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San Francisco, CA 

♣ 9 8 5 4 3 
Leonard Melander, Jr 
♠ Q 7 6 4 
♥ J 6 
♦ Q J T 5 4 3 
♣ T 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3NT by North 

  Pass Pass Opening Lead ♣4 
1♣ 1NT Pass 2♦1 Table Result Made 3, N/S +400 

Pass 2♥ Pass 3♦ Director Ruling 3NT N, +3, N/S +400 
Pass 3NT Pass Pass Committee Ruling 3NT N, +3, N/S +400 
Pass     

 

 
 
(1) Announced as transfer. 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction. N/S had had differing 
information on their convention cards about whether systems were on after a one 
notrump overcall. E/W questioned South’s further actions since he had UI from hearing 
the Announcement “Transfer.” There also was concern that North had three hearts yet 
didn’t bid 4♥. 



 
The Ruling: While there was UI, the 3♦ bid was deemed to not be demonstrably 
suggested by the UI. The table result of 3NT by North, making three, N/S +400 was 
allowed to stand because: 

1. If the 2♥ bid is taken as positive for diamonds, South could bid 2♠ and get N/S to 
a contract of 4♠. 

2. It doesn’t seem likely at IMPs to advance to a different partscore. 
 
The Appeal: N/S did not attend the hearing. E/W said that South’s pull of 2♥ to 3♦ was 
demonstrably suggested by the announcement that 2♦ was a transfer and some Souths 
would pass 2♥ without that UI. E/W also thought it was peculiar that North would bid 
3NT rather than 4♥ in this sequence. 
 
The Decision: Clearly the transfer Announcement was UI to South. It also strongly 
suggests that South not pass. Therefore, bidding (as a line of action under law 16) was 
demonstrably suggested. No particular bid (2♠, 2NT or 3♦) was suggested over any other, 
though. The committee found that passing was not a logical alternative (LA) since it was 
unlikely that North had a good five-card heart suit and if the 2♥ bid was in favor of 
diamonds, passing could be disastrous. Of all the alternatives available to South, South 
chose one (of two) that led to the defeatable 3NT contract. The 3NT contract was lower 
scoring than the 4♠ contract , which might otherwise have been bid. 
The committee noted that North’s choice of bids was entirely unconstrained as he was in 
possession of no UI. 
Ultimately, the committee agreed with the entirety of the director’s ruling, although the 
committee pigeon-holed some of the director’s rationale into different parts of law 16 
than the director did. The committee sustained the director’s decision to allow the table 
result of 3NT by North making three, N/S plus 400, to stand.  
 
The Committee: Michael Huston (Chair), Bruce Ferguson, Chris Moll, Jacob Morgan 
and Eddie Wold. 



 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith "The director was called at the end of the auction," suggests to me that 

before the opening lead South explained that there was MI.  Given that, 
MI isn't a problem.  (In fact, I think the explanation strongly suggests the 
winning heart lead; if South doesn't have hearts and North chose 3NT over 
4♥, it's a good bet that West has hearts.  Moreover, the UI means that if 
South does have hearts, 3♦ is likely to be illegal, so a losing heart lead 
may just lead to an adjusted score anyway.)   
How about UI?  South chose 3♦, which surely is not suggested by the UI; 
he knows that 3♦ is game forcing after a transfer, so his only real shots at 
staying low are 2♠ and 2NT, which are therefore illegal.  3♦ isn't. 
I wonder at what point we ought to just agree that there is no UI here.  2♥ 
is prima facie evidence that North thought 2♦ was a transfer.  Super-
accepts of 2♦ are much rarer (has anyone ever seen a 2H super-accept of 
2♦?) than "I thought 2♦ was a transfer."  So much so that just about 
everyone will 
figure out what has happened.  Perhaps the whole world should agree that 
if playing natural responses to notrump bids, the next step is impossible, 
not a super-accept, and therefore there's no UI from partner's Alert or 
Announcement---you know he thinks it is a transfer. 
How about an appeal without merit warning (AWMW)?  I think it's close.  
N/S didn't do anything wrong, and E/W should know that.  Is this a 
complicated enough ruling that no AWMW ought to be considered?  
Probably not.  At least the appeals committee (AC) ought to tell us they 
considered and rejected an AWMW and why. 

 
Polisner I agree that it is unlikely that North would have a good five-card heart suit 

for a 1NT overcall - however, not impossible.  I would like to have seen 
the results of a peer poll with the South hand absent an Alert to the 2♦ bid.  
Once you get past this, the decision is to allow the 3♦ bid, and the table 
result stands. 

 
Rigal The best argument for letting the score stand was ‘No damage’ since West 

could and should have set 3NT and indeed had far more than enough 
information to do so. But I’m still not happy N/S did not exploit the UI, 
though maybe (since South would never pass 2♥) any action he took was 
going to lead to a better result than plus 400? I’m unconvinced. 

 
Smith Good job all around. 
 
Wildavsky A close call. I hate to allow a pair to appear to profit through the Alert 

system, but I don't fault the tournament director and AC rulings. 
 
Wolff  OK ruling. 


