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BD# 26 Leszek Rabiega 
VUL Both ♠ Q 9 
DLR East ♥ 8 7 5 2 

♦ A Q J 9 8 6  

 

♣ 3 
Steven Johnson Mark Teaford 

♠ 8 6 3 ♠ K J T 7 
♥ A K Q ♥ 6 3 
♦ K T ♦ 5 4 
♣ A T 7 6 5 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, CA 

♣ K Q J 9 4 
Gabriela Rabiega 

♠ A 5 4 2 
♥ J T 9 4 
♦ 7 3 2 
♣ 8 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 2♦ dbld by N 

  Pass Pass Opening Lead ♦5 
1NT1 2♣2 Dbl3 Rdbl Table Result Made 2, N/S +180 
Pass 2♦ Dbl Pass Director Ruling 3NT W made 3, E/W +600 
Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling 3NT W made 3, E/W +600 
 
(1) 15-17 HCP. 
(2) Explained as clubs plus a higher ranking suit. 
(3) Stayman. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the hand was played. The explanation of 2♣ was 
incorrect. The actual agreement is an unspecified one-suited hand. East said that with the 
correct information, he would not have doubled 2♦. 
 
The Ruling: It was deemed that there was MI. With the correct information it was likely 
that East would bid 3♦ over 2♦. West would bid 3NT. North would lead the ♦Q. 
Therefore, in accordance with laws 40C and 12C2, the result was adjusted to the most 
favorable result that was likely for the non-offending side and the same result for the 
offending side – 3NT by West, making three, E/W plus 600.  
 



The Appeal: North asserted that had E/W arrived at a 3NT contract he would never lead 
the ♦Q. He also did not correct the incorrect explanation prior to the opening lead because 
the damage had already been done. 
E/W did not try to suggest how the auction might have gone if they had been given the 
correct explanation to the 2♣ bid, other than stating that East would not double 2♦. The 
double of 2♦ was based on the assumption that West had to have diamonds given no club 
length or a four-card major. 
 
The Decision: The committee concluded that the most likely auction given correct 
information was a forcing 3♣ bid rather than the final double by East. West would most 
likely respond either 3♥ or 3NT. If West bid 3♥, East might bid 3♠ followed by 3NT by 
West. The committee ruled that the most favorable result that was likely  had the 
irregularity not occurred, for the non-offending side, and the most unfavorable result that 
was at all probable for the offending side would be 3NT making three. In accordance 
with law 12C2, the results of plus 600 for E/W and minus 600 for N/S were awarded. 
The committee found no merit to the appeal; therefore, an appeal without merit warning 
(AWMW) was issued to N/S and the team captain. There was some discussion as to 
imposing a procedural penalty (PP) to N/S for failure to disclose the correct explanation 
prior to the opening lead, but the committee chose not to.     
 
The Committee: Bob Schwartz (Chair), Shannon Cappelletti, Jeff Goldsmith, Eugene 
Kales and Richard Popper. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Looks good.  Because the failure to announce the misexplanation before 

the opening lead did not lead to an adjusted score (the opening lead wasn't 
affected and the director couldn't roll back the bidding far enough), a 
procedural penalty (PP) is probably not appropriate by the spirit of law 90. 
By the way, wouldn't East have bid 3♣, not 3♦? 

 
Polisner The ruling and decision were correct and the issuance of an AWMW was 

appropriate.  North should have disclosed the correct explanation; 
however, since this did not affect the adjusted result, the non-issuance of a 
PP was a good one. 



Rigal Good ruling as to AWMW. Maybe a PP would have been over-egging the 
cake, but North (I don’t know about South) IS experienced enough to 
know better. A really bad appeal and I’m disappointed that the TDs could 
not have convinced North by simply consulting the recap sheets on this 
deal (where 3NT plus 600 was common) not to appeal. 

 
Smith E/W seem to have been deprived of a reasonable possibility of bidding and 

making 3NT by the misinformation, and their reasoning seems sound.  
N/S should have known this, so the AWMW is appropriate.  I think a PP 
should also have been assigned to North for not disclosing the 
misinformation at the end of the auction.  It would have been too late to 
mitigate the damage, but he didn't know that.  I don't think it is too much 
for a player to know that he should say something at the end of an auction 
(when he is dummy or declarer) when his partner has given MI.  This is 
especially true of experienced players in NABC+ events. 

 
Wildavsky The chain of reasoning described in the tournament director (TD) ruling is 

not consistent with the laws, but I suspect the problem lies with the write-
up and not the ruling. The TD's job is not to determine what would have  
happened absent the infraction, but rather what the likely and at all 
probable results were. Per the appeals committee decision they are both 
3N making nine tricks for E/W plus 600. 
North's "The damage had been done" contention was wrong as a matter of 
law, mistaken as a matter of logic since the lead and defense could be 
critical, irrelevant, and insulting to his opponents and to the committee. It 
would not surprise me if North simply hoped that E/W would fail to call 
the TD if he kept silent. I'd have assessed a PP. This appeal had no merit. 

 
Wolff  OK ruling. 
 
 


	3NT W made 3, E/W +600

