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BD# 16 Varis Carey 
VUL E/W ♠ 9 7 4 
DLR West ♥ Q 

♦ T 8 7 5 3 2  

 

♣ K 3 2 
Mitch Dunitz Ifti Baqai 

♠ Q J 6 ♠ A 8 5 
♥ A 9 4 3 2 ♥ K J 7 6 
♦ A K J ♦ 9 
♣ A 7  

 
 

Fall 2009 
San Diego, CA 

♣ Q J 9 8 6 
David Caprera 

♠ K T 3 2 
♥ T 8 5 
♦ Q 8 5 
♣ T 5 4 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♥ by West 
1♥ Pass 3♠1 Pass Opening Lead ♦7 

4NT Pass 5♥2 Pass Table Result Made 6, E/W + 1430 
6♥ Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 6♥ W down 1, E/W -100 

    

 

Committee Ruling 6♥ W down 1, E/W -100 
 
(1) East to North: ♥ fit with unspecified shortness. 

West to South: ♥ fit spade shortness (splinter) 
(2) Two keycards without ♥ queen. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after dummy was displayed and again after play had 
been completed. Screens were in use and North and South were given different 
explanations by their respective screenmates. 
After ascertaining the actual E/W agreement, the director took South away from the table 
and asked whether he might have taken a different action with the correct information 
about 3♠. South replied that he could have doubled 3♠. 
N/S methods prevent a double of 3♠ to request a spade lead if the bid shows spade 
shortness. A double of an artificial 3♠ bid would request a spade lead.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that South was given misinformation. With a spade 
lead, the contract will fail if declarer attacks clubs. The director judged that N/S was 
damaged, therefore the result was adjusted to 6♥ by West down one, E/W minus 100 for 
both sides, per Laws 21 and 12C1(e). 



 
The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s decision and all four players attended the 
hearing. 
E/W questioned the ruling for four reasons: 
1. It was not clear to double 3♠ even with correct information. 
2. Had 3♠ been doubled, West might have taken a different auction rather than bidding 
Blackwood without a second round club control. 
3. Had South been correctly informed, it would have meant that West would have also 
have known the E/W agreement and would have bid more cautiously. 
4. They felt that the adjustment was rather harsh, in that N/S were given two chances to 
achieve a good result, one by defeating 6♥ with the lead they made, and one with an 
assigned score. 
N/S contented that while not clear-cut many players would double 3♠, and that it would 
be almost universal without the ♦Q. 
The presenter, Matt Smith, noted that the directors had given the E/W hands to three 
experts and asked how they would play 6♥ on a spade lead, given an auction where South 
had received correct information and had doubled. All three took the club finesse and 
went down a trick. 
The committee asked whether a poll had been taken on doubling 3♠ with the South hand, 
given correct information. He replied that no such poll had been conducted. 
 
 
The Decision: Given correct information, two of the committee members would have 
doubled 3♠, one would have passed, and two thought it was close. All believed that 
between 40% and 60% of the field would double. West's contention that he might have 
bid differently after a double seemed without foundation. Given that he thought his 
partner had a singleton spade he'd have the same information available to him with or 
without the double. E/W's third point was dismissed as irrelevant as a matter of law. 
E/W's fourth point was similarly irrelevant. Yes, the adjustment was harsh, but that is the 
way the law is written. It is intended to provide a strong incentive to provide correct 
information, and indirectly to provide an incentive to use methods that both partners can 
remember. 
The committee judged that South would double about half the time, that E/W would 
almost surely then reach 6♥, and that declarer would very likely go off a trick on a spade 
lead. That made 6♥ down one the most favorable likely result for the non-offenders and 
the most unfavorable result that was at all probable for the offenders, so the committee 
assigned it to both sides per Law 12C1(e), as the director had. 
The committee found that the appeal had substantial merit because it was not clear to 
double with the South hand even given correct information 
 
 
The Committee: Adam Wildavsky (Chair), Chris Moll, Steve Robinson, Patty Tucker 
and Kit Woolsey. 



 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I was on N/S's team, for whatever that's worth.    The crux of the matter is 

how likely South is to double 3♠ given the right information. I did a poll 
and found that about 20% would.  That means that doubling is at all 
probable, but not likely.  So N/S get minus1430 and E/W get minus 100.  
That was my gut feeling in November, but the decision is close enough 
that the feelings of a small sample of committee members could easily 
sway it.  This is one of the few cases in which different committees could 
easily and reasonably rule three different ways.  
Ought the directors have done a poll?  Yes, but it's hard.  My poll's results 
were pretty noisy; some didn't read the conditions carefully and thought 
3♠ was a splinter. Others thought that doubling might cause partner to 
save, even if it is clearly defined as lead-directing.  Some thought that 
lead-directing at white vs. red is the same as save-inducing.  N/S were 
clear on their agreements, fortunately, but doing a poll when players might 
not interpret such agreements identically to the players at the table is likely 
not going to give convincing results. Furthermore, a poll here has to be of 
a lot of players, not just four or five.  We know that doubling is in the 
10-50% range.  To establish with a decent degree of confidence that it's in 
one of 0-17%, 17-33%, or 33%+ just cannot be done with a typically-sized 
poll during an event. 

 
Polisner Good work by all. 
 
Rigal     A subsequent poll of the South hand (away from the tournament) 

produced a VERY small sample prepared to double here. To my mind the 
call is ludicrous. Even if E/W might get landed with the slam going down 
to give it to N/S seems absurd. I’d have awarded a split score. I’m 
prepared to be harsh to E/W but not give N/S a windfall. 

 
Smith  Very good and thorough job by the committee. 



 
Wildavsky I chaired this committee and haven't found cause yet to change my mind. 

My write-up should have mentioned that N/S had notes saying that this 
double is lead directing, rather than suggesting a save. These notes were 
produced in screening -- we neglected to ask for them at the hearing. Steve 
Robinson plans to take a poll regarding doubling 3♠ with correct 
information. I hope to have the results before the casebook goes to press! 
When I saw Bobby Wolff's comment on this case I asked him "How do 
you intend for the ruling you find just to be arrived at under the Laws we 
use in the ACBL? It seems to me that law 12C1(e) is (for once) clear. The 
non-offending side gets the most favorable result that was likely had there 
been no infraction, either plus 100 or minus 1430. On what basis can we 
award them average or average plus?" 
I found his reply enlightening enough that I asked for and received 
permission to quote it: "My preference (and, of course, I, long since, have 
already switched to) is for discussing what the laws should be, rather than 
what they are.  To do otherwise would be cave dwelling, caretaking and 
Ostrich like". 
I prefer to address my comments to interpretation of existing law and 
regulation. Where I do otherwise, for instance in kvetching about our Stop 
Card policy, I try to be explicit. I'm glad to learn why Bobby feels 
differently -- it helps me put his comments in context. 

 
 
 
Wolff A very harsh but fitting ending to this set, since convention disruption  

was severely penalized, although some would have great sympathy for 
what happened.  One final word is that if this had been matchpoints 
instead of a Swiss team, since N/S did not defeat the slam it seems right to 
give E/W minus 100 in 6♥, but N/S only an average or maybe an average 
plus instead of giving them credit for defeating the slam.  To give them a 
tie for top is not to do justice under these circumstances. 

  
 


