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BD# 3 3,500 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ T 8 5 2 
DLR South ♥ Q 3 

♦ A Q 3  

 

♣ J 9 7 3 
5,200 Masterpoints 5,500 Masterpoints 
♠ A Q 9 6 4 ♠ K J 7 3 
♥ T 9 ♥ A K 8 
♦ 5 ♦ J 8 4 
♣ K T 8 5 2 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ A 8 4 
6,500 Masterpoints 

♠  
♥ J 7 6 5 4 2 
♦ K T 9 7 6 2 
♣ Q 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3NT by East 

   Pass Opening Lead ♦ T 
Pass Pass 1NT 2♠1 Table Result Down 2, E/W - 200 
3NT Pass Pass Pass Director Ruling 3NT E down 2, E/W - 200 

    

 

Panel Ruling 3NT E down 2, E/W - 200 
 
(1) Alerted as showing spades and a minor, which is the partnership agreement. 
 
The Facts: The director was called when dummy was faced and after the play was 
completed. 
N/S’s agreement above is documented on each player’s convention card.  
 
The Ruling: North has no UI. South has UI but it did not suggest a particular action. 
There was no MI. 
Therefore, the table result was allowed to stand (Law 75C). 



 
The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s decision and all four players attended the 
review. 
West was told that South had spades and a minor. She did not want to “give away” her 
spade holding, so just bid 3NT. She had no response to a question about concern for the 
opponents having long diamonds and East not having, potentially, a diamond stopper. 
N/S play suction in NABC+ events where 2♠ shows hearts and diamonds. They play 
Cappelletti where 2♠ shows spades and a minor in General Chart (GC) events. They each 
had both convention cards, but the GC card was their visible card in each player’s 
convention card holder. South had forgotten but North Alerted correctly.  In screening 
West felt South had played an illegal convention (suction) and would not listen to, or 
read, an explanation of the difference between a mistaken bid and a mistaken xplanation. 
 
The Decision: Since North properly explained N/S’s agreement for the event in which 
they were playing, there was no MI. Further, the panel felt that West’s 3NT bid was 
inexplicable. Three players with between 5,000 and 5,500 masterpoints were given 
West’s hand and none bid 3NT. Two felt that it was bad bridge. One player passed, one 
doubled and one bid 3♣.  The panel allowed the table result to stand.  E/W had a difficult 
interaction with the table director, so the committee at the reviewer’s urging, did not 
assess an appeal without merit warning (AWMW), even though all members agreed the 
appeal had no merit. 
 
The Panel: Peter Marcus (Reviewer), Bernie Gorkin, Candace Kuschner and Jean 
Molnar. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Rigal Something with a little boiling oil in it seems appropriate for East and 

West. Again the N/S accident rated to get them into -1100 territory; they 
got lucky and that’s an end of it…except for the AWM. 

 
Polisner It is correct that there was no MI as the presumption is overcome by N/S’s 

convention card.  The issue of UI, as the TD ruled, did not affect N.  
However, I question that TD’s conclusion that the UI gained from N did 
not suggest a particular action.  My guess is that if the auction had 
proceeded behind screens, (assuming that the screen was misplaced and S 
and E were screen mates), a poll would reveal that at this vulnerability and 
a 6-6 hand, that S would take another bid.  In light of the actual auction, 
and the previous message he has sent about Ss, it is much less likely that S 
would not think about bidding.  So, if a significant number of peers would 
bid over 4 Ss, I would award E/W + 100 as it seems impossible for them 
to get into Spades + 650.  If nobody would bid over 3NT with no UI, then 
the decision is correct. 

 
 
Wildavsky I agree that this appeal had no merit 



Wolff When CD strikes, BRIDGE ALWAYS STOPS!  Consequently, too many 
unseemly things happen and we should restore the status quo, EW 
Average NS Zero and an admonition about learning one's system. 


