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BD# 25 800 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ T 9 
DLR North ♥ K Q 8 2 

♦ A 9  

 

♣ A K J 9 5 
1,727 Masterpoints 85 Masterpoints 
♠ A Q J 4 3 ♠ 8 5 
♥ J 9 5 ♥ 6 4 3 
♦ T 7 6 3 ♦ K 8 5 
♣ 6 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ Q T 7 4 2 
1,087 Masterpoints 

♠ K 7 6 2 
♥ A T 7 
♦ Q J 4 2 
♣ 8 3 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 2NT by South 

 1♣ Pass 1♠ Opening Lead ♦ 6 
Pass 2♥ Pass 2NT Table Result Made 3, N/S + 150 
Pass Pass1   Director Ruling 2NT S made 3, N/S + 150 

    

 

Panel Ruling 2NT S made 3, N/S + 150 
 
(1) Attempted to change the pass to 3NT. 
 
The Facts: The director was called when North, at his third turn to call, put a pass card 
on the table and then withdrew it. North said he made the wrong bid and placed the 3NT 
card on the table. 
 
The Ruling: In accordance with Law 25, the director ruled that pass was an intentional 
call and, since East did not accept the 3NT bid, the change of call was disallowed and a 
pass was imposed. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision and all four players attended the 
review. 
North said he pulled out the pass card, put it on the table (or very near the table) and then 
immediately pulled it back and put the 3NT card out. He said it was inadvertent that he 
passed and called it a mechanical error. He also said this problem would not occur 
without bidding boxes (i.e. he would have changed his verbal bid without pause for 
thought). He said the ACBL was incorrectly interpreting Law 25’s use of “unintended” 
and should allow such clear mistakes to be corrected so as not to skew the field. 
 
The Decision: ACBL regulations and the law are clear. The pass card was placed on the 
table and then changed to 3NT; the pass was ruled intentional (not inadvertent) and the 
3NT was not accepted by East. 
North wanted the panel to change or ignore ACBL policy, which the panel refused to do. 
Therefore, the director’s decision was upheld. 
Despite being told the law and ACBL policy on mechanical errors relating to changes of 
call, particularly involving the two different parts of the bidding box, North was adamant 
in wanting to pursue the appeal to a hearing. Therefore, the panel issued an appeal 
without merit warning (AWMW). 
 
The Panel: Peter Marcus (Reviewer), Bernie Gorkin, Candace Kuschner and Jean 
Molnar. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Rigal  Nicely handled by panel and TD. On the facts as stated this was clear-cut. 
 
Polisner Law 25 B is clear and pursuing an appeal after being explained the law 

deserves the AWMW 
 
Wildavsky Looks right to me. I would like to see the ACBL's policy quoted verbatim 

when making a ruling like this. 
 
Wolff  I realize that the ACBL and this committee were following its own  

rules, but I think that the rules should be changed so that if either a  
mental error or a mechanical mistake occur (too small a difference in  
their interpretation) and it would be easily correctable with no UI given,  
then in the interest of bridge it should be allowed. NO HARM,  NO 
FOUL! 


