APPEAL NABC+ SIX
Subject Unauthorized Information (Ul)- Tempo
DIC Henry Cukoff
Event Rockwell Mixed Pairs
Session Second Final
Date March 17, 2010
BD# 23 Cameron Doner
VUL | Both o |T872
DLR | South vy K7543
4
& K763
Helen Abbott Dan Romm
o |[J65 o AK9
vy AQT Spring 2010 v
¢ |[A953 Reno, NV ¢ |KQ87642
& (QJT & [A92
Bernace De Young
o Q43
vy (J9862
¢ (JT
& 854
West | North | East | South Final Contract 7NT by West
Pass Opening Lead A club
1¢ | Pass | 5%' | Pass Table Result Made 7, E/W + 2220
54° | Pass | 66 | Pass Director Ruling 7NT W made 7, E/W + 2220
6NT | Pass | 74 | Pass Committee Ruling 6¢ W made 7, E/W + 1390
TNT | Pass | Pass | Pass

(1) | Exclusion Blackwood, No Alert.

(2) | Agreed break in tempo (BIT) of more than 40 seconds.

The Facts: The director was called at the end of the auction and again after the hand was
played to conclusion.
There was more than a 40 second hesitation (N/S said one minute) before West bid 54.
South mentioned that she thought East made some extraneous gestures while bidding 64-
this was disputed by East. West said the delay in the 54 bid was due to the rarity of the
bid and trying to remember the response.

The Ruling: Since the director judged that the BIT did not demonstrably suggest the 74
bid, the table result of 7NT by West making seven, E/W plus 2220 was allowed to stand
for both pairs. Law 16B1(a).




The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision and all four players attended the
hearing.

South briefly reiterated the facts mentioned on the appeals form. The area of major
dispute involved the hesitation over the 54 bid accompanied by a shrug, followed by a 64
bid. South stated she heard mumbling, but did not discern what was said. North
confirmed the purported 6-10 second hesitation and stated he definitely heard inaudible
muttering followed by a shrug prior to the 64 bid.

West spoke first. She stated it was all her fault for taking so long to bid. She said though
she has been playing Exclusion Blackwood for five years, it never comes up. She said she
needed the time to remember how to answer properly, that is, whether the partnership had
agreed to use 1430 responses. She additionally said she did not know that the usage of the
bid at the five level required an Alert. East spoke saying he was quite concerned his
partner had forgotten the bid, and was afraid she would pass. He added he had been
playing the bid for six years, so he felt he was more experienced. He first said he gave a
slight shrug and then an exhale of air when West bid, but later said it was actually an
internal shrug and not a breathing that could be noticed by anyone at the table. He
vehemently denied taking any time making the 64 bid. West then stated that she thought
with the heart ace-queen she felt she could make 6NT as easily as 64. When East then bid
7¢, West felt 7NT was clear. When asked when the table director was called, East said
after the play of the hand, then after the opening club lead, and then said he didn’t
remember. North and South were both adamant that the director was called when the
bidding cards were on the table, which was confirmed by West.

The Decision: The committee considered both breaks in tempo. The first, prior to the 5%
bid, was undisputed. The second, coupled by a shrug and exhaling of air was disputed,
and one the committee needed to evaluate seriously. In making its determination, the
committee needed to decide whether there was a discernible shrug and exhaling of air.
The committee felt that East was in doubt over West’s bidding correctly, and therefore
making the alleged 6-10 second huddle likely. Additionally, it believed that East had
given inconsistent testimony, thereby making a noticeable shrug and exhaling of air
probable. The committee then referenced Law 16 B1(a): “After a player makes available
to his partner extraneous information that may suggest a call or play, as for example by a
remark, a question, an unexpected alert or failure to alert, or by an unmistakable
hesitation, unwonted speed, special emphasis, tone, gesture, movement or mannerism, the
partner may not choose from among logical alternatives one that could demonstrably
have been suggested over another by the extraneous information.” The committee found
that UI was available that demonstrably suggested bidding over 64, and that pass was a
logical alternative. Since the criteria of Law 16 B1(a) had been met, the committee
adjusted the score for both sides to 64 making seven.

The Committee: Ellen Kent (Chairman), Tom Peters, Aaron Silverstein, Jim Thurtell
and Bob White.

Commentary:



Goldsmith

Polisner

Rigal

Wildavsky

Wolff

I'd rule 6NT making 7. West has a totally obvious 6NT bid. Partner is
void in hearts, and West has the AQ protected from the lead. Furthermore,
East's behavior doesn't suggest bidding 6NT. It suggests (OK,
demonstrates openly) that he's irritated that his partner didn't know what
5H meant, and that is irrelevant to the final result. 7D, however, was
clearly suggested over passing 6NT by the Ul from the long huddle over
5H, so it's not allowed.

As an aside, 5SH is oddly alertable, but many wouldn't know that, thinking
that "all ace-asking bids are not alertable" covers all situations, or maybe
that the ask is above 3NT makes it not immediately alertable. In fact,
because the ace-ask occurs before opener's rebid, it is alertable.

Is East's 7D bad enough to get a PP? I think it is. If West had alerted 5H,
then bid in reasonable (3-4 seconds) tempo, then had corrected 6D to 6NT,
East would never do anything but pass; he knows he is off the diamond
ace. Therefore, 7D was a blatant abuse of UI. A 1/4 board PP is
appropriate. I could even go with a half board, given East's histrionics. I
think the hardest decision on this case is the size of the PP.

One of the worst writeups I have seen making a considered opinion about
the AC’s decision more difficult. The facts do not mention anything about
an alleged BIT or other extraneous information by E before the 6 D bid.

In any event, what did it suggest if it did occur? If W had bid 70 over 6 D,
we would have a difference issue; however, correctly to 6 NT at Mps
seems routine. I agree with the ruling and vehemently oppose the AC’s
decision.

I do not see any link between the extraneous information available to West
and the 6NT call. Nor does the write-up suggest what information the
committee thought WAS inferred from the shrug. That is a pity. I’d let the
table result stand — since I can’t see a reason to penalize East. My guess is
that East was just happy he did not have to play 54!

The AC seems to have been more thorough in its fact-finding than the TD.
This should not surprise us -- the AC has more time to interview the
parties. Given then facts as discovered by the AC the ruling seems clear. |
have some sympathy for the 6NT bid. I don't think 6N could be much
worse that 6D, but since many players would pass 6D had no Ul been
available, and the UI demonstrably suggests bidding on, we cannot allow
the 6N bid to stand.

The normal playing luck (NPL) on this hand requires minus 2220 to stand
for N/S. 1 would rule that E/W would get plus 2220 minus a procedural
penalty thought necessary by the committee. In this way all masters are
served, (N/S, E/W, PTF and please keep in mind that if the king of clubs is
in the other hand, then no committee since the down one would have been
gobbled up by N/S. "When will we ever learn")!!






