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BD# 30 Greg Michaels 
VUL None ♠ A J 9 
DLR East ♥ A J 7 4 

♦ J 8 6 5  

 

♣ T 6 
Eldad Ginossar Ron Pachtmann 

♠ T 8 ♠ Q 5 4 
♥  ♥ Q 9 
♦ A K Q T 9 4 3 ♦ 7 
♣ 8 5 4 3 

 
 

Summer 2007 
Nashville, Tennessee 

♣ A K Q J 9 7 2 
Jon Wright 

♠ K 7 6 3 2 
♥ K T 8 6 5 3 2 
♦ 2 
♣  

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♥ doubled by North 

  1♣ 2♣ Opening Lead ♦7 
2♥1 4♥ 5♣ 5♥ Table Result Down 1, N/S -100 
6♣ Pass2 Pass 6♥ Director Ruling 6♣, E, making 7, E/W +940 

Pass  Pass Dbl Pass Committee Ruling 6♥ dbld, N, down 1, N/S -100
Pass Pass    

 

 
 
(1) Club raise. 
(2) Break in Tempo (BIT). N/S estimate the BIT to be 13-15 seconds, East 15-20 

seconds 
 
The Facts: The director was called during the auction and after play had concluded. The 
BIT was acknowledged as above.  
 
The Ruling: The director judged that a pass to 6♣ was a logical alternative (LA) call that 
would have been less successful and that bidding was demonstrably suggested by the 
BIT. In accordance with laws 16A and 12C2, the director adjusted the result to 6♣ by 
East making seven, E/W plus 940, because it was the most favorable result likely had 
there been no BIT. 



 
The Appeal: North stated that after his 4♥ bid, the subsequent bids of 5♣, 5♥ and 6♣ 
were very fast. He did not feel that his pass of 6♣ was different from his normal tempo. 
South said that he had wild distribution and that his seven-card suit had been vigorously 
supported by partner when he had only promised five of the suit. 6♥ was unlikely to cost 
more than the value of E/W’s game and might even make on a good day. Had South been 
on lead against 6♣ he would not have expected a heart lead to do any good and would 
have tried a spade as the best chance to build or take a trick. 
East said that North’s hesitation suggested South’s 6♥ bid. As to the opening lead, 
although a spade lead is logical, it could be the only lead to give away the contract.  
 
The Decision: North had to make a high-level decision after three bids had been thrown 
at him in a very short time. In a “normal” game the time it took North to pass might not 
be considered a BIT, but in a fast pairs it probably was. Further, although North might 
have been considering a double with his actual hand, he might also have been thinking 
about bidding 6♥, which is the normal assumption. So, the committee did determine that 
the BIT demonstrably suggested that South bid 6♥. 
However, the South hand has freakish distribution with a void in the opponent’s suit and 
two additional cards in the suit that partner had jumped to game in. Although it need not 
work out best to bid 6♥, it would be difficult to find a player who would not bid 6♥ on the 
given auction. The committee did not consider pass to be a LA. Therefore, the committee 
restored the table result of 6♥ doubled by North, down one, N/S minus 100. 
 
The Committee: Doug Doub (Chair), Tom Carmichael, Jeff Goldsmith, Scott Stearns 
and Jim Thurtell.  
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith As South, I wouldn't allow E/W to play seven, and don't think that 

decision is remotely close.  I did a small poll and pretty much everyone 
agreed with that assessment. Several said that they'd bid at the nine-level. 

 
Polisner I agree that it would be hard to find a significant number of peers who 

would pass this hand. 
 
Rigal Sensible decision by both directors and committee, though this is one of 

the rare cases where as a director even in a case of doubt I might just rule 
with the offenders. South won’t be defending 6♣ -- even defending 7♣ 
might be wrong! 

 
Smith  We have committees to apply bridge judgment to situations like this.  The 

committee recognized all the issues properly and dealt with them 
thoroughly.  I defer to its judgment on whether pass was a LA or not.  If 
the director had conducted a poll that led to his decision I would be less 
inclined to agree with the committee.  I assume that such a poll was not 
taken since there is no mention of it in the write-up. 

 
 



Wildavsky This deal shows how the ACBL Laws Commission's definition of a LA as 
one that some players would actually choose can lead appeals committees 
(AC) astray. Yes, if no one would take an action, then we shouldn't 
consider it logical. Sometimes an AC can misjudge because they believe 
that they personally would not have taken the action. If an action would be 
right quite often then it must be logical, and we'll always be able to find 
players who would choose it.  
South's argument that the save was unlikely to cost more than the 
opposing game would be relevant at IMPs. It is not at matchpoints where 
the question is the frequency of gain or loss, not the amount. 
I prefer the tournament director's ruling to the AC's.  

 
Wolff A good practical decision which honored what really did happen in a case 

where no one was really advantaged or disadvantaged. 
 
Zeiger I hate to disagree with my directing brethren on basic bridge judgment 

questions, but I can't imagine any good player passing with the South 
hand.  Further, if I were on lead, I wouldn't expect much difference in my 
matchpoints if I were minus 940 instead of 920, so a spade lead is a 
standout. 
The committee was perfect. 

  
 
 
 


