APPEAL

Non-NABC+ Four

Subject Misinformation (MI)
DIC Millard Nachtwey
Event LM-5000 Pairs
Session First Qualifying Session
Date July 21, 2007
BD# 10 4904 masterpoints
VUL | Both & |1J9432
DLR | East v |2
¢ |9
& |JT9532
972 Masterpoints 2630 Masterpoints
& K5 & |A7
vy A84 Summer 2007 Yy |QJT765
¢ |[K76542 Nashville, Tennessee ¢ QT3
& 86 & (A4
4690 Masterpoints
4 |QT86
vy |[K93
¢ |AJS8
& KQ7
West | North | East | South Final Contract 54 by North, doubled
1v | Dbl Opening Lead vQ
INT' | 24 | 3v | Pass | | Table Result | 54 doubled, -2, N/S -500
4% 5& | Dbl | 54 Director Ruling | 44 doubled, -1 N/S -200
Dbl | Pass | Pass | Pass Panel Ruling 44 doubled, -1 N/S -200

(1) | Alerted in a timely manner (North did not ask as North knew the meaning) and

explained, at South’s second turn to bid as transfer to clubs.

The Facts: East’s card was marked that INT in this sequence was a transfer to clubs.
West’s card was not marked. West intended 1NT as generic “forcing”. North said he
would have bid 2# without the Alert, and could then bid 4# later.

The Ruling: Adjust to 44 doubled by North down one, N/S minus 200, per Laws 21A3,
40C and 12C2. An auction like 1%, double, INT, 2&, 29, pass, 4%, 44 is probable and
likely without an Alert.




The Appeal: E/W stated that North should have known that it was not possible for West
to hold such a hand, since he had so many clubs and South had to have tolerance for
clubs, given his takeout double.

West stated that the relay meaning of the bid was indeed the agreement, but that she had
forgotten it and thus had treated her hand as a standard 1NT forcing auction. West stated
that she had not marked down the relay meaning since the convention card had been
completed only an hour before game time, and she didn’t know where to put it on the
convention card.

North stated that his partner did not have to have a tolerance for clubs with his takeout
double, as he might have a diamond/spade hand which he could show with a diamond
advance bid (equal level conversion).

The Decision: Based upon the non-matching convention cards and West’s manner of
bidding the hand, East’s Alert of the INT bid was deemed to be misinformation. North
was unable to show the true nature of his hand based on the misinformation and,
therefore, would have been able to do so had INT not been alerted.

Several players in the 4,000-5,000 peer group were consulted . Without an Alert of INT,
at least three players would have bid clubs over the double with a plan to bid spades at a
later point. It was clear from these polls that N/S had been damaged due to the fact they
had been denied that opportunity based on misinformation.

E/W were in violation of procedure by not having two convention cards that matched. It
should have been clear to them that they were at fault due to this and should not have
pursued the issue. E/W are experienced players, and should have realized that N/S had
been disadvantaged.

North did not ask the meaning of the Alerted INT bid. He was familiar with the relay to
2& meaning, as he played a similar system himself. In the absence of such an Alert, he
would have bid 24, and then bid spades over a subsequent heart bid to show the shape of
his hand.

An appeal without merit warning (AWMW) was given to E/W.

The Panel: Harry Falk (Reviewer), Candy Kuschner and Jean Molnar.

Players Consulted: Several players with between 4,000 and 5,000 masterpoints.

Commentary:

Polisner The writeup is unclear. Was INT conventionally a relay or a transfer to
2#? North claimed that he didn’t ask the meaning as he played this same

method. Therefore, if it was a relay, North could have bid 2# and then
spades as he claimed. I would not have adjusted the table result.



Rigal

Smith
Wildavsky

Wolff

Harsh but fair on E/W. My guess (if I had to) was that West simply forgot
-- i.e. psyched - but with the mismatching cards I like penalizing the
offenders. As a separate issue; did North do the right thing by assuming
his opponents had had this precise accident rather than asking questions?
How did he know what 1NT really meant -- aren’t there other possibilities
than a transfer? Since he was right I guess he did know!

Good and thorough job by the director and the panel.
I agree, this appeal had no merit.

Another impossible convention disruption (CD) adjudication. Sad
evidence revolves around the CD'ers showing up at the committee hearing
arguing for position. To me, this might mean they are not likely to do
anything to prevent CD from happening again. How long might it be
before all people involved in trying to improve the process will finally
come together and eradicate CD by punishing it out of existence? Without
CD, bridge is a wonderful, fair, highly competitive game. With it and
when CD strikes, we might as well be playing another card game since all
adjudication results in hypothetical artificiality having nothing to do with
bridge.



