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West North East  South Final Contract 2♦ doubled by East 

  1♦ 1NT Opening Lead ♠K 
2♦1 Pass Pass2 Dbl Table Result Made 2, E/W + 180 
Pass Pass Pass  Director Ruling 2♦ dbld E made 2, E/W + 180 

    

 

Panel Ruling 2♦ dbld E made 2, E/W + 180 
 
(1) Alerted – shows the majors. 
(2) Slow. 
 
The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction and again after play of the 
hand. East was slow in Alerting the 2♦ bid as both majors per the E/W agreement. The 
correct explanation of the E/W agreement was given even though West’s hand did not 
match the explanation and agreement.  
 
The Ruling: Since N/S received the correct explanation of E/W’s agreement, the director 
judged that West had misbid, which is not an infraction. No adjustment. Law 40C1. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision after the scores were posted. By that 
time E/W had left the playing area.  
N/S felt that they had been misinformed since the information did not match the hand 
held by West and East chose to pass 2♦ instead of bidding 2♠. They thought if they had 
been informed that 2♦ was a natural raise, the South’s reopening double would have been 
interpreted as takeout and a heart partscore would have been reached. 
When asked about the defense to 2♦ doubled, they said that the ♠K opening lead was 
ducked. South switched to the ♥K and when that held led the ♥2 to North’s ace. North 
played a third round of hearts ruffed by declarer.  
The table director said that she had checked only the part of the convention card that 
listed defense to opponents opening notrump bids. It showed that E/W played Hamilton 
(2♦ = majors) but did not indicate whether it applied over notrump overcalls. 
 
The Decision: Law 21B1(b) states that the director is to presume mistaken explanation 
rather than mistaken call in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Law 21B3 states that: 
when the director judges that the offending side gained an advantage from the 
irregularity, he awards an adjusted score. 
Law 12C1(b) states that if, subsequent to the irregularity, the non-offending side has 
contributed to its own damage by a serious error, it does not receive relief in the 
adjustment for such part of the damage as is self-inflicted. The offending side should be 
awarded the score that it would have been allotted as the consequence of its infraction 
only. 
Law 12C1(e) states that for the offending side, the score assigned is the most unfavorable 
result that was at all probable had the irregularity not occurred. 
Since the E/W pair could not be located after the session and were not at the tournament 
the following day, the panel met to consider the possibilities for N/S. It was judg4ed that 
in the defense, North’s failure to lead ten of spades after she won the king of hearts was a 
serious error, which was completely responsible for their failure to defeat the contract and 
score plus 200, which is greater than they would have obtained by the adjustment 
requested. The table result of N/S minus 180 was left unchanged. 
Two days following the appeal, one member of the E/W pair was located playing with a 
different partner. He did not have the card with him from the session in question but 
stated that Hamilton over notrump overcalls was clearly indicated on the front side of at 
least one of their cards in the area titled “Other Conventional Calls” 
Since the cards could not be produced until the following day and since the director had 
not checked that area, the table result was not adjusted for E/W. Law 82C, Director’s 
Error, states that both sides are to be treated as non-offenders in this case. 
The appeal was judged to have merit. 
 
The Panel: William Michael (Reviewer), Jay Albright (Scribe) and Gary Zeiger.  
 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner Correct result, East took a flyer which was unrelated to the information. 
 
 



 
Rigal This is of course a messy case. E/W must be assumed (because of the 

director error) not to have provided MI…. but the fact that dummy 
actually has diamonds does make this hard to judge. Anyone wrongly 
following the law of coincidence would come to a rapid conclusion: E/W a 
la lanterne! But life is not that easy. While N/S erred seriously enough for 
them not to be given redress –even if they deserved it – I wish we had seen 
a convention card properly marked in good time. 

 
Smith See my comments for case #6.  This was actually pretty simple.  I think 

the panel over-complicated it.  What caused N/S's bad score?  I think it 
was their misunderstanding as to the meaning of South's double.  So no 
need to resort to Law 12, score stands. 

 
Wildavsky Good work all around. 
 
Wolff Instead of Hamilton the convention's name is Mitchell-Stayman!  Too 

many serious errors are continuing.  After the defense of king of Hearts 
and then a second heart to the ace and the ten of spades back, all declarer 
needs to do is duck in hand, win the ace, ruff the heart in hand and then 
play the ace of diamonds and then the jack of spades (or a diamond). The 
analysis is below standard. 

  
 


