣2, declarer said the word “heart.” Declarer stated that he was attempting to correct his 
revoke.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that declarer by saying “heart” was playing to the next 
trick. Therefore the revoke was established. In accordance with laws 61-64, a one trick 
penalty was imposed and the result adjusted to 1NT making two, N/S +120. 



 
The Appeal: At the end of trick seven, declarer was in dummy in which there remained 
one good heart. Declarer still had one heart in his hand due to his revoke at trick seven. 
The declarer then said “heart.”  A moment later (one or two seconds), he took the heart 
from his hand and started to exchange it for the club he had played to trick seven. There 
was conflicting testimony about whether declarer’s trick seven card was face down  at 
that point. Dummy had not played the remaining heart and West had not played. 
After a brief exchange between the players, E/W called for the director. E/W said they 
thought a heart had been called from dummy. Declarer said it was not his intention to call 
a card from dummy; he just said “heart” because he wanted to correct the revoke. 
 
The Decision: The committee heard the testimony of three of the players and two 
kibitzers (who had been sitting on either side of dummy). The kibitzers’ testimony was 
requested and consented to by both sides. 
Although Declarer had said that he had fully named each previous heart played from 
dummy, the committee found that his stating “heart” constituted an incomplete 
designation of the heart from dummy. The laws provide for incomplete designation by 
deeming it be the lowest card in dummy of the suit named, unless that was 
incontrovertibly not declarer’s intention (law 46 B 2) . The testimony did not suggest that 
it was clear that declarer was muttering rather than naming a card to be played. Declarer 
did not say “heart” in a slip of the tongue intending to say something else. He was in a 
position where cashing dummy’s last heart was the logical next play and he said “heart” 
in such a way that it reasonably could be construed to be a designation of a card he is 
proposing to play. Under those circumstances the committee decided the heart in dummy 
is played and the revoke on the previous trick was established. Therefore, a one trick 
penalty was appropriate and the decision of the table director was upheld. 
The committee found that the appeal had merit. 
   
The Committee: Barry Rigal (Chairperson), Bart Bramley, Michael Huston, Chris Moll 
and Bruce Rogoff. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Seems pretty clear-cut.  Whatever declarer intended, he had to 

realize that what he did by saying, "heart," was to call a card from 
dummy, establishing the revoke.  If he wanted to correct the 
revoke, he should have said, "sorry, I have a heart."   Note that if 
the previous trick was not quitted, it is inappropriate to call from 
dummy, but that doesn't matter; even an illegally played card by 
the revoking side establishes the revoke (L63A1).  
Appeal has no merit, sorry.  The screening director ought to have 
made this clear. 

 
Polisner  Not awarding an AWMW was very charitable. 



 
Rigal A very difficult call. I think you had to be there, and form an 

opinion on the spectator’s testimony to come to a conclusion – and 
we did not find it easy, even after all that. Finally, we could find no 
reason to overrule the tournament director (TD) (even though, 
since we had more testimony than the TD, it was within our 
authority to do so). 

 
Smith Saying “heart” is a strange way for a player to indicate that he is 

trying to correct a revoke from his own hand.  The directors and 
committee got this right, and the appellant was lucky to escape 
without an AWMW. 

 
Wildavsky  The decisions look right to me. 
 
Wolff There is little argument that this case was decided correctly 

according to the strict interpretation of the revoke law, however: 
Long ago a real law scholar once told me: A "good" judge knows 
the law and then after tying the facts to the law makes a proper 
judgment and verdict.  That is what this director and committee 
did.  A "great" judge knows the law and then when tying the facts 
to the law always interprets the law, if at all possible, so that the 
equity in the case wins out. The revoke was so trivial and had 
nothing to do with trying to gain something or any other evil 
motive, but it just happened and happened in such a way that it 
countermanded intent and bridge justice.  I hope our "bridge laws" 
grow to such an extent wherein sometimes in the future this will 
not be called a revoke. My suggestion would not work in the clubs 
or in any low level because of the absence of experienced 
judgment.  However, on the big stage, IMO we are ready for this 
upgrade. 

 
 
Zeiger The decision was obvious and the write up thorough.  One 

question, the appeal had merit because...?  We all know it didn't, 
but the Committee was too nice to say so. 

 


