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BD# 23 Norman Rubin 
VUL Both ♠ T 6 2 
DLR South ♥ 7 5 

♦ 4  

 

♣ K 9 8 6 5 4 2 
Rick Roeder Gary Soules 

♠ Q J 7 5 ♠ A K 8 3 
♥ Q T 8 ♥ K J 4 3 
♦ J 5 3 ♦ A 8 7 
♣ A Q 3 

 
 

Spring 2010 
Reno, NV 

♣ J 7 
Jonathan Green 

♠ 9 4 
♥ A 9 6 2 
♦ K Q T 9 6 2 
♣ T 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♣ by North 

   1♦ Opening Lead ♠ A 
Pass 3♣1 Pass Pass Table Result Down 3, N/S - 300 
Pass    Director Ruling 3NT W made 4, E/W + 630 

    

 

Committee Ruling 3NT W made 4, E/W + 630 
 
(1) Preceded by a break in tempo (BIT).. 

Alerted and explained as natural and invitational. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand was completed. 
South’s convention card showed “3♣/1♦ invitational.” North’s did not. Both convention 
cards had “weak jump shifts not in competition” checked. All four players agreed there 
was a BIT before the 3♣ bid. North stated that his BIT was from attempting to remember 
their agreement for 3♣ and whether a weak 3♣ was reasonable at this vulnerability. 
 
The Ruling: It was determined that N/S had no agreement based on the evidence and 
Law 21B1(b) applied. In accordance with Laws 21B3 and 12C1(e) an adjusted score was 
awarded to both sides of 3NT by West making four, E/W plus 630.                                                                   



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. All four players attended the hearing. 
South stated that he misinformed E/W of the meaning of the 3♣ bid. North stated when 
the bidding was over that he had made a mistake in the bidding – i.e. that the 3♣ bid 
(which he meant as preemptive) was not part of the N/S agreement. South had his card 
marked “3♣/1♦ inv.” but North did not. North said he couldn’t remember their 
agreement. North subsequently changed his convention card to agree with South’s. N/S 
felt that, if they were ruled against for misinformation to E/W, a different score should be 
assigned other than 3NT making four. N/S felt that E/W could have reasonably arrived at 
4♠, a much inferior contract. 
E/W said that if the 3♣ had been Alerted and explained properly, East would have 
doubled. West felt that with 4333 distribution and the AQ of clubs that he would have bid 
3NT. 
 
The Decision: The committee found that the screening director had fully and properly 
explained the law to the players. The committee judged that the reason for the appeal was 
without foundation. The committee considered a result of 3♣ doubled by North down 
three (N/S – 800). However, in screening it never occurred to West to pass 3♣ doubled, 
so that result was not considered to be at all probable. 
The committee found that the contract of 3NT by E/W was “at all likely” per Law 
12c1e(ii). Therefore, the committee adjusted the result for both sides to 3NT W made 
four, E/W plus 630. 
An appeal without merit warning (AWMW) was issued to North and South. 
 
The Committee: Ed Lazarus (Chairman), Abby Heitner, Eugene Kales, Ellen Kent and 
Jim Thurtell. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith Well done 
 
Polisner Was this a misbid or MI?  I don’t see where the MI (if any) comes into 

play.  The TD correctly rules MI rather than misbid based on N/S being 
unable to overcome the burden of proving that it was a misbid.  The 
AWMW was warranted. 

 
Rigal Excellent decision all round. It seems as if N/S did not understand that 

once the infraction had taken place they get the worst of it and their 
opponents get the best of it. I think the fact that E/W did not mention the 
possibility of defending should not prevent the committee from 
considering it on their behalf. After all the auction was one that did not 
actually occur at the table. 

 
Wildavsky No merit -- good work all around 
 
Wolff It is okay for N/S to go minus 630 since their alert procedure had broken 

down with improper convention disruption (CD), however it does seem 
that E/W did not deserve better than what they achieved at the table plus 



300.  For East not to have made a takeout double is hard to accept and also 
their plus 300 would be much better than they would have gotten for down 
at 4♠ (a very possible final contract).  To give them plus 630 is not logical, 
not equitable and not protecting the field (PTF).  WE NEED TO 
CHANGE AT LEAST IN THIS AREA (which would, of course, mean 
changing the wording of the laws). 

  
 
 


