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West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ by East 

   P Opening Lead ♣9 
P P 1N 2♦1 Table Result Made 4, EW +420 
P2 2♥3 2♠ P Director Ruling 4♠ made 4, EW +420 
4♠ P P P 

 

Panel Ruling 4♠ made 4, EW +420 
 
(1) Alerted and explained as Diamonds and a Major 
(2) West asked for an explanation of the 2D bid 
(3) Alerted and explained as pass or correct 
 
The Facts:   North-South called the Director at the conclusion of the hand 
asserting that West’s question about the 2♦ bid and subsequent pass conveyed 
unauthorized information.   
 
The Ruling:   The Director ruled that even if there was unauthorized information 
conveyed by West, pass by East was not a logical alternative as defined by Law 16B, so 
the result stands.  The Director polled a number of players about this auction and found 
that most players bid with the East hand. 
 
The Appeal:  North-South appealed the Director’s ruling and North, East, and 
West attended the Panel hearing.  North argued that West conveyed unauthorized 
information by asking about the meaning of the 2♦ bid and then passing.  North admitted 



that West didn’t pause, squirm, or show any signs of discomfort at his turn to bid.  North 
based his request for an adjustment solely on the fact that West had asked the question 
and East had resulting unauthorized information.  East reported that he bid 2♠ because he 
had better than a standard 1N opening.  East stated that he didn’t open 1♣ and rebid 2N 
because of his heart holding.  West reported that he jumped to 4S because he assumed his 
partner had five spades.  
 
The Decision:  The Appeals Panel decided that this situation was an interpretation 
of ACBL Regulations and thus the province of the DIC of the tournament.  The DIC’s 
policy statement reported, “The act of asking for an explanation of an alerted call 
immediately after the alert is made can not, in and of itself, be deemed to convey 
unauthorized information.”  Therefore based on this policy, the Panel ruled that the result 
stands.  North was informed by the Panel of the policy but chose to pursue the appeal 
anyway.  An Appeal Without Merit Warning (AWMW) was given to North because the 
appeal was pursued despite the warning that it could not succeed. 
 
The Panel: Charlie McCracken (Chairman), Harry Falk, and Jean Molnar. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Bramley: The no-merit limbo bar has been lowered to the floor with this one.  Even 
the Panel finally got the message. 
 
Goldsmith: No Merit. 
 
Rigal:  There are two issues here; the first is that as the regulations currently stand 
West did not convey UI to East. The second is that it was deemed (and I agree) that 
passing the East cards at the second turn was not a Logical Alternative. Note that in any 
event West would not have sold out at his next turn. Given that the position was properly 
explained to N/S the AWM seems properly allocated. 
 
Wildavsky: I disagree that there is no logical alternative to bidding 2♠. Pass 
would be logical enough. That is not relevant here. East has no UI, so he was entitled to 
bid as he pleased. 
 
I wonder whether North might have learned his bridge on foreign shores. The English 
Bridge Union has a rule, foolish in my opinion, that asking and then passing is deemed to 
convey UI. Since our rule is the opposite, and was clearly explained as such, there was no 
merit and finally the panel agrees. That's one for five so far. 
 
Wolff:  Obviously East committed no ethical crime and should be permitted to 
score up 4 spades making.  However, it seems incredible to me that the original TD plus 
the 3 panel members failed to see that NS should have defeated 4 spades by merely 
giving partner a club ruff by returning his opening lead, after winning the ace of spades 
as soon as possible.  Our desire for credibility cannot be successful if all the TD's missed 
such an obvious capper to the argument.  Perhaps the TD staff should take more time 
before jumping to some conclusion which, at least in this case stays in second place 



behind NS failing to defeat a baby hand.  It is one thing for NS to not see it, but quite 
another very serious matter for the TD's involved (4 out of 4) to not. 
 
 


