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BD# 24 25,087 Masterpoints 
VUL None ♠ J T 
DLR West ♥ K Q J 8 7 2 

♦ A J  

 

♣ A J 2 
1,582 Masterpoints 3,137 Masterpoints 
♠ A 7 5 3 2 ♠ K Q 6 4 
♥  ♥ A 6 5 4 
♦ K 5 2 ♦ 8 4 
♣ Q T 7 6 3 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ 8 5 4 
1,975 Masterpoints 

♠ 9 8 
♥ T 9 3 
♦ Q T 9 7 6 3 
♣ K 9 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♠ by East 
Pass 1♥ Pass Pass Opening Lead ♥ T 
2♥ Pass 2♠ Pass Table Result Down 2, E/W - 100 

Pass 3♥ Pass1 Pass Director Ruling 3♥ N making 4, N/S + 170 
3♠ Pass Pass Pass 

 

Panel Ruling 3♠ E down 2, E/W - 100  
 
(1) Alleged break in tempo (BIT) – not agreed. 
 
The Facts: The director was called immediately after West bid 3♠ and again after the 
play of hand was completed. 
The BIT was alleged by N/S and disputed by E/W. 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that West bid her hand when she bid 2♥ and that, if East 
couldn’t bid over 3♥, that pass by West was a logical alternative. From the auction and 
East’s hand, the director judged that a BIT was likely to have occurred. 
The contract was adjusted to 3♥ by North with a result of making four assigned to both 
sides (N/S plus 170 and E/W minus 170). 



 
The Appeal: The hand was played on the 8th round and the table director delivered the 
ruling immediately before round 13. After the session, E/W appealed the director’s 
decision. The N/S pair was not interviewed East stated that while North considered his 
third call, he had placed his folded up hand on the table. When North bid 3♥, he took 
several seconds to pick up and open his hand and then several seconds to pick up the pass 
card.  When North was interviewed, he said that East did not take several seconds to pick 
up his hand and that East took 5-10 seconds with his hand open. North also questions the 
polling procedure used by ACBL. 
 
The Decision: Six players in the A/B+ category were polled. All six took action with the 
West hand over the 3♥ bid. The panel judged that there probably was a brief BIT (less 
than 10 seconds). West, however, couldn’t be sure whether a BIT suggests a 3♠ bid or a 
double. The Panel believed there was a significant break in tempo.  However, under Law 
16 B1(a) the break must 'demonstrably suggest' an action and there must be logical 
alternatives.  Since the hesitator may be considering a double, which would not suggest a 
pull, and there is no logical alternative according to our consultants, Law 16 was not 
violated.  The key factor for the panel was that all players polled would take action. 
Therefore, pass was not found to be a logical alternative and the table result was restored 
for both pairs. 
 
The Panel: John Gram (Reviewer), Susan Doe, Peter Marcus and Tom Marsh. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Rigal The point in the poll about the winning action not being suggested is a 

reasonable one. Maybe if West had doubled to cover both bases that 
would not have been acceptable. By the way WHAT was East doing in 
this auction? I’d like to penalize him if not West. 

Polisner I am stunned that all 6 of the peers polled “took action” with the W hand 
over 3 H.  Perhaps 5 out of 6 doubled for - 630.  Any player who was only 
capable of taking 7 tricks in Spades should not be trying to declare in any 
event.  I distrust the poll and would have decided as the TD ruled. 

 
Wildavsky I prefer the TD's ruling, but given the poll results I can live with the 

Panel's. I'd prefer their stated rationale to be crisper. They should decide 
whether the UI could demonstrably suggest bidding before moving on to 
LAs. If it could not, there is no need to consider LAs. Given the East hand 
we can see that he was considering bidding -- I can't imagine why he 
passed. It seems likely to me that West could tell that that was likely what 
concerned his partner. For one thing, players who are considering 
doubling usually do double. 
I would like to see more than six players polled before we rule that there is 
no LA to an action. Firmer guidelines on polling might prove helpful. 

 
 



Wolff Whether or not on the poll taken no one passed with the West hand in this 
competitive decision East should not be allowed to get away with such a 
serious bridge crime.  At least a small PP should be given EW for West to 
be allowed to compete.  East's action was an insurance policy to West to 
go on and bid and nothing bad will happen.  Exactly the wrong message to 
send!! 


