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BD# 19 897 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ K 9 7 
DLR South ♥ Q 

♦ A 7 4  

 

♣ A Q 8 6 5 2 
1,128 Masterpoints 1,829 Masterpoints 
♠ A J 2 ♠ Q T 6 5 3 
♥ 8 7 3 ♥ K J 6 5 
♦ J T 9 8 5 ♦  
♣ J 3 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ K T 9 4 
1,147 Masterpoints 

♠ 8 4 
♥ A T 9 4 2 
♦ K Q 6 3 2 
♣ 7 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♣ doubled by North 

   Pass Opening Lead ♠ 3 
Pass 1♣ 1♠ Dbl Table Result Made 3, N/S +470 

ReDbl1 2♣ Pass Pass Director Ruling 3♣ doubled N made 3, N/S +470 
2♠ 3♣ Dbl Pass Panel Ruling 3♣ doubled N made 3, N/S +470 

Pass Pass    

 

 
 
(1) Rosenkranz = a high spade honor. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after trick 8 when declarer claimed. Declarer stated, 
“You get your high clubs.” 
After a pause, declarer said, “Then my diamonds are high.” 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Facts continued. 
 
The remaining cards were: 
 
   ♠ 
   ♥ 
   ♦ A 7 4 
   ♣ Q 8 
 
♠      ♠ T 
♥      ♥ K J 
♦ J T 9 8 5     ♦ 
♣      ♣ K T 
   ♠ 
   ♥ T 9 
   ♦ K Q 6 
   ♣ 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that declarer’s statement did not constitute a line of 
play. The director judged that declare never intended to lead trump and that diamonds 
would be played first. Therefore, the director ruled that E/W gets two of last five tricks 
and N/S gets three, resulting in declarer making three. Law 70D3. 
 
The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s decision and all four players attended the 
review. 
The appellants felt that the words declarer used constituted a statement of a line of play, 
and declarer should be forced to lead a club at trick nine, which would allow East to score 
all five of the last tricks.  Declare originally simply conceded the high trump. He 
admitted that he had miscounted trump and forgotten about the trump ten. He said he was 
pointing out that the diamonds were good and were what he was planning on playing 
without leading clubs.  Four players with around 1,000 points were consulted. They were 
given the 5-card ending and were told that they were declarer in 3♣ doubled. They were 
asked to play the hand out. All four immediately led diamonds. They were asked whether 
they though leading a club was rational. All four said, “No.” 
 
 
The Decision: The panel did not believe the statements made by declarer indicated a line 
of play. Had play actually continued it is certain, or very nearly so, that diamonds would 
have been led, which would enable declarer to score three tricks. The polling suggested 
that it would be irrational for declarer to lead a trump at trick nine. Therefore, the panel 
ruled as the director had that leading a trump is not an alternative normal line of play and 
that is judged to be careless or inferior.  The panel considered whether the appeal had 
merit. Since the claim was poorly worded and if taken at face value would have resulted 
in 3♣ down three, it was judged that the appeal had sufficient merit to avoid an appeal 
without merit warning (AWMW). 
 
The Panel: Bill Michael (Reviewer), Susan Doe and Harry Falk. 
 



Commentary: 
 
Rigal I’d be ashamed to have called the TD and then to have appealed it. An 

AWM seems only just, to teach E/W about the spirit in which the game 
should be played. 

 
Polisner I agree with the ruling and the Decision; however, I want to point out that 

the word “irrational” has been removed from the footnote to Law 70.  
What should have been stated is that the polling indicated that all peers 
polled would have led Ds 

 
Wildavsky The Panel procedure looks wrong to me. Certainly leading a club would 

be irrational, but the panel knew that without asking. The question is what 
would be rational for a player who thought there was one high trump out. 
Myself I'd play a trump. If I planned to play diamonds I'd say so. Actually, 
though, that's not the question. Law 70 no longer uses the term "rational". 
It reads: 
The Director shall not accept from claimer any successful line of play 
not embraced in the original clarification statement if there is an 
alternative normal* line of play that would be less successful. 
* For the purposes of Laws 70 and 71, “normal” includes play that 
would be careless or inferior for the class of player involved. 
I disagree with the TD and Panel rulings. It could have been worse -- at 
least the Panel found merit! 

 
Wolff This hand is about a too common malady these days at tournament bridge, 

"MUCH ADO, ABOUT SHEER GREED"!  There should be a stated limit 
on what pair's can do who are seeking a good result at any cost to the 
game. 

 


