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BD# 2 Andrew Gumperz 
VUL N/S ♠ A Q T 8 
DLR East ♥ A Q 

♦ J T 9 8  

 

♣ 6 4 2 
Bobby Levin Roy Welland 

♠ 7 ♠ K J 9 4 2 
♥ K 7 5 4 3 ♥ J 9 8 2 
♦ A Q 7 5 ♦ K 3 
♣ J 9 3 

 
 

Fall 2007 
San Francisco, CA 

♣ K Q 
Michael Corey 

♠ 6 5 3 
♥ T 6 
♦ 6 4 2 
♣ A T 8 7 5 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 1♠, dbld by North 

  1♣ Pass Opening Lead ♣K 
1♥ 1♠ Pass Pass Table Result N/S down 1, -200 
Dbl Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 1♠ dbld, N/S -200 

    

 

Committee Ruling 1♠ dbld, N/S -200 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the afternoon session. 1♣ was, by agreement, 
natural. 
 
The Ruling: In accordance with law 40 A, a player is permitted to make an intentionally 
misleading call. Since there is no evidence of a concealed understanding and West’s 
double is considered to be a normal action, the table result of 1♠ doubled, down one, N/S 
minus 200, was allowed to stand. 
 
The Appeal: North said that he believed West’s double was very unusual, since West 
would not be interested in defending 1♠ doubled. He said he had given West’s bidding 
problem to three “nationally experienced” players and no one chose to double as West 
had done. He said, “If I thought double were a usual bid, I wouldn’t be here.”  
East made no assertion that his hand was missorted. The 1♣ bid, by agreement, was 
natural.  
 



The Decision: While recognizing the eccentricity of East’s bidding, the committee noted 
that law 40 (noted by the director) gives a player the right to make intentionally 
misleading calls. As a matter of bridge judgment, the committee found nothing abnormal 
about West’s reopening double. Accordingly, the committee could find no infraction or 
impropriety on which to base an adjustment. 
Although East’s opening 1♣ bid was eccentric and his pass of the 1♠ overcall arguably 
unusual, there was nothing to indicate they were predicated on any impropriety or 
infraction. West’s 1♥ bid was ordinary and his double was hardly unusual, so there did 
not appear to be “fielding of a psych.” The director informed North that if he felt there 
should be a record of this E/W’s bidding, a player memo would be appropriate. The 
committee believed that a bridge appeals committee was not the proper venue to air this 
matter. Therefore, an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) was issued to N/S. 
 
The Committee: Barry Rigal (Chair), Michael Huston, Eugene Kales, Ed Lazarus and 
Chris Moll. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith The AC missed one major issue: How often does Welland open 1♣ on a 

two-card suit?  I know he did it against me the in the same event.  If the 
answer is "once in a while," which it appears to be, then regardless of his 
partner's knowledge of the tendency, that creates an implicit partnership 
understanding. The understanding is legal, but it must be alerted.  It seems 
likely that if North knew about that understanding he might well not have 
overcalled a four-card suit.  If 1♣ were Alerted and explained as "a 
balanced hand, possibly as few as two clubs, could have a five card 
major," many Norths might pause before entering with his hand, even 
those who would bid without the Alert.  In that case, North was damaged 
by MI and an adjusted score is required. 
We don't, however, know the answer to the first question.  If the appeals 
committee (AC) had asked and Welland had answered "it was an 
experiment; I'd never tried it before," then there's no adjustment.  If he had 
answered, "I do that once or twice a session on whim," then there was MI 
and the score is adjusted, probably to 4♥ E/W down one.  
On Page 5 of the February 2008 Bridge World, Barry Rigal reports 
Welland opening a 5332 hand 1♣. It's possible that the partnership so 
reported is playing different methods than Levin-Welland, but we have 
prima facie evidence that Welland does this when playing with Levin, 
even if they haven't discussed it expressly.  I'm sure it has come up enough 
times that Levin could know about it, even just from playing against 
Welland.  As long as Levin doesn't base his actions on the possibility, the 
only issue is MI. If he does, it's a major violation.  We have no evidence 
hereof; doubling 1♠ for takeout in a support double situation is normal. 
All in all, since I now have seen three instances that suggest that Welland 
does this often enough that his partner is aware of it, I'd rule MI and adjust 
the score.  
By the way, this is not a psych, and has nothing to do with psyching.  
The AWMW was inappropriate. 



Polisner On the surface, the appeal is without merit.  However, N/S was focusing 
on the wrong bid as West’s double was completely normal.  My 50 years 
of experience tells me that if East opened this hand with 1♣, it was not an 
aberration, but likely to be a part of an undisclosed “understanding.”  I 
would have wanted to check with the Recorder to see if this East had bid 
this way in the past. 

 
Rigal Since I was on the committee I suppose I’ll go along with the decision. 

Had it been made clear to us that this was not the first ‘short’ club by East 
during the event in partnership with Levin we might have considered 
making sure that E/W were told to Alert their club openings. But we 
weren’t aware of this at the time. 

 
Smith I agree with the directors and the committee.  West did nothing unusual 

(despite the surprising results of North's poll), so there is no evidence of 
an undisclosed agreement.  This kind of incident needs to be recorded, not 
appealed.  I am impressed with the committee for awarding an AWMW. 

 
Wildavsky Welland often makes unusual bidding decisions. No one appeals when 

they work poorly! I agree that a Player Memo was the appropriate avenue 
if N/S wished to pursue the matter. 

 
Wolff  Good ruling. 
 
 
 
 
 


