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VUL None ♠ A J 3 
DLR East ♥ Q 
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♣ K Q T 9 
J. Shah G. Venkatesh 

♠ T 8 5 ♠ Q 9 7 6 4 2 
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♦ 8 7 5 4 3 ♦ K 
♣ 6 3 2 
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♣ 8 7 5 
Gary Brown 

♠ K 
♥ K J 9 7 4 3 2 
♦ A J 
♣ A J 4 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♣ by South 

  Pass 1♣1 Opening Lead ♠ 5 
Pass 2♣2 2♠ 3♥ Table Result Made 6, N/S +920 
Pass 4♣ Pass 4♦ Director Ruling 5♣ S made 6, N/S +420 
Pass 4♠3 Pass 4NT4 Committee Ruling 5♣ S made 6, N/S +420 

¼ Board penalty to N/S 
Pass 5♣5 Pass 6♣ 

Pass Pass Pass  

 

 

 
(1) Strong artificial and forcing. 
(2) Alerted showing diamonds and a game force. 
(3) RKC for hearts and a 20 second break in tempo (BIT) 
(4) 0 or 3 controls and a 15 second BIT. 
(5) 4 minute BIT alleged by East who was watching clock. 
 
The Facts: As above there were numerous breaks in tempo during the auction. While the 
length of each may have been disputed, there was no dispute as to their presence.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that the BITs leading up to 5♣ demonstrably suggested 
bidding on and that passing 5♣ was a logical alternative. The contract was changed to 5♣ 
by South and the result of making six assigned to both sides (plus 420 N/S and minus 420 
E/W). 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision and all players except East attended 
the hearing. 
North and South both agreed that substantial time was taken on three bids.  Though they 
both felt it was not quite as long as written on the form, it was admitted that the 4♠ bid 
was approximately 20 seconds, the 4NT approximately 10-15 seconds, and the 5♣ bid 1-
2 minutes.  South did a majority of the talking, and had notes to provide to the committee. 
South stated that according to the notes, 4♠ was kickback for hearts, and 4NT showed 
zero or three heart key cards.   He did say he wasn’t sure if it was Blackwood or for 
hearts.  North said he meant it as a cue bid.  During the long huddle over 4♦, East asked 
North to please hurry, at which point South stated he said, “Hurry up. You’re giving me 
only three minutes to play this hand.”  North said he meant the 5♣ bid to be ‘pick your 
slam,’ but said he probably could have come up with a better bid to avoid confusion. 
South stated he bid 6♣ because he felt his partner was 5/5 in the minors, and he had a 
good hand in support of the minor, even though he answered his interpretation of the 
kickback bid for hearts.  The committee asked both North and South what the minimum 
point count could be for the 2♣ positive bid, and both parties said 8 plus high card points. 
 
The Decision: The committee found the three breaks in tempo were undisputed, and 
regardless of their length they were all considered well within the scope of breaking 
tempo as mentioned in Law 16 B1(a): “After a player makes available to his partner 
extraneous information that may suggest a call or play, as for example by a remark, a 
question, an unexpected alert or failure to alert, or by an unmistakable hesitation, 
unwonted speed, special emphasis, tone, gesture, movement or mannerism, the partner 
may not choose from among logical alternatives one that could demonstrably have been 
suggested over another by the extraneous information.”  As the breaks in tempo were 
clearly established, unauthorized information was available to South.  The committee 
decided that South’s bidding over 5♣ was an abuse of the unauthorized information, and 
assessed N/S an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) and a ¼ board procedural 
penalty (PP). 
 
The Committee: Ellen Kent (Chairman), Tom Peters, Bruce Reeve, Jeff Roman and Jim 
Thurtell. 
 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith f 4S was key card for hearts, 5C asked for the HQ. I agree that 6C was an 

abuse of UI; South knew from North's tempo that they weren't solidly on 
the same page.  But passing 5C is impossible.  South has a 100% normal 
5H bid.  That gives North a serious problem.  He might pass, bid 6D, or 
bid 5NT or 6NT.  It's a tough decision what North will do; I'd've liked to 
ask him out of the blue what he would have done and why. 

 
Which of those actions is likely?  Surely 6NT and 6D are likely; partner 
has preferred diamonds.  I think passing and bidding 5NT are at all 
probable, with pass's being on the borderline. So I'd rule that E/W are -920 
in 6D, and N/S is +480 in 5H, though I could get talked into +490. 



 
The appeal surely has merit; N/S are due a better score than 420.  The PP 
is also well-deserved.  You can't refuse to answer Blackwood because 
partner took forever to bid it. 

 
Polisner I’m confused.  Yes there was UI available to S.  However, in this auction, 

5 C must be forcing after he has key carded for Hs.  When you use RKC 
and possibly get a 5 H or 5 S response, 5 C cannot be an offer to play and 
therefore must be forcing - whatever else it might be, it must be forcing.  I 
would have thought that the BIT would suggest passing as it was more 
likely to have been a consideration of passing 4 NT at matchpoints.  I 
would have kept the table result and the PP is off the chart for this hand. 

 
Rigal A very difficult auction. It appears that the tempo pointed South to do 

something unusual. I’m not convinced that 5♣ is to play as opposed to 
asking for the trump queen, but it seems like there was UI and South did 
something odd. Don’t like the PP as opposed to leaving N/S with no slam. 

 
Wildavsky If 4S were in fact RKCB for H then 5C would have asked for the trump 

queen and passing would not have been logical. North intended 4S as a 
cue bid, though, in which case 5C would have been a choice of contracts. 
South testified that he was unsure as to the meaning of 4S. The TD and 
AC both judged that the UI demonstrably suggested bidding over passing. 
A lot depends on the testimony -- I won't try to second guess here 

 
Wolff We need to educate when UI comes into play.  Here these long breaks 

after partner makes bids which are hard to remember only makes bridge a 
more difficult game to play (for all) but almost an impossible one to enjoy.  
If a partnership plays a fancy system or convention and goes off course, a 
severe penalty should serve as reason to them to know their system or try 
something simple instead. 


