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BD# 14 Lloyd Arvedon 
VUL None ♠ A 7 6 
DLR East ♥ 6 5 

♦ K J 9 7 4  

 

♣ A T 2 
Jaroslaw Piasecki Grazyna Brewiak 

♠ T 9 5 4 2 ♠ K J 8 
♥ A J 7 ♥ Q T 
♦ 5 3 2 ♦ Q T 8 
♣ K 8 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ Q J 9 4 3 
Walter Schafer, Jr 

♠ Q 3 
♥ K 9 8 4 3 2 
♦ A 6 
♣ 7 6 5 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♠ doubled by West 

  2♣1 2♥ Opening Lead ♥ 6 
2♠2 2NT3 3♠ Pass Table Result Down 1, E/W - 100 
Pass Dbl Pass Pass Director Ruling 3♠ dbld W down 1, E/W -100
Pass    

 

Committee Ruling 5♦ S down 4, N/S -200 
 
(1) 10-15 with 5+ clubs and no 4-card major. 
(2) Non-forcing, not Alerted. 
(3) Alerted as showing bad diamonds or 3♥ bid. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand. 2NT was Alerted by South 
as indicated above. North had intended it as natural and did not remember whether 
good/bad was on after non-opening bids. South believed it had been discussed and that 
North had forgotten. East said she wouldn’t have bid 3♠ over an unAlerted 2NT. South 
said that if East passed, he would have bid 3♦. East said she forgot to Alert 2♠ since 
everyone in her area plays it as non-forcing. 



 
The Ruling: Given North’s hand and statement, it was determined that N/S had no 
agreement and that E/W had been given a mistaken explanation (Law 75). As per Law 
12C1(e), the auction was projected to continue Pass-3♦-Pass-Pass-Pass, down 2. 
Therefore, that result was assigned to both sides. 
Upon further investigation, E/W was unable to document that 2♠ was non-forcing. 
Assuming, as per Law 75, that 2♠ showed a good hand, 3♠ by East was judged more than 
likely, and the table result was restored. 
 
The Appeal: E/W appealed, and all four players attended the hearing. 
East said, that if 2NT were natural, she would not have bid 3♠, because her hand was so 
bad.  She also said, ”sorry, I forgot to Alert 2♠.  I knew it was Alertable.”  West said he 
might have made 3♠ doubled if he knew 2NT was natural.  In the endgame, he needed to 
guess the ♠AQ, and the MI made it more likely he'd go wrong. 
N/S disagreed with the finding of no agreement, though they were a first-time partnership 
and thought that East would bid 3♠ even with the correct information. 
South said that even if 2♠ had been Alerted, 2NT would still have been Good/Bad. 
North thought Good/Bad 2NT did not apply if we were not the opening side. 
 
The Decision: This decision was close, with many issues: 
1.  Was failing to Alert 2♠ an infraction?  Yes.  It seems pretty clear that 2♠ was non-
forcing by agreement.  East and West seemed on the same wavelength, and West's hand 
suggests strongly that he knew 2♠ was non-forcing.  
2.  Did the failure to Alert 2♠ damage the other side? No, the misunderstanding about 
2NT would almost certainly have happened anyway. 
3.  Was the explanation of 2NT an infraction?  Yes.  N/S is a first time partnership 
without clear agreement when Good/Bad 2NT applies.  North thought it was not on here; 
South was certain it was.  This is not uncommon with that convention. Law 75 instructs 
us to rule misinformation without clear evidence to the contrary, and here there wasn't 
any; in fact, there is clear evidence that North and South disagreed about their 
understanding. 
4.  Did the misinformation about 2NT damage the other side? Very close call.  It is the 
case that bidding 3♠ is more attractive with the wrong information than it is with correct 
information.  How much more likely?  The committee, after long deliberation, decided it 
was at least 30% more likely.  By the chair's reading of the Laws, that constitutes 
damage. 
5. Did the damage from the MI lead directly to the non-offending side's bad result?  Yes.  
N/S would have gone minus if East had passed 2NT.  
6. Was the UI from the mistaken explanation relevant?  No. North's actions were either 
obvious or unsuccessful thereafter. 



