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BD# 32 231 Masterpoints 
VUL E/W ♠ A Q 7 
DLR West ♥ T 8 

♦ K T 9 5 4  

 

♣ 9 7 5 
222 Masterpoints 283 masterpoints 

♠ T 8 ♠ K J 9 4 3 
♥ 9 7 5 3 2 ♥ A 
♦ J 7 3 ♦ A Q 8 6  
♣ 8 3 2 

 
 

Summer 2007 
Nashville, Tennessee 

♣ Q 6 4 
167 Masterpoints 

♠ 6 5 2 
♥ K Q J 6 2 
♦ 2 
♣ A K J T 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 3NT by North 
Pass Pass 1♠ 2♥ Opening Lead ♠4 
Pass 2NT Pass 3NT Table Result 3NT down 3, N/S -150 
Pass Pass Pass  Director Ruling 3NT down 3, N/S -150 

    

 

Panel Ruling 3NT down 3, N/S -150 
 
 
The Facts:  The play went ♠4 to the ten and queen.  ♥T to the ace, ♠K ducked and 
another spade to the ace, West pitching the ♣2.  North now asked what signaling method 
E/W used and was told “odd-even”.  He then played a club to the ten and, since he plays 
suit preference with his odd-even discards, assumed West had to have the ♦A for her ♣2 
play.  He played a diamond to the king for down three.  
 
The Ruling:  Initial ruling was 3NT making three, N/S plus 400.  After consultation, this 
was changed per Law 40C, which was not violated, so no redress for N/S and the table 
result was allowed to stand, 3NT down three, N/S minus 150. 



 
The Appeal:  North was the only player to attend the hearing.  He was adamant that the 
only way to play odd-even discards was with suit preference.  He then said “Bridge is a 
game of rules” and was very disappointed that the directors would not back him up.  His 
opponents did not know how to play odd-even, so in their ignorance he was misinformed. 
He was lied to. 
It was pointed out that after the club discard, all he had to do was cash the ♣A to see if 
the suit came home. 
 
The Decision:  The panel thought North to be rather disingenuous to trust his opponent’s 
carding.  He had an easy route to nine tricks and the best he could do after the diamond 
play was break even.  The panel restored the table result of N/S down three, minus 150. 
N/S were not given an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) because of the change of 
the initial table ruling.  
 
The Panel:  Charles MacCracken (Reviewer), Patty Holmes, Millard Nachtwey, Tom 
Whitesides and Gary Zeiger. 
 
Players Consulted: None. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Polisner I thought that the directors consulted before issuing a ruling.  If not, they 

should.  If a correct ruling was given initially and then appealed, an 
AWMW would be warranted. 

 
Rigal North has a point -- technically though it is a ‘Miserable And Pettifogging’ 

one. Odd-Even discards mean that odd cards are encouraging and even 
cards are discouraging and suit-preference. But, even if there was MI (and 
here there arguably was if West’s even cards are simply discouraging), 
there was no damage. There is no reason for declarer to do anything but 
test a second round of clubs before diamonds -- then he will know what he 
needs to do. (And West could have had the ♦Q instead of the ace). Had the 
initial ruling gone the other way this would be an easy AWMW.  

  
Smith  A clearly correct panel decision in a case that I'm sure required tactful 

handling. 
 
Wildavsky Fair enough. 
 
Wolff  Certainly a correct ruling by the committee.  Typical nerdy thinking by the 

declarer - e.g. he, the declarer, had the right to get the picture perfect 
signal from the opponents and if not and the signal was incorrect, the 
declarer was entitled to redress.  I cannot imagine a person more off base, 
but, sadly, he probably represents a fair portion of what some people 
believe. Pity! 

 
 


