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BD# 6 Nick Demirev 
VUL E/W ♠ K 2 
DLR East ♥ K 8 6 4 

♦ 4  

 

♣ A Q J T 7 3 
Josh Parker Bruce Rogoff 

♠ A Q 8 5 ♠ T 4 3 
♥ 7 2 ♥ A Q J 5 
♦ K Q 7 ♦ J 8 6 3 
♣ K 8 4 2 

 
 

Fall 2009 
San Diego, CA 

♣ 9 6 
Jason Feldman 

♠ J 9 7 6 
♥ T 9 3 
♦ A T 9 5 2 
♣ 5 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♣ doubled by North 

  Pass Pass Opening Lead ♠3 
1♦1 3♣ Dbl2 Pass Table Result Down 2, N/S -300 
Pass Pass   Director Ruling 3♣ dbld N down 2, N/S -300 

    

 

Committee Ruling 3♠ W down 3, E/W -300 
 
(1) Precision. 
(2) Break in tempo (BIT) of 15-20 seconds. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand was completed. There was a 
break in tempo of more than 10 seconds. N/S felt that the BIT indicated that something 
was wrong with the double and that it suggested passing rather than bidding 3♠ with the 
West hand. 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that the BIT did not demonstrably suggest passing, 
therefore there was no violation of Law 16B1(a) and the table result of 3♣ doubled by 
North, N/S minus 300 was allowed to stand. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. South was the only player not to 
attend the hearing. 
N/S argued that not only is 3♠ a logical alternative, it's the normal action. They said they 
had asked a top expert who bid 3♠ without the hesitation and considered that action to be 
completely normal. Also, because this is BAM and N/S was not vulnerable, even if they 
beat 3♣ doubled one trick it might not outscore a plus 140 available in 3♠. 
E/W said that their double promises 8 to a bad 11 HCP and at least 4-3 in the majors. If 
partner does not have four spades then 3♠ is probably a silly contract. If he has a classic 
4441 shape then the law of total tricks says that if 3♠ is making then 3♣ is going two 
down, so passing should work well. “Overall, we think that bidding is not even remotely 
close. Also, a hesitation of 12-15 seconds when we are supposed to wait 10 does not 
seem like a break in tempo.” 
 
The Decision: There was, as usual, some disagreement about the length of the hesitation. 
E/W thought it was 12-15 seconds; N/S thought it was 15-20. We judged that everyone at 
the table knew East had a problem, so even if the hesitation had been only 12 seconds 
that was an "unmistakable hesitation" and per Law 16 B1(a) UI was available. 
What did this UI suggest? This turns out to be much clearer than it is most of the time. 
E/W play a version of Precision and open most 11-counts. 
Since a hesitation in this situation tends to be either extra values or incorrect shape, and it 
cannot be extra values, it clearly indicates that East was off-shape. 
What are the logical alternatives for West? Some would pass and some would bid 3♠, so 
each are logical alternatives. The committee thought the choice was a close one. 
Does the UI suggest one logical alternative over another, less successful one?  Yes. If 
East is known to be offshape, pass is clearly suggested over 3♠. Therefore, passing was a 
violation of Law 16 and the contract must be adjusted to 3♠. The only at all probable 
result in 3♠ is down three. North will lead a minor and however N/S arrange their ruffs, 
they'll take the first seven tricks and West will claim the balance. The committee adjusted 
the score for both sides to 3♠ by West, E/W minus 300. 
Ought we assign E/W a procedural penalty for blatant misuse of UI?  No. Firstly, West 
took a normal action, perhaps even the majority action. Secondly, he judged that bidding 
3♠ wasn't a logical alternative, that passing was clear-cut. We think that is a 
misjudgment, but misjudgments do not beget procedural penalties. In 
other words, if West had carefully thought through the choices and tried carefully to 
avoid taking advantage, it was reasonable for him to conclude that his choice was correct. 
That being the case, no procedural penalty was warranted. 
 
The Committee: Jeff Goldsmith (Chair), Migry Zur-Campanile, Hendrik Sharples, 
David Stevenson and Chris Willenken. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I still buy our reasoning. 
 
 
 
 



Polisner If E/W’s statement that the double shows at least 4-3 in the majors and 8 
to a bad 11 HCPs, why did it take East more than 10 seconds to make the 
bid which accurately described his hand?  If anything, East must have 
been thinking of passing and not a weird distribution.  That being the case, 
it would make West’s pass even clearer as now the chances of game 
would be out of the question.  I agree with the committee’s decision but 
for a different reason.  Certainly this is not a case for a procedural penalty. 

 
Rigal      Alas, this was a ruling against my team-mates. Fortunately in the first 

instance we had already failed to qualify for the second day of the 
Reisinger via a split tie, and secondly the ruling seems clear-cut correct to 
me. As witness what happened in the other room in a similar position. 

 

Smith Was there UI?  I think the committee correctly decided there was.  Did it 
suggest passing instead of bidding 3♠?  The committee's analysis has 
convinced me.  Was bidding 3♠ a logical alternative?  Yes, so good job by 
the committee on this one. 

 
Wildavsky Both the director and committee rulings seem reasonable. Since the case is 

a close one, I'd have rather seen the director rule in favor of the non-
offenders. 

 
Wolff The committee simply said that, when West hears a slow negative double 

which implies a flaw, it will automatically force the responder to make the 
normal bid, judged to be 3♠, rather than the professional pass chosen.  
Good enough, but very harsh and for it to be acceptable MUST then be 
applied by other committees around the ACBL, otherwise no good will 
develop from it.  It is up to us to make sure that this happens with 
someone designated to oversee that it does.  A lot to expect, and dream 
worthy, but unlikely to happen. 

  
 


