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@)

No immediate Alert.

2)

In response to question, North said 2% was natural and game forcing. Upon seeing
that she had opened 14, she corrected the explanation immediately to Sspades, 4
hearts and 5-9 HCP, which is the actual agreement.

The Facts: The director was called after the play of the hand had been completed. The
corrected information given by North was the actual partnership agreement.

The Ruling: Except for the failure to Alert the 2% bid, which caused no damage, there
was no MI. Therefore the table result was allowed to stand.




The Appeal: E/W appealed the director’s decision and all four players attended the
review. After North bid, East asked the meaning of the 2% bid and was told it was natural
and game-forcing, North then corrected herself and said it was mini-reverse Flannery
showing five spades and four hearts with 5-9 HCP. This was the first board of the game
and North said that she was working with the ACBL scoring device. She forgot she had
opened 14 thinking she had opened 14, so 2% was natural, two over one. Before East
called, North realized her mistake and corrected her explanation. The convention was
clearly printed on both North’s and South’s convention card.

The Decision: The panel determined that no incorrect information was given to E/W
other than the original “natural, game-forcing” explanation, which was corrected
immediately. South had forgotten their agreement (he only plays it with this partner) and
North’s explanation is consistent with her 3% bid (if she had realized, before she bid,
what 2% was, she would have bid 24, their 5-3 fit, or 34 not 3%, their 4-3 fit).

While unfortunate, N/S committed no rules infraction; therefore, no adjustment is
warranted. The appeal was judged to have merit.

The Panel: Peter Marcus (Reviewer), Susan Doe, Tom Marsh and Jean Molnar.
Commentary:

Rigal: Since none of us believe in Convention Disruption, we all have to live
with this, happily enough, don’t we? Did South do anything wrong by
forgetting her convention? I don’t think so. Are N/S supposed to be
penalized for their accident — hardly. Everyone gets lucky once in a while,
and this was their day. Yes E/W are hard done by — but life isn’t fair.

Polisner: This is not a MI case and should have been treated as a Ul case. Without
the explanation(s) provided by N, S should assume that N was making a
game try opposite a WJS. With a 7" Heart and a useful void, the contract
should be 4 H down 1. I would have also supported a PP against S.

Wildavsky  Both the TD and the Panel unaccountably missed the Ul aspect of the
case. South, who intended to show a WJS, had unauthorized information
that suggested passing over bidding. She was required to bid if it would
have been a logical alternative. Bidding seems logical enough to me -- 4H
would be almost cold opposite as little as
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North would correct to 4S and South might try SH. EW would score at
least 200, more likely 500 or 700. I'd adjust to NS +500/EW-500, but it
makes little difference. +200 would surely be a top for E/W.



Wolff: When CD is committed (in addition to not responding to what North
thought South's bid to be) it cannot be left unpunished since it is a
Typhoid Mary infection which will only spread if left unchecked.
Whatever else this committee does it MUST penalize NS for this blatant
CD.