(Decision continued) 
7. Did the MI affect the play?  3♠ doubled making is likely to be the best result E/W can 
manage, so if they should make it, then that's the end.  No, it did not.  The play went as 
follows 
T1: ♥6-Q-K-A 
T2: ♣x-2-Q-x 
T3: ♣x-x-K-A 
T4: ♥5-T-x-x 
T5: ♣J-x-♦x-x 
T6: ♣9-♥x-♦x-♠6 
T7: ♦x-x-A-x 
T8: ♦x-♠x-x-x 
T9: ♠x-x-J-Q 
West claimed down one. 
 
By Trick 9, West knew North had ?xx xx KJ9xx A10x.  If 
he had either the ♠Q or the ♠A, he clearly had a natural 2NT, not a Good/Bad 2NT, so the 
MI was no longer relevant. 
8. If East had passed 2NT, what were the likely and at all probable results?  South says he 
would have bid 3♦, which seems reasonable.  North will now bid 3♠.  East will double. 
South will probably pass, but he might bid 3NT.  North will thereafter either drive to 5♦ 
or play 3NT.  It is possible N/S will end up in 4♥ or 6♦, but by far the most likely results 
are 3NT and 5♦.  3NT is down two.  5♦ is down four.  Will anyone double?  It's possible, 
but after long deliberation, we judged that no single doubled contract reaches the standard 
of at all probable.  A different committee might judge differently. 
9. Given all that, what's the ruling?  Law 12 says that N/S gets the most unfavorable 
result that was at all probable.  We judged that result is 5♦ down four for minus 200.  
E/W gets the most favorable result that was likely.  That result is also 5♦ down four, plus 
200 for E/W. 
10. Did this appeal have merit?  Yes.  In fact, if either side had appealed, it would have 
had merit.  This was a close case with several factors including irregularities from each 
side, so AWMWs are not in the ballpark. 
 
The Committee: Jeff Goldsmith (Chairman), Jeff Aker, Mark Feldman, Fred King and 
Bruce Reeve. 
 
Commentary: 
 
 
Goldsmith This was one of the most complicated cases I've ever seen, with 

infractions by each side.  The key question is whether the MI from the 
misexplanation of 2NT damaged E/W.  Probably it didn't, but it was likely 
enough that it did that we judged it sufficient.  The laws are not 
particularly clear on what constitutes "damage," so we had to determine 
what the standard ought to be.  I don't know for certain where the line 
should be drawn, but if damage is likely (1 time in 3), I think that's 
sufficient. If damage is at all probable (1 time in 6), it's probably not 
sufficient.  I asked the committee to come up with a percentage chance 



that the MI caused damage.  It was a very challenging assignment, and I 
think they both took it seriously and worked hard at obtaining the 
reasonable answer of 30%.  I judged that a 30% chance of damage ought 
to allow an adjusted score.  That call is certainly open to question. I'd like 
to see the next edition of the laws address this issue. 

 
Polisner A very complicated and difficult case which could have gone either way.  

My compliments to the AC which conducted a very thorough analysis of 
all of the issues and came up with a well-reasoned decision. 

 
Rigal A reasonable, if challengingly long, write-up. But all the major issues 

were sensibly considered and it is hard to argue with anything contained 
here. 

 
Wildavsky A well reasoned decision in a complex case. 
 
Wolff  Since 2 spades by West was not alerted, then the interpretation of 2NT  

was subject to different meanings.  The MOST unfavorable result to a 
transgressor is indeed sometimes to harsh a penalty and should be 
modified by an intelligent committee (or TD).  With the inviolate nature of 
some of our achtungs it is no wonder that some of our rulings seem 
surreal.  On this hand to rule down 4 is closer to sadistic than it is to right. 


