
APPEAL NABC+ TEN 
Subject Misinformation (MI) 
DIC Terry Lavender 
Event Whitehead Women’s Pairs 
Session Second Qualifying 
Date March 18,2010 
 

BD# 16 Carole Minor 
VUL E/W ♠ J 7 4 
DLR West ♥ Q J 9 2 

♦ J T  

 

♣ K J 6 5 
Tatiana Ponomareva Victoria Gromova 
♠ A T 5 ♠ K Q 9 
♥ A 8 7 6 4 ♥ K 5 3 
♦ Q 8 5 ♦ A 6 
♣ A 7 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ Q T 8 4 2 
Cynthia Balderson 

♠ 8 6 3 2 
♥ T 
♦ K 9 7 4 3 2 
♣ 9 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♥ by West 

1♥ Pass 2♣1 Pass Opening Lead ♠ 4 
2NT2 Pass 3♥3 Pass Table Result Made 4, E/W + 620 
3♠4 Pass 4♥ Pass Director Ruling 4♥ W made 4, E/W + 620 
Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling 4♥ W down 1, E/W - 100 
 
(1) Artificial game force. 
(2) Top of minimum opening (14-15). 
(3) Asking Bid.  
(4) Shortness in spades. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand was completed. At the end 
of the auction, West attempted to correct the explanation but Dummy (East) was the only 
player to understand. East and West are Russian and this contributed to the lack of 
communication.  When the director arrived, North claimed that with the correct 
explanation, she would lead the ♦J. East claimed that 3♠ systemically shows shortness but 
may only have evidence in Russian to support that claim. 



 
The Ruling: Several players were polled; all led the ♦J with either explanation. All felt 
that the difference in information made the lead of a spade neither more nor less 
attractive. 
As E/W couldn’t provide evidence that shortness is the correct explanation, 
misexplanation (and MI) is deemed to have occurred. However, when the MI causes no 
damage to the non-offending side and does not advantage the offending side, as the 
polling indicates, there is no adjustment. Therefore the table result of 4♥ by West making 
four, E/W plus 620 was allowed to stand for both sides. 
 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision, and North and South were the only 
players present at the hearing. 
North stated that she felt that the jack of diamonds was a possibility and was going to be 
her lead until it was explained that 3♠ showed shortness. Then it seemed to her that a 
spade lead through dummy would combine safety with the potential for tapping declarer.  
 
The Decision: The committee found that the directors correctly assessed the MI aspect of 
this case. However, we judged that North was less likely to have led a spade with correct 
information. The poll result made no sense – a spade lead is clearly more attractive when 
declarer has shown short spades. Accordingly the committee changed the score for the 
offending side. In considering the result for the non-offending side, we found that a spade 
might be inferior but did not meet the standard of a serious error per Law 12c1(b), so we 
adjusted their score as well. 
The committee adjusted the result for both sides to 4♥ by West down one - E/W minus 
100 and N/S plus 100. 
 
The Committee: Aaron Silverstein (Chairman), Abby Heitner, Ed Lazarus, Tom Peters 
and Jeff Roman. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Why is a spade inferior given the explanation? North planned a tapping 

defense, and her hand makes it look like it ought to work.  N/S were 
clearly damaged.Good job, AC. 

 
West needed to correct the explanation unless she was 100% certain that 
the explanation was correct, and that she could prove it.  If E/W had 
system notes in Russian that proved it, why didn't the director get a 
translator?  There were plenty of Russian-speaking players at the 
tournament. 

 
If, in fact, 3S didn't systemically show shortness, then E/W are due a 1/4 
board PP for failing to speak up before the opening lead.  They are quite 
sufficiently experienced to know their responsibility here. 

 
Polisner N did nothing to protect herself when it was obvious that W was trying to 

tell them something which was about 95% likely (in my opinion) to be 
about her 3 S bid as explained.  I agree with the ruling and would only be 



slightly inclined to award a split score leaving N/S with the table result 
and E/W with -100. 

 
Rigal Excellent decision and although I hate to over-rule the poll it was clearly 

in error; a spade lead is made far more attractive if West is known to be 
short.  

 
Wildavsky The AC corrected an injustice 
 
Wolff This ruling seems correct since I think CD needs to be penalized out of 

existence.  Playing a fancy system only makes it imperative that both 
partner's NEVER give a wrong explanation, but if so they will pay the 
price. 

 
 


