APPEAL | Non-NABC+ THREE
Subject Misinformation
DIC Gary Zeiger
Event 0-1500 LM Pairs
Session First Qualifying
Date 7/23/10
BD# 2 450 Masterpoints
VUL | NS & |96
DLR E v | KJT9652
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& | KO3
1219 Masterpoints 1067 Masterpoints
s |Q5 s |AJ42
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& | KT873
v
¢ | KQJ987
& |82
West | North | East | South Final Contract 44 Doubled by South
1o P Opening Lead +3
IN | 2¢ | Dbl'| 2e Table Result Down 2, NS -500
P 3v | Dbl 44 Director Ruling 44 doubled down 2, NS -500
P 44 Dbl P Panel Ruling 44 doubled down 2, NS -500
P P
| (1) | Card showing
The Facts: North-South called the Director after the hand was completed. The

Director determined that North asked about East’s first double in the auction. West told
North-South that East’s first double was card showing, not penalty.

The Ruling: The Director ruled that it was not clear that there was
misinformation. In addition, even assuming that there was misinformation, North’s
second call and South’s subsequent calls were unrelated to the misinformation. Law 21
doesn’t apply since any possible misinformation didn’t influence North-South’s actions.



The Appeal: North-South appealed the Director’s ruling. All four players were
present at the hearing. North argued that the first double should have been described as
penalty, in which case he would have passed 24. East-West argued that the first double
was card showing and East just happened to have hearts. West reported that he would
have bid 3# if South hadn’t bid 24.

The Decision: The Panel reported that they gave the North hand to four players in
the 500-800 masterpoint range. All four players polled passed 24. All four players were
also asked if the meaning of the first double was relevant to their decision, and all four
reported that they would pass whatever the meaning of the first double.

Therefore, since bidding vs. passing was not deemed to be
influenced by the meaning of the double, Law 21 Misinformation was not applied and the
Director’s ruling was upheld.

The Panel:  Bernie Gorkin (Chairman), Bill Michael, and Peter Marcus.
Commentary:

Bramley: No merit. Hopeless whining. I can’t believe they found four players who
passed 24 doubled. South could not bid over 14, and North is looking at a pretty good
suit of his own. Would the Panel have decided differently if all of the pollees had bid
3¥? Let’s hope not.

Goldsmith: No Merit.

Rigal: I am not sure there was MI, and the polled players’ decisions make the
Panel’s decision seem appropriate. In particular South’s 44 call seems worthy of some
special Darwin Award.

Wildavsky: Given West's interpretation of the double, it surprises me that he did not
bid 34 over 24. That said, I have no quarrel with the TD and Panel rulings.

I don't see the merit in the appeal. The only reason I have to doubt that the explanation
was accurate is West's failure to bid, and that it was not mentioned in the appeal. In any
case, while misunderstandings about these doubles are common, out and out deceit is
rare. Did NS really believe that EW had a secret agreement to play this double as penalty
while explaining it as card showing?

Wolff: An Appeals committee should never be used in order to correct original
bad bridge. Ruling is correct.



