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West | North | East | South Final Contract 34 by North
Pass | Pass | 1% Opening Lead +A
1e la | Dbl'| 24 Table Result 34 N making 3, N/S +140
3¢ 34 | Pass | Pass Director Ruling 34 N making 3, N/S +140
Pass Committee Ruling | 34 N making 3, N/S +140

| (1) | Explained as showing hearts. Actual agreement is diamond raise with an A, K or Q. |

The Facts: The director was called after the play was completed and East had corrected
the explanation of the double. North said she would have made a game try with the
correct information. Had game been reached she would not have misplayed the hand.

The Ruling: The director determined that North was not damaged as a consequence of
the misinformation; therefore, there was no adjustment indicated and the table result of
34 by North making three, N/S plus 140 was allowed to stand.

The Appeal: Only North and East attended the hearing.

North felt that with a correct explanation she would have doubled 34, which her
partnership plays as a game try. South would have accepted. North stated that she
misplayed the hand because of distress at missing game.

East was asked why West did not bid hearts at her second turn. East speculated that she
was tired and confused.



The Decision: The committee judged that N/S received misinformation but that the
misinformation did not substantially affect the value of the North hand. Further, the
committee considered that North was not very likely to play the hand more effectively in
44 at matchpoints.

While the committee was concerned about the disconnect between West’s explanation
and her action of 3, there was no basis to believe anything improper had taken place.
Therefore, the director’s decision to allow the table result of 34 by North making three,
N/S plus 140 was affirmed.

The committee narrowly believed that the appeal had merit.

The Committee: Robb Gordon (Chair), Mark Bartusek, Michael Huston, Chris Moll and
Aaron Silverstein.

Commentary:

Goldsmith  This isn't a judgment case. "I would have played the hand better in game,"
is the best argument N/S could give? Yeah, right. AWMW. You want to
be able to bid game? Sure, no problem, E/W minus 140, N/S minus 100.

Polisner Agree and agree.

Rigal Still stuck in the slough of despond - miserable and pettifogging appeal
three; nice excuse for misplaying a hand, though. Maybe that was why the
committee did not give N/S the AWMW they richly deserved.

Smith Surely we should never accept an argument that a player would play a
hand better at a higher level if not for reasons solely of “mental distress”.
The committee made all the arguments for the correct application of an
AWMW without actually awarding it.

Wildavsky  Fair enough. I would have adjusted the E/W score or assessed a procedural
penalty to avoid any possibility that they profited through their infraction.

Wolff While the decision to not change what was bid and made at the table, N/S
plus 140, is good, there are other questions to ask. Why with a 7-4 hand,
after Alerting that her partner's double showed hearts, wouldn't she jump
to 49?7 There is something rotten in the state of the Wernher Open Pairs
and we need to consult with either the melancholy Dane, or whoever, to
find out what.

Zeiger The committee can relax, West's 34 bid was due to nervousness and
inexperience, some 400 masterpoints, most earned with a much more
experienced partner. Not sure why the committee thought the appeal had
merit, even if barely. Maybe it was just carryover concern about West's
inconsistent bidding. One has nothing to do with the other, of course. In
fact the appeal was truly meritless.






