
APPEAL NABC+ SIX 
Subject Misinformation (MI) 
DIC Tom Whitesides 
Event Truscott USPC Senior Swiss Teams 
Session First Qualifying 
Date July 23, 2007 
 

BD# 21 Bob Autry 
VUL N/S ♠ T 
DLR North ♥ A 8 7 

♦ T 6  

 

♣ K Q J T 8 6 4 
Bob Glasson JoAnn Glasson 

♠ A ♠ 8 7 3 
♥ J 9 6 5 3 ♥ K 2 
♦ Q 9 7 4 2 ♦ A K 8 3 
♣ A 5 

 
 

Summer 2007 
Nashville, Tennessee 

♣ 9 7 3 2 
Charles Davis 

♠ K Q J 9 6 5 4 2 
♥ Q T 4 
♦ J 5 
♣  

 
 
West North East  South Final Contract 3♠ by South 
 3♣ Pass 3♠1 Opening Lead ♦2 
Pass Pass Pass  Table Result Made 4, N/S +170 

    Director Ruling 3♠ by S, made 4, N/S +170 
    

 

Committee Ruling 5♦ E making 5, E/W +400 
 
(1) Non-forcing by agreement. Not Alerted. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the auction ended before the opening lead. 
Away from the table, West said that not vulnerable versus vulnerable that he would have 
doubled a non-forcing 3♠ bid. 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that a double by West was not at all probable. In 
accordance with laws 21B3 and 12C2 the table result was allowed to stand. 



 
The Appeal: West asserted that had he known that 3♠ was non-forcing he would have 
doubled. He made that statement before the opening lead was made and dummy revealed. 
The director was called immediately after the auction ended. 
North pointed out that the convention card does not have a box in the opening preempts 
section that indicates that a new suit being non-forcing is Alertable. Having been away 
from bridge for years he was unaware that such an agreement is not standard and he had 
no way to find out. South said that he and his partner did not have an agreement that a 
new suit was not forcing. In fact, he thought it was, but decided to bid 3♠ “come what 
may.” 
 
The Decision: The committee believed that West would have doubled 3♠ had he known 
South was limited in strength as he was non-vulnerable with picture book shape. The 
moment that West makes a takeout double, forcing the hand to such a high level, East 
with a match in diamonds and three key cards in partner’s suits would surely not stop 
short of game. Therefore, the result was changed to 5♦ by E/W making five, E/W plus 
400 and N/S minus 400.  
The committee furnished N/S with the written published description of Alertable calls, 
which is available to all players. The N/S pair was encouraged to decide what agreement 
they wish to follow in the future. Should they decide to agree that new suits below game 
are non-forcing, they must Alert when the sequence occurs. 
 
The Committee: Gail Greenberg (Chair), Ellen Kent, Ed Lazarus, Chris Moll and Tom 
Peters. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith I'm with South.  I don't believe that N/S had any such agreement.  North 

passed a forcing bid. Surely South would have bid 4♠ if he thought 3♠ was 
not forcing.  The default agreement is that new suits are forcing; one has 
to show written evidence to establish an agreement to the contrary.  
Normally, a pair has to prove misbid rather than misinformation (law 
75D), but in some cases the misbid is so blatantly obvious that the appeals 
committee ought not to be in doubt. 
Result stands. 

 
Polisner I disagree with the decision as in the absence of a partnership agreement, 

there is no Alert required for something that is not a convention or an 
agreement.  If there was no MI, then there cannot be an adjustment. 

 
Rigal Very strange director ruling corrected by the committee. I cannot 

understand why the director would make the non-offenders appeal in a 
case of this sort, where in an NABC event surely 50% of the field would 
act here --rightly or wrongly? 



 
Smith  I don't agree with this decision for different reasons than the committee or 

director considered.  The ACBL Alert pamphlet states: “Players who, by 
experience or expertise, recognize that their opponents have neglected to 
Alert a special agreement will be expected to protect themselves.”  After 
North passed 3♠, East knew something was going on and should have 
asked if an Alert had been missed.  Had she done so, the director could 
have been called and Law 21B1 would permit the director to revert the 
auction to West over 3♠.  I even believe it would be appropriate for West 
to speak up after North's pass.  So once East (and West) chose to take no 
action after the pass, then I don't think we should protect them.  

 
Wildavsky The write-up says, "The committee believed that West would have 

doubled 3♠ had he known South was limited in strength..." The 
committee's task is not to decide what would have happened, which is 
often impossible, but rather to judge which results were likely which at all 
probable in the absence of the infraction. Here it would not have made a 
difference to their ruling -- if they believed that West would have doubled, 
then they certainly believe that it's "likely" (roughly at least one chance in 
three) that he'd have doubled.  
The tournament director (TD) is not the one best equipped to make bridge 
judgments like this. I presume he consulted with other TDs. Taking a poll 
would have been even better. 
I prefer the appeals committee's ruling to the TDs. 

 
Wolff Here, I certainly agree that E/W deserved plus 400 in 5♦ bid and made.  

Instincts should probably have told N/S to Alert since it is a tremendous 
difference here between non-forcing and forcing. One may ask, "Should 
less than top-level players realize this difference?"  My answer is 
definitely an unqualified YES!  If we expect more from our players we 
might get more and when we do not, their bad result will, at least, be a 
learning experience. 

 
Zeiger The committee decision is predicated on its assumption N/S had agreed to 

play 3♠ as non-forcing.  N/S said they had no agreement either way.  
North simply thought non-forcing was standard, while South thought 
otherwise.  The committee is not obligated to accept this testimony, of 
course, but it should have explained its reasons for rejecting it. 

  
 
 
  
 
 
 
  
 


