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BD# 2 Patrick Galligan 
VUL N/S ♠ K J 7 6 
DLR East ♥ Q J 8 

♦ A K 4  

 

♣ K 9 6 
Nicholas Gartaganis Judith Gartaganis 
♠ T 9 4 ♠ A Q 5 
♥ A 7 6 2 ♥ T 4 
♦ J 3 ♦ Q T 5 
♣ A 5 3 2 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, CA 

♣ Q J 8 7 4 
Ash El Sadi 

♠ 8 3 2 
♥ K 9 5 3 
♦ 9 8 7 6 2 
♣ T 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♦ by S 

  1NT1 Pass Opening Lead ♠T 
Pass Dbl Pass 2♦2 Table Result Down 1, N/S -100  
Pass 2♥ Pass Pass Director Ruling 2♥ dbld, N –1, N/S -200 
Dbl Pass Pass 3♦ Committee Ruling 2♥ dbld, N –1, N/S -200 
Pass Pass Pass  

 

 
 
(1) Announced as 11-13. 
(2) Announced as transfer (to hearts). 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction. N/S play transfers over the 
double. This was noted on the convention card. South said he intended 2♦ as a transfer, 
then pulled to 3♦ when 2♥ was doubled. 
 
The Ruling: It was judged that South was Alerted to his misbid (of 2♦) by partner’s 
Announcement. There was no other logical reason for running to a nine-high five-card 
suit at a higher level. In accordance with laws 16A, 73F1 and 12C2, the result was 
adjusted to 2♥ doubled by North down one, N/S minus 200. 



 
The Appeal: N/S asserted that, when 5-4, they would transfer to the four-card major and 
run if doubled to the five-card minor. E/W did not attend the hearing. 
 
The Decision: The committee ruled that without notes definitely showing this Canapé 
treatment it must be presumed that the Alert of the 2♦ bid prompted the run-out to 3♦. 
The committee evaluated the result of 2♥ doubled such that N/S would take seven tricks. 
Therefore, the director’s adjustment of 2♥ doubled down one, N/S minus 200 was upheld. 
The majority of the committee believed that South intended 2♦ as a transfer and ran to 3♦ 
when 2♥ was doubled. However, if the N/S statement was indeed correct as to their 
agreement then the 2♦ bid as well as the 3♦ bid required Alerts as to the possible Canapé 
style. 
The committee noted that 2♣ Stayman and passing the response was also available. Had 
the methods been explained and Alerted properly, 3♦ may well have been doubled, which 
would have resulted in the same final result of minus 200 for N/S. 
The appeal was found to have merit. 
 
The Committee: Bob Schwartz (Chair), Doug Doub, Robb Gordon, Ellen Kent and 
Peggy Sutherlin.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I don't buy N/S's claims in the slightest.  North did not alert or explain the 

canapé method at the table, nor was there written evidence.  Surely anyone 
would think that 3♦ showing four hearts and five diamonds is Alertable.  
As well, the methods seem rather ineffective, and most importantly, if they 
were playing transfers and/or Stayman, why didn't South bid 2♣ the first 
time? Sorry, but my credulity does not stretch that far – appeal without 
merit warning (AWMW). 
Not only do I not buy any of this, I'm awarding N/S a 1/4 board procedural 
penalty (PP) for blatant misuse of UI. 
It took me a lot longer than one sentence to determine that it isn't at all 
probable that N/S will go down two in 2♥ doubled. 

 
Polisner Everything was well done by the director and appeals committee (AC) 

except for the non-issuance of an AWMW and probably worse, it is 
amazing to believe that the majority of the AC believed the cock and bull 
story as to the alleged Canapé agreement. 

 
Rigal N/S deserve to be taken out to the woodshed and severely slapped around 

to let them know that they can’t expect to try to pull  the wool over the 
eyes of (apparently) intelligent appeals committee members with 
impunity. ‘This is how we bid 4-5 hands indeed!’ I’d prefer to see 2♥ 
down 500 myself, and an AWMW at the very least for N/S. 



 
Smith One of the elegant things about the Laws is that they don't require us to 

believe or disbelieve players in this kind of situation.  Law 16 states: 
“After a player makes available to his partner extraneous information that 
may suggest a call or play, . . . the partner may not choose from among 
logical alternative actions one that could demonstrably have been 
suggested over another by the extraneous information.”  The 
Announcement was extraneous information, and it clearly suggested not 
sitting for 2♥ doubled.  We don't need to know any more, and we don't 
need to question South's honesty.  The decision to adjust the score is clear, 
and this appeal had no merit. 

 
Wildavsky I see no merit to this appeal. I'd have considered a PP against N/S in 

addition. 
 
Wolff  Good ruling. 


