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BD# 2 Ai-Tai Lo  
VUL N/S ♠ 9 
DLR East ♥ T 6 4 

♦ A 6 4 2  

 

♣ A Q 9 7 5 
Jim Munday Bill Hall 

♠ A Q 8 7 2 ♠ J 5 4 3 
♥ A Q 9 3 2 ♥ 8 7 
♦ 7 5 ♦ Q J T 
♣ 6 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, CA 

♣ J T 8 2 
Alan Schwartz 

♠ K T 6 
♥ K J 5 
♦ K 9 8 3 
♣ K 4 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ doubled by E 

  Pass 1♦ Opening Lead ♦8 
2♦ 3♣ 3♠ Pass Table Result Down 1, N/S + 100 
4♠ Dbl Pass Pass Director Ruling 4♠, dbld, -1, N/S +100 

Pass    

 

Committee Ruling 4♠, dbld, -1, N/S +100 
 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the auction. After leading (face-down), South 
explained that the 3♣ bid was a transfer to diamonds. No other player at the table heard 
an Alert. Therefore, it was considered to be a failure to Alert. West stated that he would 
not have bid 4♠ had there been a timely Alert and explanation.  
 
The Ruling: In accordance with law 40 C, it was decided that the lack of correct 
information did not cause any damage. Therefore, the table result of 4♠ doubled by East 
down one, N/S plus 100 was allowed to stand.  
 
The Appeal: Only E/W attended the hearing. The Committee agreed that there was 
misinformation, especially since South was known by one member of the Committee to 
occasionally mumble an Alert. 
E/W played strong and weak Michaels’ Cue Bids. West opted to treat his hand as a strong 
Michaels’ hand. West asserted he bid 4♠ as a tactical bid since he believed a standard 3♣ 
bid was forcing and that North would reopen if he passed.  



Decision: The committee felt that no experienced partnership that played 3♣ as natural in 
this situation would play the above method. The committee found that West bid 4♠ 
because of his decision to bid 2♦ initially and because 4♠ would have a good play 
opposite many East hands that would bid 3♠. Accordingly, the MI was not the cause of 
E/W’s bad result. The committee allowed the table result of 4♠ doubled by East down 
one, N/S plus 100 to stand. 
 
The Committee: Richard Popper (Chair), Mike Kovacich and Hendrick Sharples. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith  I don't understand the first sentence of the decision.  I agree that the non 

offending side’s bad result was caused by East's overbid. 
On the other hand, if East had been told that 3♣ was a transfer to 
diamonds, he is more likely to have passed thinking he may get an 
opportunity to bid 3♠ over 3♦.  In fact, that is what would happen.  In that 
case, applying law 12 C 2 is hard.  Probably, North passes 3♦ and East 
bids 3♠.  North might double, pass, or bid 4♦.  I think doubling is likely 
enough to award reciprocal scores of 530. 
Should E/W get their good result?  If 3♠ is a wild gambling action, they 
keep their table result.  I think it qualifies.  So N/S minus 530, E/W minus 
100. 

 
Polisner The fact that South volunteered that North’s response was a transfer 

clearly indicates that he had neglected to Alert earlier.  Be that as it may, 
the MI did not have any affect on the auction and the table result should be 
retained.  The appeals committee should have asked West why he would 
not have bid 4♠ had he been properly Alerted.  Absent a cogent reason, an 
AWMW should have been issued. 

 
Rigal We have to persuade players (with all possible force, including AWMW) 

that infractions do not equal damages. Here E/W were not damaged 
because West’s second call was unlinked to the meaning of 3♣ (and note 
that playing 3♣ as NON-forcing here is as likely as playing it forcing) so 
that if West really was thinking about bidding to catch North out, he 
needed to find out whether the opponents were having a forcing auction or 
not. AWMW territory, to my mind. 

 
Smith I don't see any connection between the MI and West's decision to bid 4♠, 

and I don't see (and didn't read) how East's actions may have been 
affected, so I agree with the directors and the committee. 

 
Wildavsky Good work all 'round. I see no merit to the appeal, but perhaps it's close. 
 
Wolff  Good ruling. 
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