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BD# 14 Rick Binder 
VUL None ♠ A Q 9 4 3 
DLR East ♥ K 9 7 5 4 3 

♦ T 3  

 

♣  
Bob Meixner Wesley Suzuki 

♠ J 6 ♠ 7 2 
♥ Q 8 ♥ A T 6 
♦ A K J 8 4 2 ♦ Q 6 
♣ T 7 3 

 
 

Summer 2007 
Nashville, Tennessee 

♣ K Q J 5 4 2 
Mark Aquino 

♠ K T 8 5 
♥ J 2 
♦ 9 7 5 
♣ A 9 8 6 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 5♠ by South 

  1♣ 1♠ Opening Lead ♦K 
2♦1 4♣ Pass 4♠ 

 

Table Result Down 2, N/S -100 
Pass2 Pass 4NT Dbl Director Ruling 5♠ down 2, N/S -100 
5♣ 5♠ Pass Pass Committee Ruling 4♠ down 1, N/S -50 

Pass     

 

 
 
(1) At least 10 points – no upper limit. 
(2) 20 second break in tempo (BIT). 
 
The Facts: The director was called after West’s BIT. The director found that there was 
agreement about the BIT and instructed the table to call back if there was a problem 
regarding the BIT. The director was called back after the hand and discovered the facts 
about the 2♦ bid as above. 
 
The Ruling: The director judged that 4NT was not suggested by the BIT (double or 5♣ 
might be suggested); therefore, whether pass was a logical alternative (LA) was not 
relevant. In accordance with law 16A, there was no infraction and no adjustment. 



 
The Appeal: N/S argued that West’s BIT suggested that East bid and that a pass by East 
was a LA. 
East said that his clubs were worthless on defense and that with a fitting diamond honor 
and long, strong clubs, bidding on was indicated. West’s 2♦ bid suggested 10+ HCP but 
was not a game force. 
The committee discovered that E/W did not have the agreement that West’s pass of 4♠ 
was forcing. East did not double 4♣ because on a similar auction (1♠-pass-4♣) a double 
would ask for the lead of a heart. 
  
The Decision: A clear BIT was established. Since players seldom take a long time 
considering whether to double, but more often are thinking about bidding, the committee 
determined that the BIT demonstrably suggested that East bid. The committee judged that 
a pass by East was a LA to bidding. With a singleton spade or the ace/king of diamonds 
and the ♣A, West would almost surely have taken action over 4♠. So, at best, 5♣ or 5♦ 
would require a finesse or two and might be hopeless. On the other hand, East’s 
doubleton diamond (as opposed to having three diamonds) was all right for defense. It 
would not be surprising for E/W to have four tricks in the red suits on defense or one 
black suit trick and three tricks in the red suits. Therefore, the committee disallowed the 
4NT call and adjusted the result to 4♠ by South down one, N/S minus 50. 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Mark Bartusek, Ed Lazarus, Richard Popper and 
Jim Thurtell.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith The director’s decision was egregious. When are we going to see 

accountability for directors on cases like this? Good job, appeals 
committee. 

 
Polisner Poor ruling and excellent decision and reasoning. 
 
Rigal  The situations that involve trying to work out what West was thinking 

about are always hard. East appears to have read his partner correctly as 
wanting to bid (as opposed to not being brave enough to double) and acted 
accordingly. The committee was right and the director wrong -- in my 
opinion, the director should have adjusted and required E/W appeal, if 
desired. 

 
Smith Although it is not clear in the write-up, it seems that the director's ruling 

assumed that E/W were in a forcing auction.  If not, then the ruling does 
not make sense to me.  I agree with the committee that the huddle clearly 
suggests not passing, and, since the committee discovered that this was not 
a forcing auction for this pair, then pass was a logical alternative.  I agree 
with the committee's decision here. 



 
Wildavsky The tournament director got this one badly wrong. The appeals 

committeee corrected an injustice. 
 
Wolff  Good ruling all around.  Don't allow the BIT pass to gain. 
 
Zeiger I refuse to believe the directors decided that whether pass was a LA was 

not relevant.  I'm betting there was an error in transcription somewhere. 
(Editor: You lose. The director decided that if pass was a LA the 4NT was 
not demonstrably suggested. If pass was not a LA, the there was no 
infraction. Seems to me that therefore it is irrelevant whether pass was a 
LA.)  Maybe they thought pass simply wasn't a LA, an opinion with which 
I disagree.  Good work by the committee. 

  
 
 
 


