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BD# 12 Steve Love 
VUL N/S ♠ A 8 7 6 5 
DLR West ♥ K T 9 5 4 3 

♦ A 9  

 

♣  
Leo Bell Marshall Miles 

♠ Q T ♠ K J 4 3 
♥ A J 6 ♥ 8 
♦ J 3 2 ♦ K T 8 7 6 4 
♣ K Q 8 6 3 

 
 

Summer 2007 
Nashville, Tennessee 

♣ 9 7 
Marc Leventhal 

♠ 9 2 
♥ Q 7 2 
♦ Q 5 
♣ A J T 5 4 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♥ by North 
1NT1 2♦2 2NT3 Pass4 Opening Lead ♣9 
3♣ 3♥ Pass 4♥ Table Result Made 4, N/S + 620 

Pass Pass Pass  Director Ruling 4♥ N, made 4, N/S +620 
    

 

Committee Ruling 4♥ N, made 4, N/S +620 
 
(1) 12-14 HCP. 
(2) Shows both majors. 
(3) Lebensohl. 
(4) Break in tempo (BIT) of seven or eight seconds. 
 
The Facts: The director was first called immediately after North bid 3♥ and was called 
back after the play of the hand. E/W stated that South broke tempo over East’s 2NT bid. 
N/S acknowledged the break in tempo (BIT) but said that, since 2NT was Alerted, South 
needed time to think. 
 
The Ruling: The director determined that there was an agreed BIT by South. The 
director judged that, in accordance with law 16A, that there was no logical alternative 
(LA) to North’s 3♥ call. Therefore, the table result of 4♥ by North making four, N/S +620 
was allowed to stand. 



 
The Appeal: E/W argued that although it is attractive to bid with the North hand, he had 
already shown a good hand by entering at the two-level with unfavorable vulnerability. 
East could have a game going hand and still bid 2NT; so, 3♥ is not without risk. If North 
passed over 3♣, East would bid 3♦ and South might bid 3♥ and be set in 4♥ on a diamond 
lead, or N/S might not reach game. There is a risk in North’s bid of 3♥, but, when South 
hesitated over 2NT, that risk was virtually eliminated. 
North had shown the majors with his 2♦ bid, but he had not shown 6-5 distribution. 
Opener had a minimum opening bid and LHO’s 2NT bid most often is a competitive 
hand with a long minor. If East did have a game going hand, it would not be one that had 
significant interest in penalizing the opponents, since he had not doubled 2♦. With a five 
loser hand, good intermediates in his primary suit, and a void in the suit the opponents 
might be about to play, North thought it was clear to bid. 
The committee discovered that, when 2NT was Alerted, South inquired. West answered, 
“If you pass, I am required to bid 3♣. East has one of several possible types of hands.” 
After the explanation, N/S judged that South took 3-5 seconds to bid, some of which 
involved digesting the explanation. They did not consider the time South took to 
constitute a BIT. E/W stated that South took about seven seconds to pass after the 
explanation. 
 
The Decision: It was not clear to the committee that the time South took to bid 
constituted a BIT. Although players are encouraged to explain their bids rather than use 
the convention’s name, for conventions that are widely used and understood it is often 
more helpful to name the convention. It probably took South a few seconds to translate 
West’s explanation into Lebensohl, followed by a couple of seconds to consider his call. 
However, considering the powerful North hand, the question of whether South broke 
tempo became moot. 
In order for a call to be considered a logical alternative (LA), it must be one that at least a 
significant minority of your peers would seriously consider making and some would 
actually make. The committee judged that pass was not close to being a LA call to the 
selected 3♥ call. 
Therefore, the table result and director’s decision of 4♥ by North making four, N/S plus 
620 was allowed to stand. 
Additionally, the committee judged that E/W should have recognized that there was no 
LA to 3♥ upon seeing the North hand at the end of the play of the hand, and should not 
have appealed the director’s decision. Therefore, the committee issued an appeal without 
merit warning (AWMW) to E/W and to their team captain. 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Michael Huston, Mike Kovacich 
and Bob White.   



 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I think this is a close call, but I bet that some number of North's peers 

would pass 3♣.  If so, then pass is a LA.  My experience has been that 
pretty much in any competitive bidding situation unanimity does not 
occur.  Will several not bid or will only a very few?  I don't know, and I 
don't think the appeals committee (AC) knows either.   
But that doesn't matter at all.  If North passes 3♣, East will bid 3♦, and no 
one can tell North he can't bid 3♥ now, which will get raised.   
So result stands, and ought there to be an AWMW for E/W? East is a Hall 
of Fame member, and I think we ought to hold those people to a high 
standard---he ought to have realized this.  AWMW is a decision.  If it's a 
decision, I don't give one.   

 
Polisner Once a determination was made that there was no BIT, the case is over.  

No adjustment. 
 
Rigal Once we reach the territory of tree-wasting and miserable and pettifogging 

appeals two; it seems we are destined to stay there for what seems an 
eternity. 

  
Smith  I think the facts that N/S agreed to the hesitation at the table, and  2NT as 

Lebensohl is such a common treatment add up to an “unmistakable 
hesitation”.  So, on that matter, I don't agree with the committee.  As for 
the rest, I agree with the committee that pass is not a logical alternative 
although I'm a bit surprised that they found it so obvious to bid that an 
AWMW was issued. 

 
Wildavsky The tournament director and appeals committee (AC) rulings are okay, but 

I think this appeal had a lot of merit. An AC must be careful when 
concluding that an appeal had no merit because the action chosen at the 
table was clear-cut. That's very close to saying that there was no logical 
alternative to the action chosen, which is precisely what the committee 
needs to decide. With some committees it seems that in cases like this the 
only possibilities for the appellants are to prevail or to receive an AWMW.  

 
Wolff  Totally agree with the decision and the reasons for it.  With artificiality 

and unusual conventions like Lebensohl in full bloom we need to slow 
down and allow a small BIT to not mean anything.  The key is that if one 
has either a Yarborough or a near one he or she must wait a few seconds 
before bellowing out pass! 

 
Zeiger  Perfect!  No chance East or West wouldn't have bid 3♥ with the North 

hand, yet they asked a Committee to do just that?  Not as bad as the 
previous appeal, but pretty bad." 

  
 



  
 
 
 


